We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location, Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
Ranked #45 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 5 March 2012

My wife and I stayed for 5 nights at the Eventi back in December 2011 to do some shopping and generally soak up the New York Christmas atmosphere on our was back to the UK from trip in Central America.

As many people have pointed out the location is fantastic. We've been to NYC several times but have never stayed south of about 46th street before but this location was by far the best one we've had. Easy walking distance to shopping on 5th & 6th avenues, big touristy sites Times Square, Rockefeller etc but also the bars and restaurants in the East/West Villages.

The hotel itself is beautiful and on arrival we were greeted by a very friendly member of staff upgraded to from King Room to a Cityview King Room. I know next time I'll pay the difference, the floor to ceiling windows gave a amazing view across the south of the city including the Empire State building (sorry the picture quality of the room views aren't the best.) I'm sure the King Room would have been great but the free upgrade was much appreciated.

The room wasn't huge (to be expected in NYC) but was very nice. The bed was very comfortable and the shower in the bathroom was ace.

As always with Kimpton the wine hour was great little bonus and the wines we were served were delicious.

This was our 5 stay and a Kimpton hotel but was the best yet, highly recommended.

One thing the hotel is very close to Penn Station (5 minute walk) and I'd recommend getting the train into the city via Newark airport. I have previously got a taxi and paid $70+ for a very long and tedious drive into the city. The train took less the half the time of the taxi and was $50 cheaper for the two of us.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chatmandu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,424)
There are newer reviews for Kimpton Hotel Eventi
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,600 - 2,604 of 3,424 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2012

This was a great location for our weekend visit to NYC. Close to transportation and within walking distance of decent shopping. The hotel was very modern. Everything was nice which is expected in Kimpton Hotels. The room was small, but decent size for NYC. Although small, the space utilization was excellent. The bed was comfortable and everything was clean. We had dinner at the restaurant in the hotel. Dinner was very tasty, but on the pricey side. The staff was courteous and helpful. This definitely goes on my list!!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tbtrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

Loved this hotel for just about every reason. Location is ideal for shopping around 34 street of if working with the clothing market. The decor inside the room was tres chic contemporary without giving up on comfort. The seconf floor has a great lounge area for drinks, coffee or just to catch up on work.
You can find a great self serve/ fast restaurant next door for healthy breakfast and lunch.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tanya0810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Great location and very central to everything. I lOVE Kimpton hotels and this one didn't disappoint. They offer everything you can imagine complimentary. I love the happy wine hour at 5 too. I didn't eat at the restaurant but we had a few drinks and nibbles at the bar which were good. It's not a hotel I'd recommend if you enjoy lounging around the property. Besides the bar and restaurant, there's not much to see or enjoy. I would recommend it and would probably stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rinsesd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
obriggs, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Eventi, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2012

Dear Escapists2,

I'm thrilled to hear you are a huge fan of Kimpton Hotels! Thank you for joining our loyalty program, we sincerely appreciate your dedication to Kimpton and look forward to your continued support. I hope you will return to Eventi in the near future for another memorable stay. Happy Spring!

Best,
Olivia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Stayed here in Feb 2012 for a four-day business trip.

Booked the standard room on a SniqueAway offer, but was told we could upgrade to a suite on arrival, which I told them we would do. Check in was 3pm.

So, got there at 1pm and tried for an early check-in. Room wasn't ready and there were no suites available! Told to come back at 2pm and the room would be ready.

At 3.30pm, the room still wasn't ready.

At 3.45pm, after getting slightly irked at the check in guy as I had been travelling for 16 hours and kind of wanted a shower, I got the keys to my room.

Now I have stayed in a few NYC rooms before, so space (or lack of it) is not that much of a surprise to me. Which was fortunate, because the room had a bed, two bedside cabinets, a tiny work table and that was it. If I had a cat and had swung it, it would have hit all four walls. There are no drawers other than four tiny, dark shelves in the wardrobe (which was unlit because the 'wave your hand to make it work' light wasn't working). When I put my suitcase out which i was obviously going to live out of for four days, there was even less space in the room.

The "City View" was east out over 6th Avenue and 30th Street. Not brilliant. Oh and there is a Police Precinct on 30th street about 200 yards behind the hotel, so get used to seeing squad cars everywhere.

We were on the 15th floor and it was noisy. Take earplugs if you plan on sleeping, and make sure you don't get a room with an interconnecting door because the door is approximately the thickness of a human hair.

Then there's the bathroom.

You can sit on the toilet and put your hands in the sink, for starters. Two people trying to use the room at the same time is like watching Monty Python. And then we get to the main point of the bathroom ... the shower.

Imagine if you will a teabag, held in a colander, being squeezed by Peewee Herman and held over your head. That will give you some idea of the kind of pressure that the shower gives out. Handheld or ceiling rose, it would be more effective to spit in the air and try rub that all over your body. Absolutely, without a shadow of a doubt, the worst hotel shower I have ever used. Period.

The lobby is lovely however. When the concierge is there (never once whilst I was there), I'm sure he's very good. Otherwise, the location is good and it's very clean.

But I wouldn't stay here again.

Room Tip: Stay someplace else.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank youaremessedup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#63 of 468 in New York City
3,223 reviews
Midtown
Refinery Hotel
Refinery Hotel
#29 of 468 in New York City
4,097 reviews
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#56 of 468 in New York City
879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Innside New York NoMad
Innside New York NoMad
#95 of 468 in New York City
1,799 reviews
Midtown
Langham Place, New York
Langham Place, New York
#21 of 468 in New York City
2,222 reviews
Manhattan
The NoMad Hotel
The NoMad Hotel
#51 of 468 in New York City
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Eventi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Eventi

Address: 851 Avenue of the Americas, New York City, NY 10001-4101
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: €251 - €505 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kimpton Hotel Eventi 5*
Number of rooms: 292
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimpton Hotel Eventi redefines what it is to be a Manhattan hotel. Kimpton Hotel Eventi is an experience as much as a destination. Kimpton Hotel Eventi's historic Chelsea neighborhood near the New York theater district, artful surroundings, intimate accommodations, dynamic meeting spaces and signature Kimpton hospitality combine into something extraordinary.Located near world-renowned art galleries and vibrant nightlife, Kimpton Hotel Eventi puts you within easy walking distance of Penn Station, Madison Square Garden, the Empire State Building, Macy's and entertainment venues. Just steps outside our boutique Chelsea hotel you will find those special things that make Manhattan so exciting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Eventi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing