We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An extremely friendly & inviting hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Distrikt Hotel New York City Times Square
Ranked #59 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An extremely friendly & inviting hotel!”
Reviewed 21 February 2012

From the moment we stepped in we felt welcomed. The location is ideal and the size of the room was good for New York. Two thumbs up for the Distrikt and will definitely stay here again when I ome back!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zinger0424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ASDistrikt, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City Times Square, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Thank you for staying with us during your New York City visit! We're glad to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and felt welcomed the moment you stepped in. We're very much looking forward to welcoming you again for your next visit to New York City, and please contact us directly so we can make your next trip even more enjoyable! Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,927 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,363
    1,278
    238
    33
    15
See reviews for
945
2,506
230
316
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,033)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bridgeport, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

The hotel is a bit hard to find at first only because the sign is at the top of the hotel but its on 40th street right next to 3 other hotels so if you don't see it at first keep looking its worth the find. Check in was a breeze I requested early check in and since we showed up at 9 in the morning with usual check in at 3 the woman at the front desk was a great help. I paid for a king room but there were none available until 3 so I said i would take a queen room and i was still satisfied once i got to the room. Very clean and neat it is a bit small but its the city i was planning on enjoying the sites not sit in my room twiddling my thumbs. The bed was amazing didn't want to leave it, the bathroom is a nice size with the most amazing shower ever it was like a free massage :) I absolutely loved the full length mirror in the room as a female the bathroom has a huge mirror plus a vanity mirror for make up then in the room itself there is a full length mirror that was perfect when getting ready for a night on the town. Once the front desk knew we were site seeing they gave us a map of the city and circled all the places we were going to that day plus explained the subway system to us which was a huge help and we were off. Only thing that bothered us was when at around 6 when we got back to our room to rest before dinner the housekeeping was in the room next to us and kept opening the room door and letting it slam shut repeatedly for like an hour we couldn't even take it nap it was so annoying but i guess who sleeps at 6 in the evening in the city. Check out was also simple plus we were able to leave our things with the hotel while we checked out the city a little longer before heading out of town. Overall my hotel experience was awesome and all the staff at the hotel are extremely helpful and friendly with smiles from Hello to goodbye I will definitely stay here again when we decide to come back to the city easy access to everything w/ amazing service!!

Room Tip: When on 40th street and looking for the hotel make sure to look up or you will walk right by the hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ASDistrikt, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City Times Square, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Thank you for taking your time to write your review! We're so happy to hear you enjoyed your entire stay. We're glad to hear our front desk staff were able to assist you with an early check-in and you were able to start your trip early! We pride ourselves on our fantastic staff, so we're happy that they were able to help you in guiding you through your day. Our beds and showers are one of our most celebrated aspects, and the room and bathroom are both designed for comfort and modernity, with touches such as the full length mirror and vanity mirror. We're sorry to hear you had a negative experience at one point; guests are welcome to contact the front desk with any thoughts or concerns, and our staff will be happy to improve or modify any such situations. Our team strives for your absolute satisfaction. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you for your future trip to the Big Apple! Please contact us directly next time so we can make your next trip even more enjoyable! Best wishes from the entire Distrikt Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago, Chile
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Stayed at the Distrikt hotel for 10, absolutely, perfect days. Staff is great, they are always trying to make your stay comfortable, avoiding problems, helping you, advising you, etc. The room I stayed was a king. The bed was perfect, so were the pillows. Heating system made a bit of noise so you can't keep it on at night if you have a light sleep. Breakfast can be self service for US$10, which I found very convenient. Complementary coffee and apple cider is offered at the lobby, always available and very good for those chilly NY days. The location is perfect, just in fron of Port Authority bus termina and, subway stations, 4 blocks from Times Square, Macy's, Madison Square Garden, B&H, among other places.
I really recommend this hotel, it is a sure pick, and a very good one. YOU WONT REGRET IT.
Disa Espinosa.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Disa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ASDistrikt, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City Times Square, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Thank you for taking your time to write your review! We're ecstatic to hear you've completely enjoyed your ten-day stay. We are located just a quick walk away from Times Square, Macy's, Madison Square Garden, and other major attractions as you've pointed out. We offer many complimentary amenities such as those you mentioned: coffee/apple cider in the lobby, complimentary wifi throughout the building and the rooms, complimentary Keurig coffee/tea machine in the rooms, New York Times delivered to your door every weekday, and more. Our Collage Bar & Bistro serves breakfast and dinner daily, and is a great option when you're on-the-go, as you've mentioned. We're glad you enjoyed your room and bedding; we're sorry to hear the heating system was not entirely satisfactory. Guests are welcome to contact the front desk at all hours and we're happy to improve or amend issues to the best of our ability. Finally, thank you for the great feedback regarding our fantastic staff; they strive for your absolute satisfaction. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you for your future New York City trip! Best wishes from the entire Distrikt Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Found this hotel on Tripadvisor and it did not disappoint. The staff could not be more helpful and nice. Overall very happy with the experience and will definitey return. My driver Damian from the hotel to JFK was great also, we had such a great conversation about the world!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are so quiet, it was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gilynch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ASDistrikt, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City Times Square, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Thank you for staying with us during your New York City trip! We're happy to hear we lived up to your expectations fully, and that you were able to get to know our fantastic staff. There being only five rooms per floor, our rooms priovide the utmost quiet, privacy and comfort. Thank you again and please contact us directly next time so we can make your next stay even more enjoyable! Warm wishes from the entire Distrikt Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west yorkshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

AMAZING in every way, fantastic location, excellent service especially the lobby restaurant and spotless rooms. You will not be disappointed in any way with this hotel, we loved it. Thank you to all at The Distrikt, hope to see you again soon!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank parisadvice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ASDistrikt, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City Times Square, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Thank you for staying with us at Distrikt Hotel for your New York City visit! We are so happy to hear you were completely satisfied with your stay. We pride ourselves in our excellent staff, and we're glad they were able to assist you in navigating through this fantastic neighborhood. Our hotel opened just two years ago, and our rooms are public spaces are cared for with the utmost attention. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you again for your future visit to New York City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#12 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#33 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Manhattan
Edge Hotel
Edge Hotel
#43 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#34 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#135 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,894 reviews
Chelsea
Innside New York NoMad
Innside New York NoMad
#78 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distrikt Hotel New York City Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distrikt Hotel New York City Times Square

Property: Distrikt Hotel New York City Times Square
Address: 342 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1404
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — Distrikt Hotel New York City Times Square 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A one of a kind, upscale boutique hotel, located in the heart of Midtown Manhattan, at the edge of Times Square on 40th Street between 8th and 9th Avenues. The Distrikt Hotel towers 32 stories tall with unobstructed views of the Midtown Manhattan, the Hudson River and the Theater District; Offering a unique experience with the concept of staying in one of ten neighborhoods of Manhattan within the hotel. The sleek lobby space features a 14 ft. Green living wall representing Central Park and the check-in area welcomes guests to a hand carved wall of wood, detailing the streets of Manhattan. Airport grade 6/8 inch windows keep the sounds of a bustling city where they belong. With dedication to detail and impeccable service, cutting edge technology, comfortable yet luxurious guest rooms and 4-star amenities. Each of the 155 guest rooms are designed for the comfort and needs of the guest to include decadent Turkish bed and bath linen, 43" LG flatscreen televisions, work desk with ergonomic chair, LATHER aromatherapy bath amenities, and an in-room coffee and tea station. Additional complimentary amenities include: Free Wifi, Free Gym Access, Free Lobby Refreshments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Distrikt Hotel New York City Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing