We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really lovely, would have given 5* except for........”
Review of Leo House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Leo House
Boulder, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
911 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 396 helpful votes
“Really lovely, would have given 5* except for........”
Reviewed 28 February 2012

My friend and I just stayed at the Leo House for 4 nights. The staff was friendly and helpful, the beds were comfortable, the room was clean, the size adequate, the water hot and plentiful, the location very convenient, the price perfect, and Sister Kathleen,in charge of Hospitality, deserves 5 * on her own. So what was the problem? On Sunday, when the breakfast area is not open, we decided to have our coffee and read the newspaper in the lovely, comfortable "common" room off the chapel. When we attempted to turn the television off, it was not difficult, it was impossible. Where the on/off power button once had been, was a hole; where the volume control should have been, it wasn't; and just to be sure you would be listening to the never ending, low quality news program, where the television plugged in, there was a casing bolted on to ensure it would NEVER be unplugged. We were told by the staff that this has been commented on before and is not negotiable and has been decided at the very highest level--not the Pope, thank God, but from the Head of the hotel, Frank Castro. Frank, why??? Perhaps there may have been some kind of altercation between guests as to what to watch, or how loudly but why indeed have a TV at all in the common room at all when there is one in the rooms, which you can turn on and off, change channels and regulate the volume. I would think a Catholic travelers hotel would understand the need and desire to provide a quiet common area in the maelstrom of the city,other than the hard benched chapel seats,or the outdoor area which was much to cold to use comfortably in the winter. Also do not plan to use their computers to print out anything, computers unreliable, evening and weekend staff do not have the password, and the printer has not worked "for a while". Here again thank you Sister Kathleen, for saving the day. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: request a room not facing the busy 23rd street
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Miriahm D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

692 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    270
    133
    44
    43
See reviews for
109
205
193
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
middletown
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

When my hubby and I visit the city for fun we stay at the Leo house. You must make reservations months inadvance but it is worth it for the price. The rooms are extremly tiny but clean. It is a non profit and they charge no tax, a rare in the city. The last couple of years they have been making improvements, new paint, tv's, ect. If you just need a place to sleep and shower.....this is it.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank pueho126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

A friend and I just stayed at The Leo House for 7 nights. We had a room with 2 twin beds and a full bath on the third floor for $120/night. Very simple, clean and quiet. Comfortable "living room" on the 2nd floor. The location is excellent - 1 block to the subway, 2 blocks to Highline Park, walking distance to Chelsea Market. Nearby restaurants were excellent and varied in cuisine and price. Access to computers in the "business center" was unpredictable. Desk staff is not very knowledgable friendly. Will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms near the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelBug89523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davis
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2011

I stayed at the Leo House back in 2008. We were four female friends, and got two rooms with twin beds and private bath. The room was super tiny, but the closet a walk in. The bathroom was very old, but took care of our needs. The beds were the best part - very comfortable, although if we stretched out our arms we could touch each other. We loved that our room faced an alley so that it was totally quiet for sleeping. I would not want a room facing 23rd Street for the noise factor. The price back then couldn't be beat, and the location convenient to the subway and quick eateries. I was sick on that trip and even found a walk in clinic just down the block. The breakfast in the cafeteria was convenient. All in all, for the price, Leo House was just what we wanted: a place to crash at night after a long day of sight seeing.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing 23rd Street if you need quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank CatfriendDavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lille, France
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2011

Went there in April 2009 for our first time in NYC. I never thought about reviewing this place, so here I am. The people there are lovely, all the desk staff was really friendly and helpful.
As said in other reviews, it is ideally located, just a couple blocks from the Flat Iron Building and when you leave the "hotel" you can actually see the Empire State Building, which is always nice.
However the rooms are way below standard. We were on a tight budget back then, and we couldn't afford a regular Manhattan hotel prices, but still. The room we got was tiny and tired-looking, the bed wasn't comfortable, the TV was ridiculously small and we had a partial view on a wall, and if we bent considerably forward we could catch a glimpse of the courtyard..
I forgot, the bathroom was shared, down the hall.
All in all even if I cannot praise highly enough the staff who was very friendy, I would not recommend the place to a friend, simply because visiting New York means 15 to 20 miles a day more often than not and at the end of such long days you really need a place to relax, and we didn't want to go back to our room, it was in no way "inviting"...
If you're on a budget, I'd recommend a b&b in Harlem. Location-wise it's still good with the subway, the prices are much better than a hotel and you get that little b&b special treatment people-wise.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Riddleguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#226 of 467 in New York City
4,881 reviews
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#396 of 467 in New York City
533 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#273 of 467 in New York City
11,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#228 of 467 in New York City
1,552 reviews
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#303 of 467 in New York City
1,373 reviews
Chelsea
The GEM Hotel Chelsea
The GEM Hotel Chelsea
#295 of 467 in New York City
1,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leo House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leo House

Property: Leo House
Address: 332 W 23rd St, New York City, NY 10011-2289
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 164 Speciality Lodging in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Leo House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Leo House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leo House Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing