We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious without any pretense.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
Ranked #38 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 October 2017

First, the staff was amazing. Everyone was so friendly. There was a small hiccup at the check in but the guest service manager was most apologetic and took care of things promptly. The breakfast was outstanding. We had a Junior Suite, which was plenty spacious with the automation that draws the blinds and order in-room amenities on an iPad. I absolutely fell in love with the Seura in mirror tv so much so that I am having one put in my master bath at home in my upcoming remodel. It was such a wonderful stay. We will come back and bring our little dog with us. Thank you for taking such good care of us.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nitish K, Manager at The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Dear C W,

I would like to personally thank you for your recent review of The Chatwal Hotel. It is a pleasure to hear your feedback on the exceptional stay experience you had with us and that you thoroughly enjoyed our attractive hotel offerings and amenities, such as Seura television located in the bathroom mirror. Also, I am glad our Guest Service Manager was able to turn things around during your "Arrival Experience". We would appreciate your on going loyalty and are delighted to hear that we would be your hotel of choice when your travels bring you into the city. Please let me know when you return to the city and I will be more than happy to personally oversee your stay along with your dog!

Kind regards,

Nitish Kumar
Director of Front Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,213)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

31 - 35 of 1,213 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2017 via mobile

The staff at breakfast really looked after me so well, I really have to mention them first.

Platinum SPG status honored with an upgrade to junior suite.

Staff here were consistently gracious. The St Regis team should attend whatever training these guys go on to get up to standard.

Hard product is decent with good quality finish and linens.

Spa was of a pricing level to be expected and my massage was correspondingly good.

A good all round stay and luxurious treat.

Stayed: October 2017
Thank MsHellfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nitish K, Manager at The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Dear MsHellfire,

We truly appreciate such a wonderful review! I'm delighted that our hotel proved to be a wonderful experience. It truly does make me proud to hear of the special touches our staff provided to make your visit special. Our primary focus as a team is ensuring that our service matches the caliber of our beautiful property and cuisine. We thank you for your gracious words and simply cannot wait to welcome you back.

Kind regards,

Nitish Kumar
Director of Front Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

We recently spent 5 nights at The Chatwal Hotel in a Deluxe King room. It is one block from Time's Square and all the craziness but when you walk through the doors into the stunning Art Deco Lobby, you feel a tremendous sense of calm and comfort. It is almost as though you have been transported back in time to a more elegant era. The staff is delightful, the rooms gorgeous, and the restaurant divine! We loved the Lobby Bar, The Lamb's Club Bar, and being huge Geoffrey Zacharian fans, had to try the Lamb's Club Restaurant. We were not disappointed! Food was fabulous and service impeccable, but not overbearing! We will be returning next year.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DesertNanu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nitish K, Manager at The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Dear DesertNanu,

We are so pleased to hear that we were not only able to meet your expectations but exceed them during your stay with us at the Chatwal Hotel. Our primary focus as a team is ensuring that our service matches the caliber of our beautiful property and cuisine. Your experience as a guest is of the utmost importance and it is a pleasure to accommodate. Thank you for your response, we are honored that you chose to stay with us and look forward to a return visit.

Kind regards,

Nitish Kumar
Director of Front Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017 via mobile

This was my first visit to New York and had picked to stay at the Chatwal hotel. I am so pleased that I had.

From the moment we arrived to the moment we left all the staff was so friendly and helpful with first class service being provided.

The hotel architecture and design was fantastic and was very impressed with the way it was done.

The room we had was amazing on the 10th floor.

The location of the hotel being so close to Time Square made it an ideal location for any tourist to the city with great bars and restaurants only short walk away.

I am sure I will return to New York at some other point and I would definitely choose to stay at The Chatwal before any others.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank garyhh2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nitish K, Manager at The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Dear Garyhh2016,

We truly appreciate such a wonderful review. We're are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us at the Heart of Time Square which allow you to enhanced your visit in New York. We look forward to extending your compliments to the team as well. Thank you for your response, we are honored that you chose to stay with us and look forward to a return visit.

Kind regards,

Nitish Kumar
Director of Front Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017 via mobile

This is the first time we stayed in a hotel that had a swimming pool in Manhattan. Great hotel, fantastic team, superb service. Location is great if you want to be near the times square. Ineday we had breakfast in the room, one day in the breakfast room and another day at the Bryant Park. I personally liked Bryant Park since it was only a five minute walk away. Breakfast at hotel was also good but the breakfast room was very very cold which made it a little uncomfortable. SPA and gym were very good.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Mete Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nitish K, Manager at The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2017

Dear Mete Z,

We truly appreciate your wonderful review. Yes, I do agree there are not a lot of swimming pools in NYC, which makes us unique! We're thrilled that our location is convenient to such locations as Bryant Park and Time Square. However, I am sadden you did not get to enjoy your breakfast as we intend to meet your expectation during your stay. I will address to our Lambs Club Management regarding the temperature.

We hope to see you again when your future travels bring you into the city. I will be more than happy to personally oversee your stay.

Kind regards,

Nitish Kumar
Director of Front Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Peninsula New York
The Peninsula New York
#56 of 473 in New York City
1,163 reviews
Midtown
The Langham New York Fifth Avenue
Upper East Side
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The St. Regis New York
The St. Regis New York
#64 of 473 in New York City
820 reviews
TriBeCa
Four Seasons Hotel New York Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel New York Down...
#16 of 473 in New York City
408 reviews
Midtown
Baccarat Hotel & Residences New York
Baccarat Hotel & Residences New ...
#32 of 473 in New York City
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York

Address: 130 W 44th St, New York City, NY 10036-4011
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in New York City
#19 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#34 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#39 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: €366 - €727 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York 5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York is a luxury boutique hotel once home of The Lambs Club built in 1905 by prominent architect Stanford White, the designed landmark was reborn as The Chatwal in 2010. Fusing Art Deco style with Manhattan’s signature sophistication, The Chatwal has reinterpreted the elegance and glamour of classic New York City.Offering 76 guest rooms, inclusive of 29 suites, The Chatwal features a current pool, 24 hour fitness center and is home to The Red Door Spa by Elizabeth Arden. Guests are invited to enjoy the hotel's restaurant Lambs Club featuring modern American Cuisine. Wireless internet access and butler service is complimentary to all guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Expedia and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chatwal Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing