We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Hotel, Lovely stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
Ranked #38 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel, Lovely stay.”
Reviewed 17 January 2012

We stayed at The Chatwal for two nights to celebrate my partner's birthday and we had a lovely time. The hotel has a cosy modern art deco feel to it. Our room was clean and well equipped with a walk-in wardrobe and a supadopa bathroom. The basement spa is small but good. All the staff were attentive, welcoming and very helpful. Nothing was too much to ask and all our requests were immediately actioned. Nick Mullins, the Chief Concierge, was particularly helpful and a true diamond in arranging entrance into two exclusive bars as a treat for my partner. He also found locally a particular gift I'd been searching everywhere for. Overall an excellent hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bozwink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lance M, Front Office Supervisor at The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York, responded to this review, 19 January 2012
Dear bozwink,

On behalf of the entire Chatwal Hotel staff, I want to thank you for sharing your experiences. I am delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

It is wonderful to know that Nick arranged such an memorable weekend for you.

We are honored you chose to celebrate your partner's birthday with us. We do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to stay with us again.

Cordially,

Lance Miller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    825
    166
    60
    27
    23
See reviews for
181
519
60
198
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

We stayed 5 nights over New Year's eve in this extremely well-located boutique hotel, right by Time Square and very close to 5th Avenue and walkable distance from other major NY tourist attractions. The room was beautiful, spacious with lovely furniture and a very cosy feel. I am quite sensitive to noise and I can say I was never disturbed The bathroom that includes an excellent shower and several gadgets: a TV hidden in a mirror and warm toilet seat for the japanese clients. Staff is extremely polite and pleasant, in particular the receptionist that welcomed us and head Butler Brandon Short. I was also very impressed by the food, we had breakfast in the restaurant every morning and it was just delicious, I think I actually sampled most options, from smoked salmon with bagel, tortilla and eggs etc always accompanied with a delicious granola with fresh fruits. Breakfast was really excellent but ended up costing quite a lot, over 100 dollars a day for 2 but it was worth it. Once we were too tired to go out again and tried the restaurant in the evening and I must say I had the best beef I have ever eaten there. Minor complain regarding one of the concierge who did not seem to know much (he told me one museum was close whilst it was open, did not know much about the tube map and did not make the effort of writing things down for us), it may just be that he had just been recruited or was in training. We dealt with another concierge who advised us perfectly. I would definitely go back and recommend it to friends, probably more for a winter than a summer stay. A great address.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilleKillick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 January 2012

Beautiful boutique property in the heart of Times Square. Loved the bathrooms as many have mentioned. Amazing bed and pillows. Very cozy rooms overall.

Staff is extremely friendly, always greeting us on our way in and out.

Will be sure to stay at the Chatwal again upon our next visit to New York.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dheller_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lance M, Front Office Supervisor at The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York, responded to this review, 19 January 2012
Dear Dheller_12,

On behalf of the entire Chatwal Hotel staff, I want to thank you for sharing your recent experiences. I am pleased you had an enjoyable stay.

We would take great pleasure in welcoming you back to The Chatwal Hotel in the near future.


Sincerely,
Lance Miller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Kansas
1 review
Reviewed 10 January 2012

I can't find superlatives enough for this lovely boutique hotel. From the moment the Doormen greeted us, we had a heavenly stay. The hotel is 1/2 block from Broadway on 44th...no worries about street noise. Impeccable furnishings, linens and a bathroom to WOW. We did not eat at the hotel during our 7 day stay and enjoyed marvelous food through recommendations from the Concierge and receptionists - this because we were BUSY enjoying NYC and not 'at' the hotel during mealtimes. The Concierge gets high praise for giving us a 'towny tip' which concluded by our securing Warhorse tickets at the last minute. Not a downer moment to our stay. THANKS!!!

Room Tip: I asked for a 'quiet' room away from the street and elevator...the receptionist smiled sayin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lance M, Front Office Supervisor at The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York, responded to this review, 15 January 2012
Dear Debbie S.

On behalf of the entire Chatwal Hotel, I want to thank you for taking the time to share your experiences.

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed some of the unique aspects of our guest rooms, and that you had friendly interactions with our staff.

We do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back for a return visit to The Chatwal Hotel.

Cordially,
Lance Miller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2012

We recently stayed at the Chatwal Hotel in NYC for one night. It was one of the most fabulous hotel service experiences I have ever had. George took care of us from the moment we arrived at the front desk, solved a big problem I had with my reservation, checked us into a beautiful, spacious room, and made me and my 6-year old son feel completely welcome and at home (especially with the chocolate-covered animal crackers!). The room was a very spacious, nicely designed 1-bedroom suite with every amenity you can think of, including heated toilet seats. We had a wonderful dinner in the bar area of the Lamb's Club. The hotel is in a great location on West 44th Street.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KellyCampbellHall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Knickerbocker
The Knickerbocker
#84 of 467 in New York City
1,558 reviews
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#49 of 467 in New York City
3,110 reviews
Midtown
AKA Times Square
AKA Times Square
#97 of 467 in New York City
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Peninsula New York
The Peninsula New York
#34 of 467 in New York City
1,026 reviews
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#63 of 467 in New York City
3,898 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York

Property: The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
Address: 130 W 44th St, New York City, NY 10036-4011
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in New York City
#19 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#32 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#40 Business Hotel in New York City
#83 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€€
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York 5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York.Once home to the prestigious Lambs Club, this Stanford White designed landmark was reborn as The Chatwal in 2010. Fusing Art Deco style with Manhattan’s signature sophistication, The Chatwal has reinterpreted the elegance and glamour of classic New York City.Offering 76 guest rooms, inclusive of 27 suites, The Chatwal features a current pool, 24 hour fitness center and is home to The Red Door Spa by Elizabeth Arden. Guests are invited to enjoy celebrated “Iron Chef” Geoffrey Zakarian’s Lambs Club Restaurant, featuring modern American Cuisine. Wireless internet access and butler service is complimentary to all guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chatwal Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing