We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Service in a Luxurious Setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
Ranked #45 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 1 March 2012

I recently stayed at the Eventi for an overnight business trip to NYC. The hotel was recommended by the group hosting the meetings I was attending. We received a substantial discount off of the rack rates, which in retrospect was a little surprising.

I arrived very early on a Wednesday, getting to the hotel at 11:00 AM. I did not expect to get a room that early in the day, but to the credit of the person I spoke to at the front desk they made an attempt to find me one. The hotel had been fully booked the night before and was fully booked the night I stayed. While they couldn't completely check me in that early they got me 90% of the way there and were able to provide me with a room when I came back from lunch at 1:00 PM. I was quite pleased.

The lobby is smallish but very comfortable. I was able to return some e-mails and make some calls while I waited on my room to become available. The slightly-too-hip electronica-heavy Muzak was a little loud, but bearable.

The room I stayed in was on the 6th floor with a view facing away from 6th Ave. It was nice and quiet, with a window that partially opened. The room was smallish, but very well appointed and attractive. The bed was very comfortable. The flat-screen TV actually showed HD programming (what a concept!), literally a first for me. While the screens are ubiquitous, it seems like it is not a priority among the hotel chains to deliver HD content. The bathroom was nothing short of spectacular with a walk-in shower and beautiful marble tiling. It was impressive (although better water pressure would have been nice.)

The closet was very shallow and appeared to be a little bit of an after-thought. The desk was also very small and would not have been conducive to doing a lot of work there. There was a small easy chair in one corner, but as the room was small it did not seem to fit in the overall scheme of things very well.

The location cannot be beat. It's just a couple of blocks away from Times Square and as convenient to everything in Midtown Manhattan as any hotel that I've been to in the area. There are plenty of places to ear nearby, including a couple of surprisingly nexpensive options, including a small food court that is next door.

This is probably not a great hotel for an extended business stay, but is perfect for tourists wanting a nice place to stay or for a short-stay business traveller.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,424)
There are newer reviews for Kimpton Hotel Eventi
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,605 - 2,609 of 3,424 reviews

Reviewed 29 February 2012

I loved the suite here, it was very well appointed, the view was a New York City dream, and the bathroom is memorable, all in all, Eventi is the epitome of casual luxury. The only thing is the regular rooms are a bit dull if you don't have a city view or a high floor because the color palette is grey in the rooms. With that said, the suite was gorgeous and I would imagine a city view even in a smaller room would be amazing, our initial low floor, back facing room was not that exciting, I remember a purple painting of a girl with her head between her legs looking sad was in the initial room, bizarre, but the humor wasn't lost on me. I'd absolutely stay again, but prefer Ink48,Kimpton's other new property.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoshC87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

We are fans of the Kimpton brand and the Eventi lives up to its peers with stylish decor, huge windows overlooking the city, great loyalty program service, and daily wine happy hour. The location is just two blocks from NY Pennsylvania Station making it convenient for Amtrak arrivals. It's also a do-able walk south to the Village, east to the Empire State Building, and north to Times Square. The neighborhood feels safe and there are a number of good restaurants close by. Where it fell short was the design of the lobby (small with NO restrooms!) and the bar (faces a wall which features a video loop of some very funky images.)

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are at least 4/5 floors up so they should all be good. We went with the basic...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Escapists2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We stayed 2 nights at the Eventi for President's Weekend. The location was great as we have a daughter who lives in the West end. We were able to get on street parking which was a big bonus without having to use the garage. Staff was very friendly. Room was on 16th floor with wonderful view of the Empire State building. Room was very clean, small, but extremely comfortable bed and pillows. Bathroom was very well equipped with nice shower, two nozzles, and nice amenities.Complimentary wine reception could have been attended each night we were there, but could only get to it once. This and coffee in the morning are nice additions.
Good location and quiet at night. Security is good in evening as we had to show our room key to get on the elevator! Also Pet friendly, as we saw pets, but never heard them!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JEO56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

I have stayed prior visits at this hotel and it is one of my favorites.. Great location, Great staff,Great rooms... Will countinue to book here....

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gidgetNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#63 of 468 in New York City
3,225 reviews
Midtown
Refinery Hotel
Refinery Hotel
#29 of 468 in New York City
4,097 reviews
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#56 of 468 in New York City
881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Innside New York NoMad
Innside New York NoMad
#95 of 468 in New York City
1,805 reviews
Midtown
Langham Place, New York
Langham Place, New York
#21 of 468 in New York City
2,222 reviews
Manhattan
The NoMad Hotel
The NoMad Hotel
#51 of 468 in New York City
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Eventi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Eventi

Address: 851 Avenue of the Americas, New York City, NY 10001-4101
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: €251 - €505 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kimpton Hotel Eventi 5*
Number of rooms: 292
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimpton Hotel Eventi redefines what it is to be a Manhattan hotel. Kimpton Hotel Eventi is an experience as much as a destination. Kimpton Hotel Eventi's historic Chelsea neighborhood near the New York theater district, artful surroundings, intimate accommodations, dynamic meeting spaces and signature Kimpton hospitality combine into something extraordinary.Located near world-renowned art galleries and vibrant nightlife, Kimpton Hotel Eventi puts you within easy walking distance of Penn Station, Madison Square Garden, the Empire State Building, Macy's and entertainment venues. Just steps outside our boutique Chelsea hotel you will find those special things that make Manhattan so exciting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Eventi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing