We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (643)
Filter reviews
643 results
Traveller rating
176
255
122
27
63
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
176
255
122
27
63
Show reviews that mention
All reviews javits center penn station midtown west new york times square rooms are small stay there again madison square garden bed was comfortable coffee maker convenient location hotel room block nyc convention avenue iron
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 643 reviews
Reviewed 2 October 2018

The hotel is basic but most pleasant. It has all you need. But what makes it pleasant is the staff: they are courteous, very helpfull and are prepared to go out of their way to help guests. Thumbs up for the staff!

Stayed: September 2018
1  Thank 483paulan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkMGT, Owner at 36 Hudson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you for your review of the 36 Hudson Hotel! We are happy your stay was comfortable and you found our staff pleasant! We are looking forward to have you as a guest again in the near future! Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018 via mobile

Small hotel located in mid Manhattan, 20 minutes walking from Times Square and 10 minutes walking to the Sky Walk High Line. All Stafff was nice and helpful. Rooms were clean and comfortable but smaller than expected.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank Mireia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkMGT, Owner at 36 Hudson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2018

Thank you for your review of the 36 Hudson Hotel! We really enjoyed having you and your family as guests! We are delighted you found our staff helpful and our rooms clean and comfortable, as these are two of our top priorities. We are also happy you were able to enjoy the nearby attractions! We're glad you guys had the opportunity to visit the busy and energy filled Times Square, and also the calming, relaxing, beautiful High Line. Thank you again, and really hope to have you and your family as guests again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2018 via mobile

The people are very attentive,  but this property fits the category of basic or budget, definitely not boutique by any stretch of the imagination. 

The rooms are tiny, even by NYC standards. As other people have said, the rooms are kept clean, which is a plus. However, housekeeping won't replenish toiletries and other items. We had to go downstairs to the front desk to ask for plastic cups, and then wait for someone to bring them to the room. 

The phone in our room belonged to another room (it had a different room's number on the label) and the message indictator light was flashing but the message retrieval system wasn't working. 

If you're a light sleeper, bring earplugs. The a/c unit can make a lot of noise.

Unless you're attending an event at Javits Center, I can't recommend the location either. The closest subway is about four blocks away. So if sticking to a budget is imperative,  and you don't mind the extra walking (or a few cosmetic defects here and there), all good. If convenience to events in midtown are a deal-breaker (shows, exhibitions, etc), you may want to look elsewhere.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank Olotie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkMGT, Owner at 36 Hudson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2018

Hello. Thank you for your thoughts. We just took-over this location and will be transforming the guest experience. Stay tuned for
many changes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2018

We ordinarily stay in hotels closer to the theatre district, but needed a room for four at the last minute and so booked a stay at 36 Hudson Hotel. This hotel is in Hell's Kitchen, an easy walk from Penn Station. Had concerns about the neighborhood after reading previous reviews, but it was fine. We had no safety concerns at all. The hotel is very narrow, in the middle of a block, and you'd probably miss it if you were not looking for it. The lobby is small and functional, not built for comfort, but the desk folks checked us in very quickly and got us into our room without delay. The room is on the small side, but very clean and the bathrooms looked very new and upgraded. Shower gel and shampoo provided in dispensers on the wall in the bathroom. Our one complain is that the air conditioning seemed a bit anemic in our room, but not unpleasant. We would stay there again if we could not get a reasonably priced hotel closer to Times Square. This was affordable and served our purpose!

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Val K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkMGT, Owner at 36 Hudson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2018

Thank you for taking time to leave a review. Yes, we have a great location. Need anything during your stay? Just ask the staff. We'll
make your NYC stay as enjoyable as possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018 via mobile

Stayed only one night but arrived very early Friday morning and left very late Saturday night. Stored my bags securely upon arrival and before departure. Room was quiet and comfortable and all that I needed. Staff were very helpful. Very convenient for the highline.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled solo
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkMGT, Owner at 36 Hudson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2018

Yes, we offer bag storage..no fee. Highline is fantastic!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews