We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (6,212)
Filter reviews
6,212 results
Traveller rating
3,290
2,188
555
114
65
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,290
2,188
555
114
65
Show reviews that mention
All reviews port authority new york parole office times square free laundry full size fridge fridge freezer stove top bus station small kitchen never felt unsafe the breakfast area bagels complimentary breakfast lower floor hell's kitchen few blocks
Filter
Updating list...
3,750 - 3,755 of 6,212 reviews
Reviewed 29 December 2011

This is a very good hotel choice for a break in New York. Some points to note:

Rooms: our room (No. 2910) was spacious and the king bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was more than adequate for us. Having a large fridge and other kitchen appliance could come in useful - we only used the fridge to keep water cool. Everything was spotlessly clean and the housekeeping service was brilliant.

Breakfast: we went for breakfast at various times and some mornings the area was really crowded but we always managed to find a seat. The selection of food on offer is good.

Wifi: this really is a must for modern hotels. The wifi in Staybridge was uninterrupted during our week long stay. Really useful for planning the day ahead on our smart-phones.

Elevator: all 3 elevators are really busy during breakfast and you will undoubtedly have a longer wait during this time. We were on the 29th floor and the longest we waited was about 5 minutes. Some people were getting quite frustrated, but our experience with the elevators was good. After breakfast hours the elevators are there very quickly when you call them.

Surrounding area: many reviews refer to the street that the hotel is on. Don't let that put you off staying here. It's true that there are more pretty streets in New York, however we never had any problems on the street, nor did we ever feel unsafe on it, and we walked on it several times each day and night. I think you should exercise the same sensible precautions on that street as you would anywhere else and you will be fine. You can bump in to the wrong type of person on any street - just keep your wits about you.

The complementary buffet that the hotel provides (3 times a week, i think) is very impressive - far from the tacky affair I had imagined. Give it a go if you can!

We'd have no hesitation about staying at Staybridge again. With the subway five minutes away it is a good base for anyone who wants to explore what New York has to offer.

Date of stay: December 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AJQ5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

We stayed for two days after Christmas. It is the first time we have stayed here. It is a great location and quite nice rooms albeit not large. The room has a small kitchen. Breakfast is included. It was busy when we were there so breakfast was very busy so plan accordingly. We will stay there again. Close to 9 th st and many excellent Restuarants of modest cost.

Date of stay: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dchemist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2011

Great location, friendly staff, good breakfast, free wifi, evening wine and cheese, great rates. What's there not to like?? All is great at the Staybridge Suites except for the elevators, Be prepared to wait 10 or more minutes for one. We had two rooms - one on the 10th floor and one on the 8th. We used the stairs when going down every time except one, and then my wife was able to squeeze on the elevator with our two bags and I took the stairs. I think my two adult kids took the stairs down every time from the 10th floor. Not sure that there is much that they can do about it -- only three elevators for 30+ floors,

We would stay there again, but just be aware that you will have to wait or walk.

Date of stay: December 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2011

We really enjoy, first the walking distance to Time Square and all the activities NY as to offer.Feel realy safe to walk with the children at night after a Broadway show.
Second, the room was perfect with all the amenities needed and more. The view from the highest floors of the city was a must.
Third, The breakfast was perfect and the staff realy helpfull and with a warmth atmosphere.
Realy enjoy and will go back there as soon as possible.

Room tip: Highest floors for the amazing view.
Date of stay: May 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank docoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2011

We searched a number of alternative centrally located hotels before opting for Staybridge Suites and we weren't disappointed. One needs to get over the fact that centrally located hotels will be expensive in NY - but no more expensive than, say, London.

The hotel is only minutes from Times Square but that short distance translates to comparative quiet.

The hotel lobby doesn't quite compare with the pictures on the web pages - I expected more spaciousness. However, what was important was the room and it couldn't be faulted. We had two queen beds, a kitchenette area and a very acceptable bathroom. Our room was on 22nd floor and was quiet with a good view of some skyscrapers. The room was clean and neutrally decorated. All the appliances in the kitchenette including a large fridge, dishwasher, mcrowave and double hob appeared to be new and certainly clean.

The bed was very comfortable.

The minor downside was breakfast. The hotel was very busy during our stay and simply finding a place to sit was tricky. There was a mixture of hot and cold options that were acceptable but nothing to write home about. However it could not be challenged given it was included in the room rate.

Overall I'd be surprised if this hotel can be topped at the price.

Date of stay: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OrionSouthEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews