We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Watch out for opening times” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Intrepid Sea, Air & Space Museum

Intrepid Sea, Air & Space Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
US$36.00*
and up
Intrepid Sea, Air and Space Museum
Ranked #38 of 1,068 things to do in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The Intrepid Sea, Air & Space Museum is a nonprofit, educational institution featuring the legendary aircraft carrier Intrepid, the space shuttle Enterprise, the world's fastest jets and a guided missile submarine. Through exhibitions, educational programming and the foremost collection of technologically groundbreaking aircraft and vessels, visitors of all ages and abilities are taken on an interactive journey through history to learn about American innovation and bravery. Welcoming over one million visitors annually, the Museum includes the Space Shuttle Pavilion, home to Enterprise, the world's first space shuttle that paved the way for America's successful Space Shuttle Program. On display are more than two dozen authentically restored aircraft, including the Lockheed A-12 Blackbird, the world's fastest military jet and spy plane, and the British Airways Concorde, the fastest commercial aircraft to ever cross the Atlantic Ocean. The Museum also includes the submarine Growler, the only American diesel-powered strategic missile submarine open to the public; the Exploreum Interactive Hall, a fully interactive exhibit space; an 18,000 sq. ft. education center; and Pier 86, a publicly accessible pier that is part of the Hudson River Park Trust. Download our free iPhone app, Mission Intrepid: Explore Enterprise, from the App Store today, and enhance your experience in the Space Shuttle Pavilion! The mission of the Intrepid Sea, Air & Space Museum is to promote the awareness and understanding of history, science and service through its collections, exhibitions and programming in order to honor our heroes, educate the public and inspire our youth.
Ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Watch out for opening times”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

Watch out for the opening and closing times. We were informed by a reputable guide book and pass that this was open till 5pm, arriving at 4pm we were informed it was closed. I can't review it completely but it was very impressive from the outside. Disappointed we missed this

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Teatime39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,567 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,706
    2,164
    561
    93
    43
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Riverhead, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Big, bold and interesting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

To be at war and at sea, for those of us fortunate to not have to been away at war, you'll get to see what it was like for those who did.

Helpful?
Thank martesque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
115 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“This will be very popular in the summer...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

This is our 2nd visit to this museum. Last time, it was too cold and wet to visit the flight deck, but this time, it was perfect. Teenage boys (and older "boys") will love this. Lots of picture opportunities. The Space Shuttle will be coming in July 2012 and will certainly be a draw. They are building a permanent display area for it. The submarine was very interesting and made more so by the various people there to answer questions and give some history. It's great that there were some veterans who were able to give some first-hand knowledge of the workings of the various craft.

It's an incredible setting for a museum and the information about the history of the aircraft carrier and also how it become to be a musuem instead of scrap is very interesting. On display, there is a piece from the skycraper metal from one of the twin towers during the 9/11 attacks. The Intrepid was actually used as the FBI base immediately following the attacks as the FBI headquarters was damaged near Ground Zero. There was a 1:40 scale model of the Intrepid done in LEGO. This was an incredible feat to see...made by someone who had visited the museum a few years ago.

I found admission expensive ($24 per adult, $19 youth) so had bought a local museum membership in my hometown before leaving allowing me free admission. This is one of the only museums that have access through ASCT passport in NYC, but many museums around North America that have reciprocal admission. The Concord for an additional $10 is not included so we didn't take the guided tour.

I wasn't crazy about the simulators and thought it was almost relying on this to get the kids interested. There was actually a malfunction on one of the simulators and the two people were stuck upside down for a few minutes while some workers frantically ran to open it up. If it were flight or water simulation, it might be educational, but the ones set up inside were for G-force and 4-D...more thrill rides. There was one flight simulator ride outside. Besides, the additional $9 for each ride made this a very expensive experience. We skipped these.

There's a new cafeteria which is a bonus as well as nice, clean bathrooms. These were added since our last visit.

Situated on the Hudson River, the city has worked hard to beautify the pier and waterfront. The job done so far has been excellent as the walk from the most southern point up to the Intrepid is wonderful for the most part.

Certainly a highlight of our trip to NYC and recommended to all.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank jdglek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashbourne, Ireland
Level Contributor
123 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great History”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

With 3000 staff staying on the Intrepid wwhen is use , there is a geat sense of history. The museum is great with many aircraft on board. The Concord exibition is expensive for what it offers

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank PMIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coatbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“museum with a difference”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

a museum on an old aircraft carrier which was unique. Lots of old war planes on the deck including the Blackbird. Inside was a history of the ship and more planes and mock up of the mercury and gemini space capsules. Concord is also on site as is an old submarine which you can also tour. Well worth a visit.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank CGH1312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Intrepid Sea, Air & Space Museum also viewed

 

Been to Intrepid Sea, Air & Space Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing