We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Ranked #292 of 467 Hotels in New York City
fredrikstad
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very good!”
Reviewed 3 April 2012

The hotel was very good:
-Breakfast included was nice
-Close to Times Square but the area was quiet (made it possible to sleep:-)
-Room was (from many here at tripadvisor) told to be very small, but compared to other hotels I have visited in NYC, it was not that small
-Hotel looked new and fresh
-Serviceminded staff!

What I did miss: Safety deposit box in the room, better elevator capacity and bacon at every breakfast.

Room Tip: If you do not want a room with cityview, choose a lower level room. Then you can use the stairs inst...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andy k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIXTSFOM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this review, 14 April 2012
Hi Andy! Thank you for reviewing your stay with us! We hope that everything exceeded your expectations and that you enjoyed your time here in NYC. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with other travelers. We hope you will choose our hotel for your next visit to NYC! Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    696
    927
    358
    88
    64
See reviews for
717
595
101
221
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (471)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

The location was great because of how close it was to Times Square. It's close to a Port Authority Bus, 42nd St- Times Square subway station, and if you drove into the city like my group, a parking garage is located on the same street as the hotel. However a staff member, Juicy, recommended a more reasonably priced parking garage that was only one street over. Speaking of the staff, the staff is excellent and always friendly! I worked with Juicy at the front desk and she gave us wonderful tips on where to park, where to eat, and navigating the subway. They also do a great job keeping the hotel rooms very clean and well stocked. The rooms are small but that didn't bother me at all because in the end what we wanted was a secure, clean place and we got that and more! Reasonably priced when you factor in location (and reviews about cleanliness) when comparing staying here to other hotels in the city. I definitely recommend this place!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeany B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIXTSFOM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Hi Jeany! Thank you so much for staying with us and for writing such a great review of our hotel! We are thrilled to see you enjoyed your stay and your time here in NYC! It’s great to see that our location was convenient for all of your activities too. Thank you for mentioning Juicy in your review. We love it when our employees get recognized on Trip Advisor! Thank you for recommending us to other travelers and we sincerely hope to have you stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 week at the end of march with my girlfriend,checked in early which was a bonus, front of desk where so polite and friendly.room was on floor 25 was very clean and tidy.
Free breakfast sets you up for the day it's amazing and the cinnamon rolls are perfect!!
The staff working in the hotel are really polite.
We could even checkout at 2pm this was a bonus because our flight back to the uk wasn't until 8pm so that was perfect,they even stored our luggage until we needed it and called a cab! It's these little touches me alot.My only niggle ( small one ) was sometimes you have to wait a little while for the lift but that's not too bad.
Highly recommend this hotel as the location to times square and metro are perfect.
Well done holiday inn express I would visit again 9.5/10

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Stemacc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIXTSFOM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this review, 1 April 2012
Thank you so much for sharing your feedback with us! We greatly appreciate you choosing our hotel out of the numerous lodging options in NYC. We know that choosing a great hotel can be daunting, but we hope your choice to stay with us was an easy one! We apologize for the delays you experienced with our elevators, but we are happy to report that it is something we are currently addressing in order to improve our services. Thanks again for the great review and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

My husband and I just went to NYC for the first time and satyed in the Holiday Inn Express Time Square from Tues. March 13- Fri. March 16, 2012

This is literally around the corner from Time Square. It was not only a very convient location, but it was extremely clean (as I have a high standard of cleanliness and can be extremely picky). The breakfast area could have more room .. however, it is NYC. Great "free" breakfast.
If I ever go back to NYC, this is the place I will stay.
Staff was extremely helpful and pleasant to get help from.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MellyCook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIXTSFOM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this review, 31 March 2012
Hi MellyCook! From the entire staff here at the Holiday Inn Express Times Square, we would like to thank you and your husband for choosing our hotel for your recent trip to NYC! We are delighted to see you enjoyed your stay and your time here in New York. We hope that everything exceeded your expectations and that we were able to provide a nice place to rest your head at the end of your busy days. We sincerely hope to have you stay with us again soon! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Rooms are small but I understand real state is tight in NYC!!! This hotel is conveniently located near times square!! It is great for couples!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VIAboytes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIXTSFOM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this review, 31 March 2012
Hi there! We’d like to thank you for the outstanding review of our hotel! We really can’t express how much we appreciate our guests taking the time to share their experiences with other travelers. The word of mouth created is astounding and we couldn’t be more grateful. We hope everything about your stay exceeded your expectations and we would love to have you stay with us again soon! Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Holiday Inn New York City - Times Square
Holiday Inn New York City - Time...
#193 of 467 in New York City
618 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Ti...
#188 of 467 in New York City
1,162 reviews
Midtown
Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square
Candlewood Suites New York City ...
#230 of 467 in New York City
1,856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Squa...
#243 of 467 in New York City
2,407 reviews
Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#262 of 467 in New York City
2,017 reviews
Midtown
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Staybridge Suites Times Square -...
#141 of 467 in New York City
5,633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square

Property: Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Address: 343 West 39th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1401
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#165 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#203 Business Hotel in New York City
#229 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This New York City hotel offers location close to Times Square. Located in the middle of Manhattan, the newly renovated Holiday Inn Express New York Times Square offers comfortable accommodations near New York s biggest attractions. With LaGuardia (LGA) and JFK International (JFK) both less than 15 minutes away, you'll find it easy getting to and from your destinations. Within walking distance of our Manhattan hotel, you can find a wealth of attractions. Just a block from our New York City hotel is Times Square and Broadway theatres. Other well known New York attractions such as the Empire State Building, Broadway and Central Park are within a few blocks of our hotel in Manhattan. Located near 42nd Street, our hotel is close to the main subway lines so you can get around the city easily. For the business traveler, there are many major New York business attractions located near our hotel in New York City. Major headquarters including Merrill Lynch, Legg Mason and Ernst & Young are all within walking distance of our New York City accommodations. With our convenient Manhattan location, you can make it on time to all your New York City meetings. Consider starting your day with one of our famous cinnamon rolls from the hot breakfast bar. Additionally, you can stay connected throughout your entire stay at our New York City hotel with free high-speed Internet access. Book your New York City room reservations now at our Manhattan hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing