We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Ranked #155 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 October 2011

Great place to stay...not far from Times Square. My husband and I never had any problems walking to and from the hotel (day or night - we stayed for 4 nights). The room was very nice and kitchenette came in very handy. Free laundry facilities were terrific. Staff were very friendly and helpful and the complimentary breakfast was very nice. Very much enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debbiem14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,872)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,634 - 3,638 of 5,872 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2011

Spent 2 nights here prior to a cruise and couldn't have asked for a better location! Everyone from the front desk check staff in to the Happy Hour and Breakfast Servers and the Bellman were super friendly. We could walk to many great restaurants and Times Square and never felt unsafe. Rooms were small but well equipped, especially the kitchenette area. The Happy hour was great with many hot/cold hors'doeuvres and breakfast had great choices. So many hotels in NYC are extremely high priced, but the Staybridge Suites was mid-price range and we got our money's worth. I will definitely recommend this hotel to my clients.

Room Tip: We read many reports about the slow elevators, but we never experienced this during our stay, so don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gaillt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2011

Bit worried at first coming here but have had a fantastic stay at the hotel - truely superb value - better than some claimed 5 star hotels... Great location to times square and the rest of manhattan.

The bed is too comfy..... Come back from a good days shopping and youll find yourself sleeping in after a power nap.... They were lush.

Great staff... Just great....

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lloydbrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

We were a little concerned about booking the Staybridge Suites due to some of the reviews expressing concerns about the location. While the hotel is off Times Square and across from the Port Authority Bus Terminal, we never felt unsafe, even walking b One eveny myself one night around 11:00pm to go to a liquor store and buy some wine (now I would not recommend the liquor store!). 40th Avenue is pretty well littered and not kept very clean (except it front of the Staybridge and adjacent hotels - which was well maintained), but aside from that, we actually viewed the location as a positive. On 9th Avenue, just steps from the hotel, there are a number of very good, inexpensive restaurants. The interior of the hotel is very attractive and always spotless. The staff was friendly and attentive. We reported an issue with the showerhead in our bathroom, and when we returned from our day in the city, it had been replaced with a brand new, even nicer one. For a complimentary breakfast, there was actually a pretty good selection. Yes, the breakfast room gets busy, but they opened up the bar for overflow seating, and most mornings, we requested a tray and just took breakfast back to our room. The standard hotel rooms are nicely furnished but a bit on the small side for 4 people, typical of most NYC hotels. However, the bathroom was spacious, and the Kitchenette is nicely furnished with refrigerator, microwave, stovetop, full size coffee maker, and dishwasher.

All in all, this is a very nice hotel and a good value. Having spent three evenings, I give the location a positive. It is an easy walk to Times Square, yet you are away from the hustle and bustle. We probably would have never discovered some very nice local restaraunts on 9th Ave between 40th and 48th had we not stayed at the Staybridge. The staff knows how to run a hotel and add a personal touch. They have earned our business for return trips to NYC.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SailChicago2217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

My good experience started with the friendly staff, followd by a nicely decorated clean room,
the suites includes a refrigerator, stove mictowave and a dishwasher, very usefull for those who want to coock or reheat. the breakfest is great with veraity of food, hotel offers a washing machine with complimentry soap and a free internet access computer in the lobby including a printer.. (alongside the wireless internet) all togeather makes this hotel to be very comfortable hotel to stay in times square area.

Room Tip: rooms on the top floors are more quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tal_0101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton New York/Midtown Manhattan Times Square-South, NY
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Distrikt Hotel New York City
#66 of 473 in New York City
5,661 reviews
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Element New York Times Square West
Element New York Times Square We...
#314 of 473 in New York City
4,345 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Squa...
#162 of 473 in New York City
5,719 reviews
Midtown
Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square
Candlewood Suites New York City ...
#228 of 473 in New York City
1,912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City

Address: 340 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1404
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in New York City
#56 Business Hotel in New York City
#60 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: €117 - €329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Manhattan, Staybridge Suites Times Square features extended-stay guestrooms featuring kitchenettes for stovetop cooking, microwave, dishwasher and full-size refrigerator. Amenities include newly designed fitness center with cardio and strength training machines, business center, 24 hour guest laundry facility and pantry for sundry and food purchases. A complimentary breakfast buffet is served each morning, as well as a complimentary "social hour" reception with appetizers, beer, wine and soft beverages Monday - Wednesday. The Den features an extensive drink menu and is open every evening. Our Concierge services include procuring reservations for restaurants and local sites as well as theater tickets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Expedia, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing