We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good service and good value”
Review of Hotel Mimosa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Mimosa
Ranked #428 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good service and good value”
Reviewed 12 July 2011

Our flight landed in New York in the morning, several hours before checkin. The staff was helpful in getting our room ready quickly. The room was large by New York standards and everything was in good condition.

Chinatown is very working class and a bit dirty, but we enjoyed our stay there. There were plenty of place to get food and coffee nearby. In particular, I recommend the Chinese pastry shops. The subway was a short walk from the hotel, so it is quick to get to most of Manhattan.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wanderway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    41
    62
    20
    32
See reviews for
24
66
27
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2011

I stayed here only for one night and my friend booked the room. The room is clean and the bed is comfortable. Not that noisy as other reviewers said. At least I had a good sleep.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichelleYHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2010

Hotel location is not the best in my experience. Tough to grab a cab and I wouldn't feel comfortable walking the neighborhood at night.

The hotel is cheap for NYC but you get what you pay for. The bed felt like I was sleeping on a box spring with no mattress. Hotel was small and very noisy. I heard a lot of people coming and going and constant "bing" from the elevator.

Staff of 1 was barely present. When I arrived at my hotel at midnight the door was ope ad there was nobody at the front desk. Anyone could have walked in off of the street..

I would not stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank skiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New York City hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
London
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2010

OK, first of all have to say that the journey to the hotel was not too bad from the airport - took the subway and yes the location is approx 15 mins walk from at least two stations (Brooklyn Bridge & Canal St – their main website mentions East Broadway, however did not find it – but just confirmed on Google Map, approx 4 mins). Our room was on 2nd floor which was right above reception (no ground floor i.e. reception on 1st) and to be honest the size was perfect, a double bed, wardrobe, desk table and flat screen TV - all good, plus the bathroom was immaculate. Noise outside was practically un-noticeable as double-glazed with screen and double curtains.

We booked room with additional breakfast, however on arrival this turned out to be complimentary for everyone - so misleading information and a waste of money and time ordering, also breakfast itself was very misleading - mentions continental breakfast, well this turns out to be tea or coffee, no milk - just coffee mate in a breakfast room with only seating for two people if lucky, they do provide rolls - mostly with various fillings which are of Chinese origin, I was happy with this however my wife did not like and was on verge of complaining, a vending machine with drinks and an ice-machine.

Staff was very polite and always on hand to sort out problems, I.e. air conditioning seemed not to be working on one day – this was looked at and fixed very quickly. Did think that the house-keeping was slightly late (4pm) as some people would be coming back from days sightseeing etc., although have to say that the rooms were very clean afterwards with fresh towels, toilet paper and soap.

I have to agree that the beds are quite hard; however this was not a major problem for me and wife - therefore most nights we slept very well – also cannot confirm if the beds had mattresses or not, just that for me it was very comfortable.

Overall the actual location of hotel was in a very busy market area with lots of unpleasant smells from various shops and restaurants, subsequently we did not eat out much in Chinatown. Saying all this, would I recommend this hotel to anyone – basically yes but they need to be aware of everything mentioned, if they’re happy with all of above they should have a good experience at the Major Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank brian240372
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2010

Yes, there is a train passing by this hotel, but your not in this city to sleep te whole day. it is The city that never sleeps. So after a daywalking around in this beautiful city, you will get tired and probebly have a very nice sleep. The people in the front desk, is very polite and helpfull, even at night time:) and also the housekeepers will always be there for you with a new towel. We loved this hotel, and we are Norwegians:P

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dodoinge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chinatown
SoHo Garden Hotel
SoHo Garden Hotel
#374 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#387 of 467 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
Upper West Side
Belnord Hotel
Belnord Hotel
#303 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Flatiron District
Chelsea Inn - 17th Street
Chelsea Inn - 17th Street
#431 of 467 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Chelsea
Riff Chelsea
Riff Chelsea
#439 of 467 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Chinatown
The Hotel 91
The Hotel 91
#341 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mimosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mimosa

Property: Hotel Mimosa
Address: 79 Division St, New York City, NY 10002-6201 (Formerly Mayor Hotel)
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chinatown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #428 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Mimosa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
OPENED IN JULY 2009. In the heart of Manhattan, just minutes from the Statue of Liberty and Ground Zero, the Mayor Hotel, offers sensible guestrooms in a stylish atmosphere. Guests at the America's Best Value Inn will enjoy the spectacular view of New York City from comfortable guestrooms with complimentary high-speed internet and flat-screen TVs. After a restful night of sleep, guests can wake up with a workout in the 24-hour fitness center. Just steps from a variety of restaurants and shopping, the America's Best Value Inn Mayor Hotel features a prime location. Guests will also appreciate this hotel's easy access to the financial district, with Wall Street just one mile away.Hotel Rooms: 30. Hotel Chain: America's Best Value Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Mimosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing