We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Carvi Hotel New York
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Room Mate Grace(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$215
US$195
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Lucerne Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$387
US$251
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Kimpton Muse Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$321
US$284
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
YOTEL New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$226
US$188
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$362
US$312
Homewood
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness centre
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$371
US$343
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
The Kimberly Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$322
US$308
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$364
US$291
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Stewart Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$246
US$211
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$472
Hotelpower.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (612)
Filter reviews
612 results
Traveller rating
278
248
60
15
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
278
248
60
15
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsno windowcentral parkpj clarkessmall hotelnew yorkrooftop patiofree wificomfortable bedquiet locationtimes squarestay there againwalking distancelexington avenuesmall fridgeexcellent locationstayed for nightsrestaurants and bars
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
301 - 306 of 612 reviews
Reviewed 21 February 2012

I travel to NY frequently, in terms of location, convenience, price and room layout it works perfectly for me. Staff very friendly, hotel very clean, rooms compact by NY standards but they have everything you would need.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank ClarkieG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

I stayed at Carvi Hotel for a week with my wife and teenage daughter. It was absolutely great. Nice atmosphere, friendly and helpfull staff. While somewhat small the rooms are well above NY stadard; very clean and the size of the rooms is no issue. Also a very nice and quiet street winthin walking distance of anything in midtown.
Be aware of pricing. We found very good last minute deals on hotels.com.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DanishCritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

We stayed at the Carvi NYC in mid January. It is a very small hotel and the rooms are small, but as long as you and your travel partner get along well, it's no problem at all! The room felt like a very cozy bedroom. Before going I read reviews about the small shower being an issue - it is small, but honestly just fine! My husband is 6'3" and was fine. The water is nice and hot and the water pressure is great!! Since it is a small hotel, there is no restaurant or even vending machines (which we knew before traveling so no surprise). However, one night we brought a bottle of wine back to the room and requested a bucket of ice and an opener. It was no problem at all and they even sent up wine glasses!

The ONLY con is that it is in a quieter area (which at times is also a plus) but there is not much around that is open late.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing 55th street. The rooms in the back face a brick wall and people working VERY CLOSELY.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jamerican_97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

people in the front desk speak english ans portuguese.
They are nice and helpful.
Rooms are small, but clean and efficient.
wifi and safe in the room.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank omoura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

The Carvi Hotel was a great choice for my first trip to New York City. It was very clean, nicely furnished, reasonably priced, and the staff were wonderful! It is within walking distance of many popular attractions and surrounded by good restaurants. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JPeek2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews