We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“My favorite hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Ranked #76 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
“My favorite hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

I travel extensivelly with my work - and this is where I stay in New York. It is convenient to all transportaion (trains, cabs, LaGuardia) as well as within easy walking distance to great restaurants, shopping, and other amenities.

The staff is wonderful!!! They are the most professional and friendly staff I have come across. I feel like I am coming home - which is nice when you travel as much as I do.

The rooms are comfortable, clean and convenient - and I LOVE having a refidgerator and microwave, for the nights I don't have dinner with Sean at the bar. ::-)

Thanks to ecveryone at the HGI!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,852 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,882
    1,552
    305
    65
    48
See reviews for
1,272
1,513
329
869
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (981)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

The hotel is very well situated. Walking distance to Time Squareand two minutes from subway station.
Staff is helpful and friendly.
Having a child with deadly food allergies we chose the hotel because rooms have a fridge and a microwave.
Our room was clean and very comfortable with a view on the Empire State building.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jean-elie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

Just returned from a two night stay (2/23-2/25) at this fabulous HGI. My husband and I have stayed at other HGI's in the vicinity, but this location on West 35th Street exceeded all of our expectations and we look forward to our return back soon.
Upon entering the hotel, we were greeted by Jonathan at the front desk who couldn't have been nicer. We arrived 2 1/2 hours before the standard check-in time of 3:00, but he was gracious enough to find a room for us AND although we booked a standard king cityview, he upgraded us to a corner room on the 26th floor with floor to ceiling views of Herald Square and Macy's!!! The room was impeccably clean, very quiet, and the room maids very friendly.
The hotel is located within walking distance of Macy's, Herald Square, Penn Station, Madison Square Garden, Times Square, and is directly next to the subway. The Concierge was very helpful with directions and offered advice on where to get the best NYC bagel, etc.! The hotel is about a 15 minute walk from Grand Central Station. They will also hold your bags at checkout, free of charge, until midnight, so you don't have to lug your luggage around the city while you wait for your later flight/train.
Can't wait to head back to THIS hotel in April, it is the best all around!

Room Tip: Rooms on floors 26-31 offer floor to ceiling windows with fantastic views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patsgal83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockville, MD
Level Contributor
267 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

This was our first stay at this hotel and we will definitely return--it is one of the best hotels we have stayed at in New York City, and we have stayed in quite a few. As other reviewers have noted, the hotel is centrally located and close to several subway lines as well as Penn Station. I had asked for a room on a high floor away from the elevator and ice machine, and they gave us a corner room on the 14th floor (the highest floor available at the regular rate--you can get higher floors and rooms with a view for more money). Although none of the rooms are very far from the elevator, this room was quiet other than a little traffic noise from the street--it did not bother me but you may want to bring earplugs in case you are sensitive to that sort of thing. It also helped that there were no noisy neighbors slamming doors and talking loudly in the hallways late at night--something that has happened at our stays at other NYC hotels. Not sure if we were just lucky this time or if the rooms at this hotel are more soundproofed.

We had a king bed and it was very comfortable. The room was quite large by NYC standards, with plenty of space to store stuff in both the bedroom and the bathroom. There was also a nice-size desk with a comfortable chair, good lamp, and free Wi-Fi for those who need to work (as my husband did). The room was very clean and in good shape. (The day we arrived they offered free munchies in the lobby to celebrate their 3rd anniversary, so the hotel is fairly new.) The staff is very friendly and helpful.

Although I'm giving the hotel 5 stars for the overall experience, I do have a few nitpicks--the lack of a nightlight in the bathroom (I hate having to turn on the bright bathroom light in the middle of the night), the design of the soap tray in the shower (it wasn't solid so the travel-size toiletries kept falling through the slots to the shower floor), and the very hot air that came out of the heater when the thermostat was set higher than 66. We ended up keeping the thermostat low and turning the fan off except for a short period when we got back to the room at the end of the day and/or before going to bed, and the room was comfortable that way--but we like cool rooms. Also, be aware that although breakfast is available at the hotel, it is not included in the room rate. But there are many places nearby to get an inexpensive breakfast, and in NYC finding good food is part of the fun.

Despite the nitpicks, this will be our first choice of hotel for future NYC visits (as long as the rate remains reasonable).

Room Tip: The corner room is large, and higher floors have less street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank freedshop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

Location is perfect if you are travelling light and flying in from Newark. Take the Air Train to the NJ Transit station and then it's a 25 minute ride into the city. You get off at Penn Station and it's about a 10-minute walk to the hotel. The hotel rate doesn't include breakfast, but check out Paris Baguette at 32nd street (between 5th and 6th) for freshly baked croissants. Stumptown Coffee is a short walk away and serves awesome lattes (you might have to line up). Room is small, but clean and functional. Bathroom is a decent size and the shower has lots of water pressure - a bonus! After checking out, we could leave our luggage at the hotel for free (some hotels charge for holding baggage) before our evening flight. We had a great experience and will stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Empire State Building
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tortellini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#104 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#142 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,642 reviews
Midtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton New York/Midtown Manhattan Times Square-South, NY
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Squa...
#106 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,545 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Midtown Park Ave
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Midto...
#149 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel
Distrikt Hotel
#56 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street

Property: Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Address: 63 West 35th Street, New York City, NY 10001-2202
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in New York City
#37 Business Hotel in New York City
#71 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street 3*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideal Midtown location with COMPLIMENTARY amenities including Internet, fitness center, business center & more! Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street was built in 2009 and is perfectly located in Midtown Manhattan just steps from some of New York's best attractions including the Empire State Building, world-famous Macy's at Herald Square, Times Square, Broadway theaters, Fifth Avenue shopping and Madison Square Garden/Penn Station. Located on West 35th Street between 5th and 6th Avenues, this ultra-modern hotel is close to many restaurants, lively nightlife, sightseeing and New York City’s best shopping. The hotel is walking distance to all major subway lines and is convenient to Jacob Javits Convention Center, Port Authority Bus Terminal, Grand Central Terminal and all (3) area airports.The hotel features 298 newly built, contemporary guestrooms each equipped with 32-inch LCD flat panel television, refrigerator, microwave, safe, coffeemaker large work desk with ergonomic chair and complimentary Internet access with secure remote printing to the hotel’s Business Center. COMPLIMENTARY amenities include high-speed lobby and guestroom Internet access, 24-hour Business Center, 24-hour Fitness Center, morning coffee and tea in the lobby and USA Today®. Additional onsite amenities include The Great American Grill (located in the hotel lobby and open daily for breakfast), lobby lounge with flat-screen television, evening room service, 24-hour Pavilion Pantry (stocked with your favorite snacks, drinks & toiletries) and Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Self parking is available. The hotel allows service pets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp and Ebookers so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn New York West 35th Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing