We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location at Times Square. Clean, Modern w/ Complimentary Full Breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Ranked #155 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 December 2011

The hotel has a great location right at Times Square, with validated parking in the garage next door for about $40/day.

The hotel is modern, clean and safe. The room rate also includes a great made to order full buffet breakfast. Breakfast is served at a glass atrium in a small courtyard just behind the lobby.

If you get a good price, this hotel is a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bagjob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,837)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,502 - 3,506 of 5,837 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2011

This is a very good hotel choice for a break in New York. Some points to note:

Rooms: our room (No. 2910) was spacious and the king bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was more than adequate for us. Having a large fridge and other kitchen appliance could come in useful - we only used the fridge to keep water cool. Everything was spotlessly clean and the housekeeping service was brilliant.

Breakfast: we went for breakfast at various times and some mornings the area was really crowded but we always managed to find a seat. The selection of food on offer is good.

Wifi: this really is a must for modern hotels. The wifi in Staybridge was uninterrupted during our week long stay. Really useful for planning the day ahead on our smart-phones.

Elevator: all 3 elevators are really busy during breakfast and you will undoubtedly have a longer wait during this time. We were on the 29th floor and the longest we waited was about 5 minutes. Some people were getting quite frustrated, but our experience with the elevators was good. After breakfast hours the elevators are there very quickly when you call them.

Surrounding area: many reviews refer to the street that the hotel is on. Don't let that put you off staying here. It's true that there are more pretty streets in New York, however we never had any problems on the street, nor did we ever feel unsafe on it, and we walked on it several times each day and night. I think you should exercise the same sensible precautions on that street as you would anywhere else and you will be fine. You can bump in to the wrong type of person on any street - just keep your wits about you.

The complementary buffet that the hotel provides (3 times a week, i think) is very impressive - far from the tacky affair I had imagined. Give it a go if you can!

We'd have no hesitation about staying at Staybridge again. With the subway five minutes away it is a good base for anyone who wants to explore what New York has to offer.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AJQ5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

We stayed for two days after Christmas. It is the first time we have stayed here. It is a great location and quite nice rooms albeit not large. The room has a small kitchen. Breakfast is included. It was busy when we were there so breakfast was very busy so plan accordingly. We will stay there again. Close to 9 th st and many excellent Restuarants of modest cost.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dchemist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2011

Great location, friendly staff, good breakfast, free wifi, evening wine and cheese, great rates. What's there not to like?? All is great at the Staybridge Suites except for the elevators, Be prepared to wait 10 or more minutes for one. We had two rooms - one on the 10th floor and one on the 8th. We used the stairs when going down every time except one, and then my wife was able to squeeze on the elevator with our two bags and I took the stairs. I think my two adult kids took the stairs down every time from the 10th floor. Not sure that there is much that they can do about it -- only three elevators for 30+ floors,

We would stay there again, but just be aware that you will have to wait or walk.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2011

We really enjoy, first the walking distance to Time Square and all the activities NY as to offer.Feel realy safe to walk with the children at night after a Broadway show.
Second, the room was perfect with all the amenities needed and more. The view from the highest floors of the city was a must.
Third, The breakfast was perfect and the staff realy helpfull and with a warmth atmosphere.
Realy enjoy and will go back there as soon as possible.

Room Tip: Highest floors for the amazing view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank docoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton New York/Midtown Manhattan Times Square-South, NY
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East
Midtown
Element New York Times Square West
Element New York Times Square We...
#313 of 471 in New York City
4,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Distrikt Hotel New York City
#66 of 471 in New York City
5,582 reviews
Midtown
Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square
Candlewood Suites New York City ...
#237 of 471 in New York City
1,900 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Squa...
#159 of 471 in New York City
5,649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City

Address: 340 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1404
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in New York City
#57 Business Hotel in New York City
#60 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: €105 - €322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you're traveling to New York City, you want to be confident that your accommodations will meet your every need. Staybridge Suites • Times Square •New York City has been meticulously created to do just that. No hassles. No mysteries. Just a single focus on you! A short walk to Times Square, a block from the nearest subways and the Port Authority Bus Terminal, you’re in the heart of Manhattan, with all the city attractions in easy access at your doorstep. It’s All On Us! We’ve included in your stay a COMPLIMENTARY breakfast each morning, complimentary wi-fii/high speed internet in all rooms and throughout the hotel, complimentary cocktail hour/social reception with free drinks/beer/wine/and appetizers 5-7pm Tues-Thur, complimentary in room coffee/coffee maker and tea daily, in addition to complimentary coffee/tea/and hot cocoa in our great room-lobby throughout the day, complimentary newspapers by our front desk; and, complimentary laundry facility, business center and fitness center. Each room comes with its own fully equipped kitchenette, with a full-sized refrigerator, microwave, stove top, dishwasher, pots, pans, utensils, and cookbook to make you feel completely at home. On site is a concierge service to help you with tourist/and travel arrangements, bellman/porter service for car and luggage assistance, bar/lounge space open in the evenings, 24-hr pantry and convenience mart for late night snacks and last minute travel needs, and board games by our great room fireplace. Our hotel allows pets. 24-hour security is onsite. Reduced rate parking at nearby hotel garage just one block away. Stay a Night, Stay a Week, Stay a Year. Our hope is you never want to leave! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing