We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY different Indian than we are used to- LOVED IT!!”
Review of Rahi

Rahi
Reserve with OpenTable
Rahi is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,445 of 15,914 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: US$5 - US$35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Greenwich Village
Description: THE TASTES, VISUALS & AROMA OF INDIA, IN AN AUTHENTIC YET MODERN SETTING. Rahi, (meaning traveler in Hindi) is an artisanal Indian restaurant in Greenwich Village – a collaboration between a young Indian chef with playful artistry, Chintan Pandya, and restaurateur, Roni Mazumdar. Rahi serves vibrant Indian food, straying from tradition, by adopting the local produce of New York. Guests are taken on a journey through India – each dish with unique traditional flavors. White brick walls pulse with the energy of a black and gold mural, painted by famous artists, Yok & Sheryo. Pattern elements represent fragments of memories, a dream sequence, of a woman that travels around India. Rahi is designed for indulging the senses over leisurely conversation and enticing plates; for spirited evenings with exotic cocktails.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We have become indian conniseurs of sorts and this menu was very different that we are used to. We had the prawns "pot pie" ..the green sauce was just incredible! Beware, they are whole prawns and for me that wasn't appetizing. The chickpea fritters were to die for- was licking the plate clean. The Paneer- amazing!! Probably the best I've had. Delicious Naan. can't say enough- don't miss this place.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lisalou216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (52)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 52 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2018 via mobile

The service was great. The food was great.
Get here early if you don't have a booking because it gets busy!
Try the prawns... Seriously!

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank christasty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2018

Indian cuisine by nature is striking, the combination of spices a surprise to the palate every time. At Rahi, the menu takes one to another dimension of flavours.
Two appetizers stand out: cloves, coriander and squid ink blended over a grilled octopus; and the lamb loin kebab seasoned with pistachios and curried chili peppers. I could continue to describe why our main courses were delicious, but instead will mention how staff and management averted what could have been a very unpleasant evening.
After waiting 40 minutes for a table, despite having a reservation, a woman escorted us to the table and expressed genuine regret in a most elegant manner. She had arranged for an eggplant appetizer with naan to be served as soon as we finished ordering, compliment from management for having waited so long. The founder and CEO, Mr. Roni Mazumdar came to our table and apologized. His manner was respectful and sincere. Our server, a young lady who served us gracefully, deserves recognition as well for making our evening memorable.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank es363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2018

This restaurant was recomended by our hotel and it sure was worth the visit! We had chefs 3 course dinner´, everything was very good and the service was fantastic! I can´t wait to go back!

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Go73334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2018 via mobile

This is still one of my favorite neuvo Indian cuisine in the city. The cauliflower appetizer, chicken banana leaf and artichoke edamame, even the sweet yogurt dessert was amazing (cheesecake). Will definitely go back.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank SileneinSing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rahi also viewed

New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Rahi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing