We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Average Hotel with Tiny Rooms” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
Ranked #275 of 477 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Average Hotel with Tiny Rooms”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

Overall the hotel had a very aged look. I would not stay again there out of my own choice. The location is close to Penn Station so its pretty central, but the rooms are tiny and just getting in and out of the bathroom is a headache.

Pros:-
- comfy bed

Cons:-
- tiny rooms
- dirty carpets
- old elevators
- overall aged look

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sankoshy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

10,228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,261
    4,360
    1,757
    527
    323
See reviews for
2,848
3,501
524
1,169
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,040)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Youghal Co Cork
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

We stayed in the hotel on 7,8,9 Sept 2012.Staff were very courteous,room was small but spotless.Restaurant was fine. Bar prices were ave. for the area.Could not fault the hotel or staff in any way. Such a convenient place to stay.I would reccomend it to anyone and would not hesitate to stay there again.

Michael Youghal Co Cork Ireland

Room Tip: Email the Concierge in advance and request an outside room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelBrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronny Y, Manager at The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel, responded to this review, 20 September 2012
Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for the review. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for the kind words regarding our service, great feedback like yours gives us even more motivation to strive for the best. We look forward to your return! We look forward to your next stay with us!

Sincerely,

Ronny Yagual
Guest Service Manager
Ryagual@nyhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
watsonville
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

The staff at the New Yorker Hotel in New York City were amazing, specially a man named Mohammed, he went above and beyond what his job required to accommodate us. We will be visiting this hotel again when we visit New York City in the future. Our room had the most fantastic view of the Empire State Building!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank quetz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronny Y, Manager at The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel, responded to this review, 20 September 2012
Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for your feedback and kind words! It is such a pleasure to hear Mohammed one of our Front Desk Agent was able to delivered service that exceeded your expectations. I will be sure to pass on your kind words. Thank you again and we look forward to your next stay!

Sincerely,

Ronny Yagual
Guest Service Manager
Ryagual@nyhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012 via mobile

Hotel in a great location. A few blocks from Time square and Empire State.
Also across the road from Penn Station.
Used the hotel as a base only, out early back late, room was tiny but ok.
Reception staff, in particular the morning staff, are extremely rude.
The management should have a look and address this as this gives a terrible 1st impression. I got a lady who seemed to get annoyed because I didn't know the proceedure with the safety deposit boxes, as this is my 1st stay, how was I meant to know???
. On the whole, an ok place to get your head down at night and get out during the day.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

I absolutely loved the staff, who upgraded us to a fantastic room with the greatest view ever - that barely made me want to get out of bed.

We initially got a metro room, but the upgrade wasn't that much and the hotel were kind enough to show us what an upgraded room would look like. We found one that was just perfect, at the 33rd floor. The extra we paid for it was nothing compared to the spacious room and gorgeous views. No noise issues whatsoever.

The location is fantastic for subway, Penn Station (connection to all airports) and walking distance to Times Sq. It's got loads of places to eat nearby. I loved that it's located Midtown so you get the chance of either going uptown or downtown.

Room Tip: you want to be above the 30th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andraoprea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronny Y, Manager at The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel, responded to this review, 20 September 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and kind words! Our team really cares about our guests and we do whatever we can to ensure a great stay. We hope to welcome you back to NYC soon!

Sincerely,

Ronny Yagual
Guest Service Manager
Ryagual@nyhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#327 of 477 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 13,413 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#144 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,422 reviews
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#271 of 477 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#220 of 477 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,506 reviews
Midtown
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Staybridge Suites Times Square -...
#137 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,192 reviews
Midtown
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#321 of 477 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 6,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel

Property: The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
Address: 481 8TH Avenue, New York City, NY 10001-1809 (Formerly Wyndham New Yorker Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#40 Green Hotel in New York City
#173 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#173 Family Hotel in New York City
#216 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#222 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1050
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Yorker Hotel is one of the most popular hotels in New York City. Come revel in the newly re-imagined grandeur of our historic hotel. Our newly renovated and upgraded guest rooms and suites deliver contemporary comforts that leave nothing to be desired for today’s business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers and HotelTravel.com so you can book your The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Yorker Ramada Plaza
Ramada New York City
Ramada Plaza New Yorker Hotel
New York City Ramada
New Yorker Hotel New York
Ramada Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing