We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, good location.”
Review of The Ridge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Ridge Hotel
Ranked #350 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 January 2012

I stayed here with my Mum on our first trip to New York. It was easy to find when we arrived on the subway from the airport. It had a good location as some important points of interest were in walking distance (Broadway, Wall Street, Ground Zero and Battery Park) and for those that weren't, the hotel was close to subway stations. There is also a whole foods supermarket very close to the hotel which was very useful for day to day provisions.

Hotel East Houston was clean and the staff members were friendly and helpful. The breakfast (a help yourself buffet) had variety and everything was fresh and tasty.

The building was tastefully decorated in a modern style and the roof terrace had fantastic views to the North of sky scrapers. Our room was small and clean, and the double glazing shut out any city noise which would have otherwise kept us awake. The only draw back was that the bathroom was divided from the room not by a wall, but by a frosted glass partition. It was a bit weird to see the outline of my Mum on the loo! But it was OK as Mum and I are comfortable with each other, it may be a problem if your with a friend rather than a partner or family member.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GoodServicePlease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (415)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

212 - 216 of 415 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2012

But not only because of the astoundingly low prices. The rooms are very small (but I have seen smaller) but more than adequate. They are clean, well appointed, and quiet, Very nice bathrooms are stocked with Bulgari toiletries including a full size bar of soap. No mini-bar but a free bottle of Fuji water, no room service but a nice continental breakfast in the basement. Great bagels around the corner on Allen St., knishes and Katz's on Houston, a short walk to everything Soho. The front desk was friendly and very accomodating. This is a little gem and I will be back. I hope they don't raise the rates too much......

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VISJacksonvilleFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2012

I've been traveling to NYC for over 10 years. I think this was best value for the money. Only $149 night! Room was very small but very clean with modern decor. 1 block form stop on F line to midtown. Whole Foods and lots of great restaurant options near by. Prices go up during travel season but I will back!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AuxTx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

Location: By far the biggest plus. This was a great place to stay for someone originally from NYC and knows the Lower East Side very well. You're close to a couple of subway stops. There's the 2nd Avenue stop (F train) around the corner and then 3 other stations where the N/R, 4/6, and the B/D/M/F trains stop. The restaurants and bars selection in the neighbourhood can be overwhelming, but there is no shortage of choice. Among a two-block radius: a great Kosher deli (Russ & Daughters for farmers cheese), the Sunset Cinema (more of an upmarket repertory that shows indie films), Economy Candy (candy by the pound for under $3), and so on.

Room: I was one person staying in a standard room. There was a good promotion so the rate was very affordable---under $150/night plus breakfast. The room is not surprisingly tiny. Barely any space for a large suitcase, and the closet is extremely small. But you're not here to luxuriate in the room. I did heed some of the advice and requested a quiet room so was overlooking the Eldridge Road side. It was quieter than being on East Houston, but you could still hear the bass thumping from the stereo of a nearby bar until 2am. The bathroom is likewise small, but there's great water pressure. Toiletries are a bit minimalist, too: there is only one bar of fancy smelling soap (Bvlgari) and they don't restock every day so you may want to pack extras.

Breakfast: was part of the room rate and served in the basement. A narrow selection of croissants, danish, and bagels with jams/butters. Plenty of OJ, coffee, tea, milk. Also cereal, yoghurt, and fruit. But it's all pretty good, enough to get you started.

Wi-Fi: this was a major pain. For some reason, it wasn't working properly in the room. But they had it in the lobby and the basement breakfast nook. There are also two desktop PCs in the nook, and you can use a LAN cable to plug in.

Service: no frills, but pretty good.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank asoloist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

This was one of the least expensive, yet still decent hotels I've stayed in in NY. I travel there several times a year and I am usually looking for a good deal, but the hotel has to be decent. I put this on par with the Four Points Sheraton in Soho, but the price there can get pretty high (though not worth it).
Pros: Location - very central to east village area
Clean accomodation
FREE continental breakfast (not worth it if you want a real breakfast...but toast, bagel, fruit or yogurt juice and coffee at no additional cost in NY is unusual
Friendly and helpful front desk
Free WiFI
Cons: Can be noisy..It's right on Houston a main thoroughfare and there was construction down the street which added to the noise
Wierd shower. Looks great - clearly new. But in order to turn it on, you have to get wet. Ugh. Someone didn't think that one through all the way. Once it is on (and warm) the shower is quite nice.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bumom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Lower East Side
Orchard Street Hotel
Orchard Street Hotel
#320 of 471 in New York City
162 reviews
Flatiron District
Chelsea Inn - 17th Street
Chelsea Inn - 17th Street
#402 of 471 in New York City
159 reviews
Gramercy Park
Seafarers & International House
Seafarers & International House
#371 of 471 in New York City
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
SoHo Garden Hotel
SoHo Garden Hotel
#367 of 471 in New York City
433 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#235 of 471 in New York City
5,034 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Newton
Hotel Newton
#326 of 471 in New York City
1,594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ridge Hotel

Address: 151 E Houston St, New York City, NY 10002-1004 (Formerly Hotel East Houston)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #350 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: €71 - €205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your The Ridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Houston Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing