We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not as bad as you might think..”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Royal Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal Park Hotel
Ranked #387 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Santa Fe Nm
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“not as bad as you might think..”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2012

I stayed here a few nights back in November of 2011. As you can imagine New York city is expensive... especially when you flight out on late notice without sufficient time to shop around for a Hotel. This place did the trick. The room are clean but not perfect... I looked under the bed/mattress and it was clean... the front desk agents are more than willing to relocate you to another room if available and they do it with a smile. What I really liked was the location of this place. It's nice and quiet.. no weirdos running around at night. I felt safe especially since I was alone for the first time in the best city of the world. New York City.

Room Tip: if you the first room you get offer is one of the small bunk bed type, simply go to the front desk a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jobe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    158
    180
    67
    109
See reviews for
118
202
31
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2012

The Royal Park is in a decent location, although it's roughly a 10 dollar cab ride to the heart of Manhattan. The subway would be the recommended means of travel, and the closest one is 2 blocks away.

My girlfriend and I paid almost 600 dollars for a 4 night stay, and we had to share a bathroom with 8 other rooms. Not ideal. The private room we stayed in was cramped, and lacked the essentials. A hook for our towels woud've been nice, or even a bedside lamp. Some might say that a hostel is exactly that: a small room in which to sleep. But I see no reason why it cannot be made a little more comfortable.

If you don't mind sleeping in a shoebox, hanging your towels and wet jackets on the picture frame on the wall, drying yourself after a shower with a hand-towel, and sitting amongst 20 other people on 2 couches to attempt to access the wi-fi in the lobby, then go for it.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hervey Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
161 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

Booked a couple of nights in this hostel and although the place did look ok on arrival, I must admit that entering the room was quite a shocker.
Had a double bed and the room was only large enough for it to fit. The place is also quite old with wires out of the walls (using the plugs does look like Russian roulette ..) and is also very noisy.
One thing I must admit though, bathrooms were quite clean compared to the state of the place.
The only real good point of this hostel : the location is good.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New York City hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

We booked a room with private bathroom in this very nice hotel located close to the subway (downtown in 10 min). It's very affordable and the room are clean, the bathroom too. Not too noisy for NYC. The staff is really friendly, helpful. No problem at all during our stay. I recommend this hotel and will surely choose it again when I'll come back.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jacques L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

Recently stayed for 3 nights at the Royal Park Hotel in a twin bedroom with my friend and we shared bathroom facilities. Bathrooms were clean and there are two on each floor. We were situated on the 6th floor [tip: head up a few floors as the bathrooms get more modern]. We paid about 60 dollars a night so really only expected a place to sleep by New York standards.

The room was quite bare, consisting of two single beds, a dressing table with mirror, a bedside table and a tv. Sadly the TV only had one channel and no remote and the hotel staff weren't able to solve this issue. But we didn't visit New York City to sit and watch TV and chill out in our bedroom! The room was clean and so were the bathrooms - all we needed. Admittedly it was a shock at first to see how basic the room was, but we began to realise that we wouldn't be spending hardly any time in the hotel anyway.

The staff were very helpful. We arrived before the 3pm check in time but a room was ready so we could move straight in. The cleaner also was very kind and gave us two towels without charge as my friend had forgotton hers. We were also provided with helpful maps of the city and the staff at the desk couldn't have been more accommodating. Only one problem I found was that the pipes were quite noisy at night and it kept me awake at times.

All in all, it's a place to sleep. We weren't looking to spend all our money on accommodation and saved that for Broadway, shopping and seeing the sights. The hotel is right next to West 96th street subway station where you can pay 10 dollars for 6 trips (stopping at Times square on 42nd, and South Ferry which is the last stop to get boats to Liberty Island). Around the corner is a Starbucks and a quirky pizza place called 2 Boots. Similarly you can walk across and be at the reservoir at Central Park where we spent out first day exploring.

Room Tip: If you want the rooms in the pictures or on the website, you have to pay a lot more that we did.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wilkie_Pal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Despinal258, General Manager at Royal Park Hotel, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
We are very happy that you took the time to write a review of your stay at The Royal Park Hotel & Hostel. I am glad to hear that you found the facilities very clean. Our housekeeping staff takes pride in providing the best possible service. In fact the entire staff strives to provide guest with the ultimate “New York Experience.” To hear that we were very helpful is outstanding. We have brand new rooms with new tile and glass with rain shower heads, exposed brick with a flat screen TV that has multiple channels. IF you return to New York please give me a call at 212-665-7434; so I can set up a tour of these rooms and provide you with a special manager’s rate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
Morningside Inn
Morningside Inn
#431 of 467 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
Chelsea
Riff Chelsea
Riff Chelsea
#434 of 467 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Upper West Side
Belnord Hotel
Belnord Hotel
#302 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#228 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,510 reviews
Upper West Side
Marrakech Hotel
Marrakech Hotel
#385 of 467 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,564 reviews
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#388 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Park Hotel

Property: Royal Park Hotel
Address: 258 West 97th Street, New York City, NY 10025-6218
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Royal Park Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Park Hotel is situated on the trendy Upper West Side of Manhattan. We offer clean, comfortable, and affordable New York City discount hotel rooms with flat screen TVs and Air conditioning. A 10-minute train ride from Times Square and 10 min walk to Columbia University! Designed to satisfy even the smallest travel budgets, our chic yet inexpensive hotel provides wonderful value and convenience. We are conveniently located a block from 1/2/3 (red line) trains, coffee shops, restaurants, bars, theaters, museums and shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing