We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Sandwiches”
Review of The Hungry Pelican

The Hungry Pelican
Ranked #1 of 38 Restaurants in Manteo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$8
Cuisines: Deli
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, View
Description: An owner operated deli in historic downtown Manteo. Great deli style sandwiches on baked to order rolls. Fresh cut salads, homemade dressings, house made side dishes and soups. Ice cream and desserts available also. Eat in or takeout. Outside seating is available, pets welcome there.
Reviewed 19 October 2018 via mobile

If you like your sandwich with a lot of meat, this would be a good stop. In a true deli style operation this place delivers some excellent sandwiches, salads and soups. The staff is friendly and there is both inside and outside seating. I had the NY/NY which was a corned beef on marbled rye with cheese and coleslaw. My wife had the Philly. Both good choices.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank retiree2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (172)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 172 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2018

The food was great and at a good price. The quantity and quality was good for the price. We enjoyed sandwiches and tomato bisque. The seating area is small but clean, cozy, and relaxing. They are blocks from the water, so we enjoyed a walk around after lunch. We would recommend this place and we will visit them again on our next trip to Manteo, NC.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2018

We really enjoyed our lunch at this restaurant, and the service was very good also. It is very convenient to the town of Manteo, and we enjoyed our turkey club sandwich! Very nice lunch!

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Kathy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018 via mobile

Friendly service and delicious food! I love the taco salad with Fresh toppings and perfectly seasoned beef... it is so good!

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Caridadefe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2018 via mobile

Our group of 9 walked in during a rainstorm and were treated to a delicious and fast lunch! There was just enough seating in the place to accommodate everyone who was trickling through during the time we were there. Seemed like a great place to grab a bite to go as well. There is a small parking lot next to it for a few cars, as well as street parking.

Date of visit: September 2018
1  Thank CampingintheSouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Hungry Pelican also viewed

 
Manteo, Roanoke Island
 

Been to The Hungry Pelican? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing