We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
PricelineUS$144
Agoda.comUS$144
Hotels.comUS$144
Expedia.comUS$144
Official HotelUS$144
HurbUS$178
View all 18 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (516)
Filter reviews
516 results
Traveller rating
323
119
35
22
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
323
119
35
22
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews seasons restaurant the woodward pool table ping pong extended family an excellent restaurant different types beautiful property dirty dancing great weekend great room love this place complimentary breakfast cabin hammocks grounds goats
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 516 reviews
Reviewed 22 January 2021

We stayed in one of the small cabins. It was rustic, yet warm and charming. Due to COVID-19 precautions, I cannot speak to housekeeping service during stay, but the cabin was definitely clean on arrival. On every occasion that I visited the front desk, the attendant was friendly and helpful. We were given vouchers for the wonderful Seasons restaurant since breakfast was unavailable. Dinner & the Holiday Brunch were outstanding. The grounds of the property are fun to roam. And, my favorite part was visiting the goats daily. It was the middle of winter & we still loved our stay. Cannot get back when the weather warms to allow for more fun at the lake and on the property.

Date of stay: December 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank RobinTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberly McCall, General Manager at Highland Lake Inn & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2021

We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, and thank you for sharing your experience! We look forward to seeing you later this year when the warmer weather returns, and there is more to explore on grounds.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2021

We have been staying here for more than 2o years. Recently, we have stayed in December and Januaryand love this place. Especially the customer service we received from Steve at the front desk. He was always helpful, friendly and at our service. We highly recommend the Highland Lakes Inn for a peaceful and restful holiday.

Room tip: We like the Woodward house for its charm and comfort.
Date of stay: December 2020
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leatherneck06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberly McCall, General Manager at Highland Lake Inn & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2021

Thank you for your kind words, and yes, Steve is awesome! We greatly appreciate you as one of our valued guests who has been staying with us for a long time. We hope to see you soon for another visit, and glad to hear you enjoyed a peaceful and relaxing stay with us over the holidays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2021 via mobile

Stayed in one of poolside houses and it was definitely not worth the money. These homes are very old which can give them some fun idiosyncrasies (like none of the floors are level — everything is at a slant) and it gave us some fun stories. The resort is also happens to be very near to our family who lives in the area, so that was nice and convenient.

However, the negatives outweigh the positives in this case. There were nails sticking up from floor in kitchen. They had a padded mat laying over the top of it, but it had shifted and one of us ended up stepping on it. Also had nails sticking out of wood border between flooring of kitchen/dining area. The furniture is not just dated but worn out. The sofa had tears, and the padding on the arms had worn away such that the wood was all that could be felt under the cover. The love seat had no support left in it, so you practically sat on the floor when sitting on it.
But the most disturbing thing that we found (fortunately on our final morning there) was rodent droppings on the kitchen counters. We had actually noticed them a day or two prior, but assumed it was the seeds from bagels we’d had. We thoroughly cleaned the counter after that and moved the bagels to a different counter. On our final morning at the house we found the droppings again (on original counter) as well as droppings on the stove top.
When we checked out later that morning, we told the employee at the desk about the droppings as well as the dangerous nails. He said he’d “note it down”.
We paid a lot of money for our stay and it definitely was not worth the cost. We wouldn’t stay here again and wouldn’t recommend to others.

Date of stay: December 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank mtrkcr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberly McCall, General Manager at Highland Lake Inn & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2021

Dear KCRUSSELL1992,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. We are deeply sorry that you were disappointed with your stay and we regret not being able to exceed your expectations. This is not our norm and we are currently taking the necessary steps to ensure every one of our rooms and houses on property are up to the high standard we are known for. We do hope you decide to give us another chance at a future visit so that we can make it a memorable one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2020

Issues:: Woodrow House, room 9.
Fireplace in the community room did not work. Called Friday night and again Saturday. Finally fixed at 1 pm.Saturday.
Remote for tv didn't work. It was fixed after a call.
Commode in bathroom wouldn't flush, nearly overflowed. Fixed that on my own after many plunges.
Cold water faucet in sink only had a small trickle of water. Told maintenance at 1 pm on Saturday. Never got fixed.
Had dinner reservations for both Saturday dinner and Sunday brunch. Within 10 minutes of being seated, the manager came over and asked to speak with me privately.We went into the very small hallway between the dining area and the foyer where multiple people could hear our conversation. He said staff had heard me coughing. I disagreed and asked to speak with at least one of the staff. He refused, but said 5 staff had heard me cough. I again denied it.Unbelievable! Got back to Florida Monday. Took the COVID test Tuesday.. Negative. Have attempted several calls to the owner and restaurant manager, only going to voicemail. Have sent letters to both with copies of my negative test. Still no response. I want apologies for my experience and my $$ back!

Room tip: no view from most rooms at the Woodrow House
Date of stay: October 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jasoncB4599QE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberly McCall, General Manager at Highland Lake Inn & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2020

We sincerely apologize that you felt your experience here on our property fell short of your expectations. We have since conducted an internal review to address any areas of concern you shared, and have reached out to you personally.

We did have an operational issue with the living room fireplace on Friday evening after arriving to address your call. It was fixed the following day. We are sorry to hear you had issues operating the TV remote, though after a second team member arrived to assist, it was determined there was nothing wrong with the remote; just a key entry confusion.

We did also inspect the faucet during this time, and were able to quickly remedy the problem for you. During our second visit to your room, we would have been happy to take a look at any issues with the toilet if we had known.

We apologize that we had to ask your table to leave the restaurant on the evening of Saturday, October 17th, and wish that the circumstances would not have required us to do so. We understand that this made you feel disrespected and embarrassed, although we felt we did it as sensitively as we could under the circumstances. It was not our intention to cause you to feel this way, but only follow the CDC and NC state-recommended Covid-related health protocols for which we ask all guests and employees to comply with, as is posted at our entrances.

We will never make claims or allegations of any medical diagnosis with our guests. We simply align our internal policies with the guidance from health experts, and local/state authorities as related to symptoms that a guest is displaying in the restaurant. Sadly, the Covid epidemic has required us to tighten up our health safety protocols in our restaurant in order to best protect our employees and guests. Any guest that is coughing repeatedly is not permitted in the restaurant. This is posted at our entrances to ensure that guests understand this is a condition of dining with us given the Covid pandemic.

We have taken great measures to build trust, within the community and our guests staying on property, in regards to our health and safety measures during this pandemic. Our guests do trust that when they dine in our establishment, we are following the recommended guidance to protect our guests and our employees in the best possible way we can.

We did provide a complimentary take-out meal for all of the guests at your table to enjoy outside of the restaurant, and while we know this is the not the same dining experience, this was our best alternative option to provide at the time. It is my understanding that while your friends did receive this, you chose to depart back to your room and declined the offer.

We all look forward to the time when we can lift these restrictions. They can create awkward situations for both our guests and our employees.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2020

Drove 4hrs to get here for a nice weekend to view leaves and other attractions. Got to our room to find it infested with bugs. Not sure what type. Hotel was booked so no where to else to put us. All other hotels sold out or double the price. Drove 4hrs back home. Avoid this Inn!

Date of stay: October 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laurafH2459FU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberly McCall, General Manager at Highland Lake Inn & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2020

We would like to apologize that we did not meet your expectations. Based upon the evidence we collected while you were here, we determined that there were a couple of ladybugs in your room.

As you can see from other reviews here, we are most proud of our history of providing extremely clean rooms to our guests. Despite our best efforts, Ladybugs sometimes tend to come out at this time of year here in the country and it appears that just a few slipped into your room.”

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews