We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (500)
Filter reviews
500 results
Traveller rating
162
229
74
15
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
162
229
74
15
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hotel east houston lower east side katz deli rooftop terrace f line russ daughters great location around the corner bars and restaurants subway station new york bagels rooms are small boutique hotel walking distance closet space noisy at night
Filter
Updating list...
280 - 285 of 500 reviews
Reviewed 23 January 2012

Location: By far the biggest plus. This was a great place to stay for someone originally from NYC and knows the Lower East Side very well. You're close to a couple of subway stops. There's the 2nd Avenue stop (F train) around the corner and then 3 other stations where the N/R, 4/6, and the B/D/M/F trains stop. The restaurants and bars selection in the neighbourhood can be overwhelming, but there is no shortage of choice. Among a two-block radius: a great Kosher deli (Russ & Daughters for farmers cheese), the Sunset Cinema (more of an upmarket repertory that shows indie films), Economy Candy (candy by the pound for under $3), and so on.

Room: I was one person staying in a standard room. There was a good promotion so the rate was very affordable---under $150/night plus breakfast. The room is not surprisingly tiny. Barely any space for a large suitcase, and the closet is extremely small. But you're not here to luxuriate in the room. I did heed some of the advice and requested a quiet room so was overlooking the Eldridge Road side. It was quieter than being on East Houston, but you could still hear the bass thumping from the stereo of a nearby bar until 2am. The bathroom is likewise small, but there's great water pressure. Toiletries are a bit minimalist, too: there is only one bar of fancy smelling soap (Bvlgari) and they don't restock every day so you may want to pack extras.

Breakfast: was part of the room rate and served in the basement. A narrow selection of croissants, danish, and bagels with jams/butters. Plenty of OJ, coffee, tea, milk. Also cereal, yoghurt, and fruit. But it's all pretty good, enough to get you started.

Wi-Fi: this was a major pain. For some reason, it wasn't working properly in the room. But they had it in the lobby and the basement breakfast nook. There are also two desktop PCs in the nook, and you can use a LAN cable to plug in.

Service: no frills, but pretty good.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank asoloist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

This was one of the least expensive, yet still decent hotels I've stayed in in NY. I travel there several times a year and I am usually looking for a good deal, but the hotel has to be decent. I put this on par with the Four Points Sheraton in Soho, but the price there can get pretty high (though not worth it).
Pros: Location - very central to east village area
Clean accomodation
FREE continental breakfast (not worth it if you want a real breakfast...but toast, bagel, fruit or yogurt juice and coffee at no additional cost in NY is unusual
Friendly and helpful front desk
Free WiFI
Cons: Can be noisy..It's right on Houston a main thoroughfare and there was construction down the street which added to the noise
Wierd shower. Looks great - clearly new. But in order to turn it on, you have to get wet. Ugh. Someone didn't think that one through all the way. Once it is on (and warm) the shower is quite nice.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bumom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2012

Booked this place between Christmas and New Year based on TripAdvisor recommendations... and not really impressed. Having spent over $2,500 on 2 rooms for 4 nights, I would have expected more than a room tinier than my own (tiny) bedroom at home, chipped finishes, broadband that hardly ever worked, and one bottle of mineral water for the entire stay. The staff were friendly enough, but the overall impression was, well... just so-so. I can't say I hated it, I can't say I loved it. On the plus side, the location is great, in the heart of the Lower East Side with many cool bars and restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Merlotlondon74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights in December 2011. Overall it was a great place to stay. The location was really good..literally about 20 metres from the subway with plenty of bars and restaurants around. It was our first visit to New York and we didn't really know where to start! The reception staff were really helpful and couldn't do enough to make our stay as easy as possible. Breakfast was fine..nothing special but more than enough to get you moving and keep you going for a few hours. The only criticism I had with the hotel was not so much the size of the rooms (athough they were very small) but the lack of storage and hanging space within them. There were big areas of wall and they would benefit from a few hooks for coats etc. That said, this was the ONLY thing i could find fault with, and it didn't spoil the stay at all. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants an inexpensive, stylish, comfortable place to stay in New York!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms at the side or back of the hotel as those at the front willprobably be quite noisy!
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeFreeGY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

Great (tiny) hotel with an address that is easy to remember. The room was extremely small, but modern, new, and comfy. There was a little noise from the street but that is to be expected. Located near plenty of pubs, restaurants, and a whole foods, I would stay here again to explore the city. The hotel comes with a continental breakfast that was pretty good. Free wifi didn't work at all, but they have a terminal in the breakfast room for free use.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank veffekt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews