We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,293)
Filter reviews
2,293 results
Traveller rating
684
741
432
234
202
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
684
741
432
234
202
Show reviews that mention
All reviews times square warm cookies penn station new york javits center rooms are small front desk staff hell's kitchen few blocks empire state building around the corner central park nyc msg district bellman broadway
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 2,293 reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2018

The photos of the fitness center show free weight dumbells. The photos are not from this hotel. They are catfishing you. The photos are lies. Also, it is very difficult to get a parking spot in front of the hotel to load/unload. It took me 45 minutes to get my car 1 block from the parking garage to a spot in front to load my car!

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paola S, Guest Experience Coordinator at Doubletree By Hilton - Times Square South, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2018

Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay with us. We have taken note of the challenges you experienced. We have reviewed the way we assign guest rooms to ensure that we are living up to our promises. We are very sorry that we did not meet your expectation. While we cannot change what has happened, we hope that you will stay with us again so that we may show you how we have improved.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2018

The hotel is an older hotel the staff go above and beyond to make your stay a good one. The man that checked us in was A+. I enjoyed my stay there and would go back there again. Down the street is Liberty Bagel it is on 35th street. Best breakfast bagels were great

Stayed: September 2018
Thank Judy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paola S, Guest Experience Coordinator at Doubletree By Hilton - Times Square South, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2018

Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay with us. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We take great pride in being flexible and having the right staff to take care of all our guest’s requests. Thank you for selecting our hotel from the many choices you have. See you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2018

We had really poor internet all the time we were there. It was a really small room with no space for suitcases or other things. The bathroom faucet sprayed water all over the counter - maybe the filter was plugged. We read on the website that they would have vouchers for "Wake-up Doubletree breakfast" but were told that 'no one in NYC offers breakfast'. We did get one voucher but the meal was really poor so we went elsewhere for breakfast. Not a great experience.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SueinSalem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paola S, Guest Experience Coordinator at Doubletree By Hilton - Times Square South, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2018

Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay with us. We have taken note of the shower not working well. We are committed to improving this element to deliver greater service to you and all of our guests. We are upgrading the internet service to provide an amazing experience. Please stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2018

We attended a conference at the Javits centre so selected this hotel because of it's location. Unfortunately, the hotel itself is in dire need of an upgrade. The entrance was obscured by construction so it wasnt a very welcoming experience, especially since we checked in late. We also did not get much of a welcome as Silver Honors members. In fact, the gentleman behind the desk didnt give eye contact at first and completed what he was doing on the computer without any acknowledgement. No warm cookies which we have become quite partial to when we stay at the Doubletree, but since it was late we requested in another morning and they were delicious and appreciated! The room was tiny (sort of expected) but for the price I thought not the best value. The shower leaked and the toilet made a dripping noise, but we made do. The elevators were very slow and we experienced a few days where one was out of order. They were small and tight when sharing with housekeeping or other guests (one gentleman brought his bicycle in with us). Generally staff were friendly. We didn't use the restaurant or bar as it didn't look very inviting at all - decor from the 1980s perhaps? I am not sure how the room cleaning schedule was devised but we often came back late afternoon (around 4-5pm) and they were either busy in the room or hadn't been yet - this was sometimes problematic as we needed to change or refresh for the evening. The location made up for most of these shortfalls but I would not stay there again if I was in the same area.

Room Tip: Ask about the size of the room and if there are windows, if possible
  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank JameSquareDesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paola S, Guest Experience Coordinator at Doubletree By Hilton - Times Square South, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2018

Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay with us. We have taken note of the challenges you experienced. We have multiple projects in progress that will vastly improve our rooms and services. We are very sorry that we did not meet your expectation. While we cannot change what has happened, we hope that you will stay with us again so that we may show you how we have improved.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018 via mobile

Check in was quick and we were early but our room was ready. Hot cookies on arrival was a very nice gesture. Had no issues with the lift. I thought the room was rather small and fairly expensive for the type of room. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The shower was great but the extractor fan didn’t work so the bathroom got rather steamed up! The only issue I had was the cleaners didn’t replenish the tea and coffee one day so we called reception and after several hours there was still no supplies brought to the room as promised, so my husband had to go down to reception to ask again and they turned up an hour or so later! The porters in reception are really helpful and one helped us use the map function on my phone to get us where we needed to be. They also looked after our luggage until it was time for us to leave, they also arranged a taxi to JFK airport for a flat fee of $75 which picked us up right outside the hotel, unlike the Uber driver who wanted us to drag our cases round to the bus station. Would recommend this hotel for its location.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank jackie21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paola S, Guest Experience Coordinator at Doubletree By Hilton - Times Square South, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2018

Thank you for posting a review of your stay with us. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We take great pride in being flexible and having the right staff to take care of all our guest’s requests. Thank you for selecting our hotel from the many choices you have. See you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews