We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (6,117)
Filter reviews
6,117 results
Traveller rating
3,254
2,158
537
108
60
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,254
2,158
537
108
60
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsport authorityparole officetimes squarefree laundrynew yorkfull size fridgefridge freezerbus stationsmall kitchennever felt unsafethe breakfast areabagelscomplimentary breakfastlower floorhell's kitchenfew blockscoffee maker
Filter
Updating list...
3,799 - 3,804 of 6,117 reviews
Reviewed 20 October 2011

Spent 2 nights here prior to a cruise and couldn't have asked for a better location! Everyone from the front desk check staff in to the Happy Hour and Breakfast Servers and the Bellman were super friendly. We could walk to many great restaurants and Times Square and never felt unsafe. Rooms were small but well equipped, especially the kitchenette area. The Happy hour was great with many hot/cold hors'doeuvres and breakfast had great choices. So many hotels in NYC are extremely high priced, but the Staybridge Suites was mid-price range and we got our money's worth. I will definitely recommend this hotel to my clients.

Room Tip: We read many reports about the slow elevators, but we never experienced this during our stay, so don't worry about what floor your room is on.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gaillt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2011

Bit worried at first coming here but have had a fantastic stay at the hotel - truely superb value - better than some claimed 5 star hotels... Great location to times square and the rest of manhattan.

The bed is too comfy..... Come back from a good days shopping and youll find yourself sleeping in after a power nap.... They were lush.

Great staff... Just great....

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lloydbrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

We were a little concerned about booking the Staybridge Suites due to some of the reviews expressing concerns about the location. While the hotel is off Times Square and across from the Port Authority Bus Terminal, we never felt unsafe, even walking b One eveny myself one night around 11:00pm to go to a liquor store and buy some wine (now I would not recommend the liquor store!). 40th Avenue is pretty well littered and not kept very clean (except it front of the Staybridge and adjacent hotels - which was well maintained), but aside from that, we actually viewed the location as a positive. On 9th Avenue, just steps from the hotel, there are a number of very good, inexpensive restaurants. The interior of the hotel is very attractive and always spotless. The staff was friendly and attentive. We reported an issue with the showerhead in our bathroom, and when we returned from our day in the city, it had been replaced with a brand new, even nicer one. For a complimentary breakfast, there was actually a pretty good selection. Yes, the breakfast room gets busy, but they opened up the bar for overflow seating, and most mornings, we requested a tray and just took breakfast back to our room. The standard hotel rooms are nicely furnished but a bit on the small side for 4 people, typical of most NYC hotels. However, the bathroom was spacious, and the Kitchenette is nicely furnished with refrigerator, microwave, stovetop, full size coffee maker, and dishwasher.

All in all, this is a very nice hotel and a good value. Having spent three evenings, I give the location a positive. It is an easy walk to Times Square, yet you are away from the hustle and bustle. We probably would have never discovered some very nice local restaraunts on 9th Ave between 40th and 48th had we not stayed at the Staybridge. The staff knows how to run a hotel and add a personal touch. They have earned our business for return trips to NYC.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SailChicago2217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

My good experience started with the friendly staff, followd by a nicely decorated clean room,
the suites includes a refrigerator, stove mictowave and a dishwasher, very usefull for those who want to coock or reheat. the breakfest is great with veraity of food, hotel offers a washing machine with complimentry soap and a free internet access computer in the lobby including a printer.. (alongside the wireless internet) all togeather makes this hotel to be very comfortable hotel to stay in times square area.

Room Tip: rooms on the top floors are more quite
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tal_0101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

We had a great stay. The hotel room was nice, modern, clean an ready early. We had a view of the Hudson River from our room. The best thing about this place is the customer service. Sunny one of the bell hops was outstanding. One of my boys said the most fun they had in NY was when Sunny and gave them a ride on the luggage cart one day while they were waiting for us to inquire about the Columbus Day Parade. He was the most courtesy, kind and knowledgeable person. We would stay there again.
Several comments I had read prior regarding the location almost made us change hotels. But really it was fine we never felt unsafe and no one ever bugged us. It is across from the Port Authority but really do not let this bother you at. You will not be disappointed. Alot of restaurants in the area on 8 th and 9th. Not alot of chain restaurants like in Time Square that you could have any where.

Room Tip: All rooms have kitchens, microwave, fridge and diswasher. They were really great rooms. Plus free breakfast and they even had free happy hour on Tuesday thru Thursday. Hotel has free washers and driers if you need to was clothes and they provide the soap!
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JenniferSun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews