We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York
Ranked #114 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Troy, New York
Level Contributor
77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great staff, excellent location”
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Perfect spot for visiting midtown. Stayed here while in town to see Phillip Seymour Hoffman's excellent portrayal of Willy Loman in "Death of a Salesman". Hotel is right in the theater district, has clean, well furnished rooms, and attentive, good natured staff. Only flaw I can think of concerns the bathroom fixtures: shower controls were far from intuitive, and both shower and sink had problems draining (bathroom sink was cast in an aesthetically pleasing square design that unfortunately seemed to cause water to back up while we brushed our teeth). Room was small but typical for midtown. Didn't use the TV but it looked like a nice model; large flat screen. Radio was wonderful in terms of sound and design.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,059 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,115
    689
    182
    37
    36
See reviews for
272
1,049
119
290
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

hotel was nics, very good, clean, save, quite, comfortable bed, helpful front disk, small rooms and price expensive but its ok for nyc i highly recommend it and will stay there again.

Room Tip: my room was in 13th flooe and it was very very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lamorah h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poughkeepsie, NY
Level Contributor
109 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

I just finished a two night stay at the Cassa hotel, and, as my review title states, I had a good but not great experience.

The hotel is located just off 6th Ave on 45 which puts it in a spectacular area for visitors and access to transportation. The building is new and modern in style and as its name suggests, contains both a hotel and condominium.

The small, modern lobby sets the tone for the hotel in style and setup. The fixtures are modern, but things are snug. With luggage trolleys and a few guests, it could get crowded quickly. The staff I dealt with all seemed friendly, but the fact they are doing double-duty for the building residents means they have a slightly different vibe than a traditional, dedicated hotel staff. I didn't need much assistance, and my interactions were all good.

Up in the rooms, in my case 1403, it was the same situation: modern, snug and just missing a little something I can't put my finger on. The rooms are small. Pretty well-designed in the sleeping area, but the lack of storage is glaring. I had one small overnight bag and I still had some difficulties. I can't imagine what the guests I saw with gigantic rolling suitcases did with them and their contents. The bed was a full-size bed, which was ok for me, but a couple might feel cramped. Bedding was good. The maid does like to come early, so put out the Do Not Disturb sign if you are not an early bird!

The bathroom was sleek and clean. It too did not have much in the way of storage. Solo travelers would be fine (unless you were a woman with a lot of makeup you wanted to set out), but again, couples would find it challenging. I liked the spacious glass rainforest shower and modern sink. It was kept immaculately.

So, all in all, everything here was good, clean and completely adequate. As long as you are comfortable with the scaled-down design, you will like the room. Staff were also pleasant. But for me, there was something slightly off about the property. I would certainly stay there again, but otherwise didn't have any particularly warm final impressions of the property.

Room Tip: Based on fire escape floor plan, all the rooms on my floor (14) were small. As with any city hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dean R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
krtrumpet
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

This is absolutely my new favorite hotel in NYC. The location is phenomenal--a block from Times Square, 2 blocks from Rockefeller Plaza, a block from 5th Avenue. There are delicious restaurants on every surrounding street. Every hotel staff member was friendly, helpful, and pleasant. The rooms are wonderful--extremely comfortable bedding, and a shower that can only be described as luxurious. I would stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krtrumpet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cerritos, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Spent 4 nights during Spring Break. Just off Time Square -- great location -- and a decent price. The king sized bed still allowed for plenty of room to walk around and was very comfortable. The front-desk staff was very friendly and knowledgable about the area. The housekeeping was a bit unorganized -- but responsive to our concerns (ie: don't come at 9:30am -- so we learned to put out our "do not disturb" sign when we went to bed.) Overall good place! All reasonably priced hotels in Time Square are small -- but this was workable. Would definitely return here and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jujub60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Cassa Hotel Times Square
Cassa Hotel Times Square
#93 of 468 in New York City
1,126 reviews
Midtown
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New York Times Square
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New Yor...
#78 of 468 in New York City
703 reviews
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#41 of 468 in New York City
3,584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#64 of 468 in New York City
6,374 reviews
Midtown
AKA Times Square
AKA Times Square
#121 of 468 in New York City
578 reviews
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#73 of 468 in New York City
3,962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York

Property: Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York
Address: 70 West 45th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#65 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#90 Business Hotel in New York City
#93 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#135 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€
Hotel Class:4 star — Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in in the heart of Midtown, New York City's most popular location, this boutique hotel provides you with an entrée to the best the city has to offer and is just steps away from prime 5th Ave shopping and Times Square. Ideal for any lifestyle, Cassa New York bridges comfortably chic New York City living with intuitive service and signature touches all designed for you to create a memorable experience ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, TravelUp, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cassa Hotel And Residences

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing