We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Fabulous Fun!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bike the Big Apple

Bike the Big Apple
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Not all bike tours are created equal. Since 2001, the expert, experienced, professional guides of Bike the Big Apple have been safely taking guests far off the "beaten path" - in all 5 boroughs! With us, you will venture into real ethnic neighborhoods, and experience what life is like beyond the skyscrapers. In fact, we are quite proud to still be the only company to do bike tours of our beloved Bronx - seldom seen by visitors to the city.Why take a bike tour? Walking tours are severely limited in the distance they can travel; you are either going to visit a very small area of the city, or spend half of your day underground. Bus tours can cover plenty, but you are completely removed from the neighborhoods by glass. On bike, you can cover much and still get a real "feel" for the neighborhoods we take you to.Come ride with us!
Lakeland, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fabulous Fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2011

This was our third trip and all have been interesting and different! Marc and the other guides do a fantastic job of sharing secrets about their city. We are over 50 and not overly athletic, but the pace is great.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank SuzannaVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

787 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    725
    53
    6
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Heart and Soul of Harlem and Central Park”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

We signed up for the Park and Soul Tour and it was a blast. The pace of
the tour should work with any level of fitness and our guides were great
guys who made sure everyone was doing OK. As long as you follow a few
basic rules that the guys clearly outline it is very safe and they take
good care of everyone. Fantastic way to get into the heart beat of NY.
We enjoyed it so much we signed up 2 days later for the Lower Manhattan
and Brooklyn trip which was equally as good, just as well run and
interesting and informative. Great way to see NY. Thanks Jesse and Max,
you guys are the best!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Aussieanne_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Englewood, Colorado
Level Contributor
60 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Bikin' in the big apple”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2011

We love to take bike tours in very city we visit but I have to say we were a little nervous to bike in NYC after seeing how people drive. Have no fear! This tour was great and we were well protected by our guides. The final run through times square at night was the perfect ending. We loved it!

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank jerilynjoyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The most fabulous memory of our trip to New York”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2011

Bike the Big Apple was the highlight of our 5 day trip to New York. We did the "Bike the Bridge twilight tou" and enjoyed nearly 5 hours exploring the streets of lower Manhattan firstly in daylight and culminating in biking over Brooklyn Bridge and immersing ourselves in the stunning night skyline of Manhattan.
A never to be forgotten experience.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kamloops, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“great way to see the "real" (ethnically diverse) NYC”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2011

Well worth the money, time, and energy expenditure--a highlight of my visit to New York City! While the bike ride required strong legs and good lung capacity in order to traverse long city bridges, in general it was accessible to people of moderate physical fitness. The tour guide knew his city, and communicated and led us with competence. I learned a lot about "the lay of the land," and felt safe throughout the tour, even when biking for blocks in traffic in downtown Manhattan! I plan to return to NYC with my 12-year-old son, and when I do, he and I will definitely sign up to "Bike the Big Apple" together.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank CindyMaree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bike the Big Apple also viewed

 

Been to Bike the Big Apple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing