We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Standard, High Line
Ranked #145 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
avon, connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cool”
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Our stay at the hotel was great. Firstly, the entire staff was, in addition to looking like part time models, super nice and attentive. The scary-cool art installation in the elevator should also be mentioned. The hotel room itself had amazing floor to ceiling views. The decor was cool, but the room happened to smell a bit like a mix of cigarette and sweat. Another negative was that on the first night, the boom boom room (night club on the top floor) was playing music so loud I could feel it from the ceiling ALL NIGHT. The shower was a bit inconvenient too, as the drain was under the sink. In all, the great hotel restaurant, service and interesting neighborhood definitely made up for the minor cons.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tgg94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,759 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,410
    746
    333
    138
    132
See reviews for
170
1,213
227
631
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (646)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Free wireless is appalling and the ironing board is only useful if your ironing clothes for someone the size of a oompa - lumpa.

Style over substance I'm afraid.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kemstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Had another great time at TheStandard NYC. Front desk person Amal Bijou was fantastically nice and helpful during my stay. She rocks. Front Desk Manager Paul Kashman was also very helpful.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulLancaster_SF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southeast, PA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

#1: Best Elevator Ride ever
#2: Dream View - had to leave curtains open all night just so i could see the Empire State Building from the bed
#3: Attended a memorable event in The Boom Boom Room and would do it again in a heartbeat

If you plan to self-park and save the extravagant valet fee, drop off your luggage before you go park. If you are staying multiple days, the valet parking is not a bad deal.

Eat at the Chelsea Market nearby, walk the Highline Park. Enjoy your stay.

Room Tip: Ask what the views are and specify a view when you book . . . Depending on the room exposure, you c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel4Thyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

We stayed at the Standard on the recommendation of a friend and were very disappointed. Not by the location, which was fabulous, nor by the view from our room, which was also great. But pretty much by all the rest. Before we arrived we had asked to concierge to book a few restaurants for us. For one of the reservations (which the hotel had confirmed) we arrived at the restaurant only to find it was closed.... The staff weren't particularly apologetic, nor did they seem to care. On a different occasion we decided to visit the hotel bar. The bouncer refused to let my husband in, because he judged his pants to be inappropriate... Not a pair of worn-out corduroys, mind you, but designer pants bought in Japan. Surely trendy enough for the vortex of cool and hip that is the Standard?? Apparently not. After arguing with him for a while, my husband returned to the room to change and I went in to order some drinks. By this time the bar refused to serve me, because it was too close to their closing time (which was around 10pm) and sent me to the adjoining bar. They in turn refused to let me in, because they were having a private function. I have never had so much trouble getting a drink in a hotel I was actually staying in. After negotiating with the young, pretty and not very friendly official guarding this entrance, she eventually allowed me in as far as the bar counter and kept a tight watch as I ordered our drinks and slunk off back to our room. We complained to management, who said they would send us complimentary drinks. These arrived almost 2 hours later. The mattress was soft, which didn't help a jetlagged back and the stay overall left us with a bad taste in the mouth. To end on a positive note, the video installations in the lifts were hypnotic (in a good way). Would I return? No.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JezebelleH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lemmondd, General Manager at The Standard, High Line, responded to this review, 15 March 2012
Thanks for your comments. I see that you mention you last stayed with us in June 2011, and also see you left another post close to a year ago sharing these issues. I do apologize for the experience you mention (and mentioned), as this is by no means what we aim for at the hotel and only hope to help our guests experience the best time possible while with us at The Standard. We value the feedback of all of our guests, as it helps us to grow and understand what we did right and where we can improve.
Regards,

David Lemmond
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
West Village
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
#207 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,750 reviews
Chelsea
Dream Downtown
Dream Downtown
#107 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,471 reviews
East Village
The Standard, East Village
The Standard, East Village
#182 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
The High Line Hotel
The High Line Hotel
#114 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
Chelsea
The Maritime Hotel
The Maritime Hotel
#121 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
#106 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Standard, High Line? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Standard, High Line

Property: The Standard, High Line
Address: 848 Washington Street, at West 13th Street, New York City, NY 10014-1308 (Formerly The Standard New York)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > West Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#111 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#135 Business Hotel in New York City
#180 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€€
Hotel Class:4 star — The Standard, High Line 4*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Manhattan's thriving Meatpacking District, the latest in hotelier Andre Balazs' collection of Standard Hotels stands commandingly above The High Line, the former elevated railroad undergoing redevelopment as a public park. 338 guest rooms on 18 floors, The Standard, High Line boasts unparalleled views of the Hudson River and Lower Manhattan, full business amenities, extensive event space and a state of the art fitness facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Standard, High Line reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Standard New York Hotel New York City
Standard New York City
The Standard New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing