We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little slice of NYC”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New York City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Greenwich Village Habitue
Ranked #17 of 77 New York City B&B and Inns
SF>CA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“A little slice of NYC”
Reviewed 26 September 2011

We loved this place. The apartments are nicely done. The bed was firm which we liked immensely.
The hosts are charming and afford one with an orientation to the Village and the Meat Packing district. The location could not be better. We did not take the subway for two days because we were walking all over the Village. We go to NYC every Fall and will return to GV Habitue as often as possible. It is a bargain and an absolute delight.

Room Tip: We loved our front facing apartment. We did look at some of the accomodations on the garden side whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hobbes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    15
    4
    2
    7
See reviews for
11
89
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

I stayed for an extended period of time in August/ Sept (4 weeks in total) at the GV Habitue.

It's important to understand that this is not a 5, 4 or even 3 star establishment - these are furnished apartments in a lovely street in the West Village near the Meatpacking district. Kevin and Matt are very kind hosts who leave you to your own devices if you so wish. The apartment is not serviced daily, but it feels more like a home than a hotel. That is a big bonus for me. Yes, as the other reviewers have said it is not decorated in the most modern way, there are many nick knacks in the room, and some rooms can be dark. There are stairs to be negotiated, but there are stairs everywhere (especially on the subways!) The TV is small (but who watches TV in NY). The street is very quiet, but taxis were always (or almost) east to find. The free wi-fi was invaluable to me, as were the free local phone calls on the apartment phone. It is about a 6 to 7 min walk to the subway, however there are many wonderful shops and cafes/ restaurants in the vicinity of the apartment, as well as the High Line. There is also a wonderful supermarket just a few minutes walk away, so you can stock up for breakfast.

If you are interested in the overall experience of having a 'Habitue' in NY, and are not worried about the frills, then this accommodation can't be overlooked.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Location
Helpful?
4 Thank freddiefrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2011

We stayed here for 10 days in September. The place is indeed a typical Brownstone. It is filled with antiques. There is a severe slope in the floor, but it really just adds to the character. What is not nice is when you step in from the street, the hallway and stairs are filled with a musty "old" smell. The apartment has not had a deep cleaning in a very long time. It too smells old. The light switches are dirty as are the window sills, back of the doors etc.. The old plastic horizontal blinds in the small windows are very dirty. The "antique" sofa is greebely and not a place you are inclined to put your head down. Clean the place up and it is fantastic value in a very expensive city. But unless they can assure you that it has been cleaned I would look somewhere else for a place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank adventurmanCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

Though technically a studio, our appartment felt like a one-bed appartment. Really quite spacious. Nice living area which meant that you could unwind after a hard days sighseeing and watch TV or listen to music. Also has a separate dining area that sits four. There's a kitchen area too and free wifi.

Only criticism would be that it could benefit from being able to shut off the sleeping area, so that you can stay up late/ get up early and potter around without waking your partner.

Some great cafes round the corner. Not far from the subway (but I don't think anywhere in Manhatten is). Ideally located for Greenwich itself and just a few minutes away from the lively Meatpacking District. Can recommend a walk along the Highline just round the corner.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rousers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 July 2011

Compromise Overall, we had a fantastic stay at the Greenwich Village Habitue.

We thought the location was perfect, and after seeing more of the city, we decided we'd definately stay in the same area on any future trips to NY. Once we mastered the subway, it was fairly easy to get around to the other areas of the city. While not near any major tourist attractions (although very close to the High Line), it was great to come home every night to a spacious, quiet apartment in a pretty street of brownstones. On the evening we flew home, the street was being used for a film shoot! We liked the trendy vibe of the area, and it was convenient having lots of nice restaurants and bars nearby for breakfast and dinner.

Matt and Kevin were both great hosts, and helped us out with quite a few things during our stay. It was also really nice to have our apartment tidied every few days, including being provided with fresh towels if we wanted them. Free local phone calls came in handy, as did the answering machine! We were provided with lots of pamphlets etc on NY, there was a CD and DVD player, as well as a kitchenette. It was also very convenient having wifi in the room. Extra touches such as these make the apartments stand out as a great alternative to pricier (and MUCH smaller) hotel rooms.

We'll be back, and we'll be recommending the place to our friends!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gsd25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#301 of 467 in New York City
1,371 reviews
West Village
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
#205 of 467 in New York City
1,807 reviews
Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
#121 of 467 in New York City
973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Greenwich Village
Washington Square Hotel
Washington Square Hotel
#148 of 467 in New York City
1,436 reviews
Chelsea
Chelsea Pines Inn
Chelsea Pines Inn
#56 of 467 in New York City
2,111 reviews
Greenwich Village
The Marlton Hotel
The Marlton Hotel
#112 of 467 in New York City
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greenwich Village Habitue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenwich Village Habitue

Property: Greenwich Village Habitue
Address: 80 Horatio St, The West Village, New York City, NY 10014-1526
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > West Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — Greenwich Village Habitue 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2 Completely private apartments in 1830's Federal style brownstone for rent. Owner occupied, self-contained, fully appointed apartments - single or double occupancy ONLY - 5 night minimum stay. Located in West Greenwich Village / Meatpacking District. Close to subways, Highline Park, brand new Whitney Museum of American Art, Hudson River Park, great restaurants, shopping and all attractions. Quiet, charming building, beautiful street and great West Village neighborhood. Air conditioning, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, tea kettle,toaster, iron/board. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
a Greenwich Village Habitue Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing