We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NYC at its Best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The James New York-SoHo
Ranked #176 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

After having an underwhelming experience at the 1Hotel Brooklyn Bridge, my girlfriend and I migrated over to "Jimmy at the James" and it was simply EXCELLENT! We were warmly greeted, quickly escorted to the roof where a cool, authentically eclectic NYC atmosphere pervades, I quickly got into my swim trunks, and the food and cocktails flowed. The DJ treated patrons to a smooth mix of Old & New school Reggae as all celebrated the summer winding down. I highly recommend this SOHO gem to all who want to party with the "Cool Kids" yet not pay $1500 for a bottle of Belvedere to enter which ACTUAL cool people know is patently uncool.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seantrader2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jrauer2016, General Manager at The James New York-SoHo, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear seantrader2001,

Thank you for sharing your experience from Jimmy at The James on Trip Advisor. We are lucky to have such a unique and iconic rooftop bar in our hotel with a cool vibe that our guests love. I appreciate you taking the time to post a review and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

All the best,

Joseph Rauer
General Manager at The James Soho
jrauer@jameshotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,420)
There are newer reviews for The James New York-SoHo
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 1,420 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We enjoyed our stay. We had a family reunion and the staff was very accommodating. As a group we were quoted 1 price but as the time got closer, we got sales that were a cheaper price, so be aware that you are getting the best deal. He most disappointing was the poor and rooftop bar. Do not expect to relax and unwind. It is open to the public and is basically a "club" for 20-30 year olds. Would not take the kids up there. Otherwise all was good.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Janet L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jrauer2016, General Manager at The James New York-SoHo, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Janet L,

Thank you for spending you family reunion at The James New York Soho. I am glad you all enjoyed your experience and had a "Great Time". Our Pool Deck is open seasonally and exclusive to hotel guests until the evening Monday to Friday and all day until late afternoon on the weekends. Afterhours it transitions to Jimmy at The James which is a destination rooftop bar in lower Manhattan. Thank you for visiting us at The James and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back the next time you visit NYC.

All the best,

Joseph Rauer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017 via mobile

Cheers to the best, most professional staff in town. The crew made us feel like home. Cheers to #mimi and #john and #brian for exceptional service and just being super cool. Champagne, strawberries, anything we wanted before we know we needed it. The best place to be on a Saturday afternoon.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Florence B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jrauer2016, General Manager at The James New York-SoHo, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Florence B,

Thank you for spending such a special occasion at The James New York- Soho. I am glad our #team was able to provide a memebroable and personalble experience. Our Pool Deck and Outdoor spaces make The James a perfect place to stay in NYC in the summer months. Chammpagne and strawberries make it even better. Thank you for staying with us at The James.

All the best,

Joseph Rauer
General Manager
jrauer@jameshotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017

I live in nyc and recently needed a place to stay while some renovations were made in my apt. I work in Soho, so wanted a space nearby. The James is affordable with a high end vibe. Room was small but with a comfortable King size bed and nice views from the large floor to ceiling windows. Nice roof top space to hang. Front desk staff was friendly. My only complaint is that I needed to do some work and the table and chair was more for lounging. Otherwise, I'd stay there again for sure

Room Tip: If you want quiet like myself, stay on a lower floor. I did not hear any outside noise in my room
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ariel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jrauer2016, General Manager at The James New York-SoHo, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

Dear Ariel A,

Thank you for sharing your experience from The James New York-Soho. It is always difficult to find a comfortable place to stay when undergoing renovations. I am glad you found the hotel to be comfortable and met your expectations. It is great to see you had time to enjoy Jimmy at The James and will return. If you or visiting friends and family ever need assistance at The James do not hesitate to reach me directly. Thank you for staying with us.

All the best,

Joseph Rauer
General Manager
jrauer@jameshotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017 via mobile

We chose the James for a staycation last summer and it was a lovely break. We enjoyed the rooftop bar and brought our little spaniel. The hotel was dog friendly. We especially enjoyed the David Burke restaurant. The staff and food there were amazing.
It was convenient and relaxing, all we were looking for. We had a terrific corner room with windows on 2 sides.

The only issue is with the wicker tray placed on the table to hold minibar items, glasses, etc. I had assembled several drinks on the tray and when I lifted it, the glasses all flew out of the bottom and shattered in the room. The hotel promptly send 3 people in for a cleanup but trays (and it had handles so I was not mistaken) should not have holes in the middle.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Am212ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jrauer2016, General Manager at The James New York-SoHo, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

Dear Am212nym,

Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. It is wonderful to see that you enjoyed your staycation in 2016 and will return. I apologize for the mishap with the pantry tray. It is made of wicker and not the best solution for a serving tray and an in room item we are replacing. I am glad our team addressed this immediately and appreciate your understanding.


All the best,

Joseph Rauer
General Manager
jrauer@jameshotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
SoHo
Soho Grand Hotel
Soho Grand Hotel
#171 of 468 in New York City
2,990 reviews
SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
#92 of 468 in New York City
946 reviews
SoHo
11 Howard
11 Howard
#69 of 468 in New York City
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manhattan
Trump SoHo New York
Trump SoHo New York
#132 of 468 in New York City
3,106 reviews
SoHo
The Broome
The Broome
#8 of 468 in New York City
470 reviews
SoHo
NOMO SOHO Hotel
NOMO SOHO Hotel
#240 of 468 in New York City
991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The James New York-SoHo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The James New York-SoHo

Address: 27 Grand St., New York City, NY 10013-1618
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > SoHo , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Business Hotel in New York City
#110 Family Hotel in New York City
#132 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#137 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: €267 - €602 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The James New York-SoHo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anchoring Soho's southwest corner, The James New York - SoHo is an ideally situated, warmly modern, residential styled luxury hotel that delivers an artful blend of exquisitely hand-crafted design, intuitive service and personalized comfort. Unique features include all-glass Sky Lobby, rooftop deck and pool with river-to-river Manhattan views. The lush Urban Garden is an outdoor escape, offering seasonal entertainment, cultural events and fine cuisine. With activities including Tribeca Film Festival screenings, yoga, spa services, croquet and more, the Urban Garden is a hub for creative communities to gather and interact. Guests are invited to dine at David Burke Kitchen which offers wholesome and hearty modern American food, locally sourced and presented in the creative and whimsical style that is Burke's trademark. Enjoy cocktails at JIMMY, our rooftop bar which boasts a sexy social atmosphere, with an enclosed bar and lounge set against 360-degree views of the Manhattan skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The James New York-SoHo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The James New York Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing