We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location with small, trendy rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
W New York - Downtown
Ranked #239 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
247 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“good location with small, trendy rooms”
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Rooms are average to small with some very oddly designed lighting (note to push the on button on the side near the base, but not on the base). As characteristic with some of the other W hotels (Times Square, for example), the lobby is on an upper floor, so that helps getting and out of the hotel (not having to worry about the traffic on the ground level). Note that the hotel is directly facing the Ground Zero construction and visitor sites, so it can be a little messy, crowded and noisy. That said, the hotel is nice and clean with good amenities. I wouldn't recommend the hotel for families, but then that isn't traditionally the market for the W hotel chain.

Room Tip: To get away from the Ground Zero construction noise, ask for the highest floor that you can get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    466
    427
    160
    75
    31
See reviews for
178
361
81
312
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

My wife and I stayed here in this hotel for a wedding one night that was close by. We booked on Hotwire and got a fair rate. This was my first stay at the W.

This hotel is located right next to Ground Zero and the new WTC 9/11 Memorial, there are a lot of tourists at ground level and it can get a little hectic. That said, you are in one of the best areas of downtown.

Check-in was fast, we had a nice room with modern decor. There were some parts, like the bathroom that I thought were really odd, but overall nice. We had a great view of the memorial from the 9th Floor and could see the new Memorial Waterfalls which I think was awesome.

On the rest of the hotel. The elevators and other areas of the hotel are jazzed out with style, it was all a little overwhelming. The food at the bar was average but ok (nice tap list) and the bar at night has a DJ and is a place to be seen. Expensive but innovative cocktails.

So why isn't the hotel more than average? Noise. The hotel is loud and in a loud area, you won't get much sleep, in spite of the very comfortable bed. For the price we paid, you expect a good night's sleep. I just think that goes without saying. We had a heating/air vent that zoomed on at 3 AM and woke us both up, never did get back to bed.

Overall, if you are a light sleeper and can get a deal, this is a great option, for me the noise didn't ruin the hotel, but took it down from something I can truly recommend to one that I recommend caution with.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reason88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WolfgangWehen, General Manager at W New York - Downtown, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Hello

Thank you for taking the time to share such detailed feedback about your most recent experience with us. You’ve made some very valid points which we certainly appreciate. I would be happy to discuss this further with you so please reach out to me directly at GMWolfgang.Wehen@whotels.com.


Best Personal Regards,
Wolfgang Wehen – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

I stayed there 4 nights for business and this is first time in this area, the service on 1st floor bar and grill was horrible, me and my customer were sitting at the bar area for 15 minutes and no one ask if we want to order, we finally wave to the bar staff and witness the dispute between the waitrer and bar tender that no one wants to work in that area, they finally took our order but like doing us a favor. Internet was terrible, phone reception in the room was horrible, and then the life music at the lobby area was so loud that if you stay from 9th floor and below, your can't escape music even you in the room.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tiffanychong21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WolfgangWehen, General Manager at W New York - Downtown, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Hello

I'm terribly sorry to hear this! Please contact me directly at GMWolfgang.Wehen@whotels.com so that I can work to restore your faith in our hotel.


Best Personal Regards,
Wolfgang Wehen – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Stayed here for New Years 2012. No major complaints. Was upgraded to a suite. The room was spacious with modern decore. Only downside was that I had to have housekeeping re-clean the room upon arrival.There were M&M mashed on the carpet.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ktattai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Clara, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

Rates on SPG site per NBR code state 159, however, nowhere is this rate available. After spending over 50 minutes on the phone and speaking to 3 different people, I was told this was a mistake on their website as they couldn't find this available rate anywhere either! Would not honor the rate because they couldn't reach the hotel front desk directly!!

Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank RileyA123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WolfgangWehen, General Manager at W New York - Downtown, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share such detailed feedback about your reservation experience. You’ve made some very valid points which we certainly appreciate. I would be happy to discuss this further with you so please feel free to reach out to me directly at GMWolfgang.Wehen@whotels.com.


Best Personal Regards,
Wolfgang Wehen – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Financial District
New York Marriott Downtown
New York Marriott Downtown
#204 of 466 in New York City
1,822 reviews
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel, World Trade Center
Club Quarters Hotel, World Trade...
#106 of 466 in New York City
1,491 reviews
Financial District
Courtyard New York Downtown Manhattan / World Trade Center Area
Courtyard New York Downtown Manh...
#242 of 466 in New York City
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
W New York
W New York
#321 of 466 in New York City
4,359 reviews
Financial District
Millennium Hilton New York Downtown
Millennium Hilton New York Downt...
#217 of 466 in New York City
4,604 reviews
Financial District
World Center Hotel
World Center Hotel
#91 of 466 in New York City
914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W New York - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W New York - Downtown

Property: W New York - Downtown
Address: 8 Albany Street, New York City, NY 10006
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Spa Hotel in New York City
#146 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#157 Family Hotel in New York City
#164 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#176 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€
Hotel Class:4.5 star — W New York - Downtown 4.5*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
W New York - Downtown is where the Financial District power action is, rubbing shoulders with the Statue of Liberty, NYSE and Brookfield Place. Power wheel and deal at our sleek and chic Living Room Bar & Terrace with stunning unobstructed north-facing views of 1 World Trade Center. With 217 rooms and 58 floors, explore the signature W bed, innovative technology, fantastic in-room entertainment and more, as Whatever/Whenever(R) makes all big city dreams come true. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your W New York - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w New York - Downtown Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing