We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
GardenInn.comUS$152
PricelineUS$152
Hotels.comUS$152
Expedia.comUS$152
eDreamsUS$152
HurbUS$166
View all 19 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (646)
Filter reviews
646 results
Traveller rating
289
166
83
61
47
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
289
166
83
61
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location close to the airport little italy walking distance two blocks valet parking maritime museum beautiful hotel front desk staff seaport village per day balboa park hgi downtown uber bay lyft
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 646 reviews
Reviewed 23 November 2019 via mobile

This is a fairly new hotel, so it is very clean and modern. The location is terrific being just blocks from Little Italy and a 10 minute walk to the harbor. The breakfast is the standard (but excellent) HGI offering.

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank DAW3030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bayside1111, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Downtown/Bayside, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2019

Hello DAW3030, we are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for the positive feedback. We hope you share your experience with your friends and family. We would gladly welcome you back anytime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2019

I had stayed in a terrific HGI in MA a couple of years ago and had hopes for this one. But first, there is a major construction project going on directly behind the hotel. This may or may not be a concern for you. I stayed one night. I did not want a room facing the busy highway outside, and the interior room I received overlooked the bar/restaurant space. I didn't feel that comfortable or safe walking out to try to get some dinner/coffee and stop by a drugstore. There was nothing really close by, the drugstore was a 20-minute walk away and the streets right around the hotel were pretty deserted and kind of creepy. Prices in the inn's restaurant were high, seemed a yuppie place targeted to expense accounts.JMHO. The front-desk staff were cordial and responsive. It just wasn't my cup of tea.

Date of stay: November 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tuneful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bayside1111, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Downtown/Bayside, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2019

Hello tuneful, I am sorry to hear you were unable to find restaurants in little Italy to accommodate you. Next time you stay with us stop by the desk and ask us about our local recommendations, we would be happy to help.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2019

Needed a hotel close to the airport. This hotel had a good rate and I tried it. The hotel was nice, good location and had clean quite rooms. We walked to Little Italy for breakfast. The only down side is in this area of San Diego parking is expensive. I just take Lyft when staying down town for meetings. Give it a try, I will stay there again.

Date of stay: November 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Texas_Dennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bayside1111, Guest Services Supervisor at Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Downtown/Bayside, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2019

Dear Texas_Dennis,

We are glad that you will be visiting us again soon! Next time you are here, ask about our Hilton Honors/Lyft partnership! You can get points on your hotel room, and points for your rides!

Thank you,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2019

Great accommodations, wonderful location, very clean rooms, and priced affordably. Definitely will stay there again if I go back to SD. Easy to get to/from airport. Overall just very nice! Highly recommend!

Date of stay: November 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank patriciaseibel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bayside1111, Guest Services Supervisor at Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Downtown/Bayside, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2019

Dear patriciaseibel,

Thank you so much for your kind words about your recent stay! We cannot wait to see you again.

Thank you,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2019

Pros: This place is a relatively new hotel. The design is modern. We stayed in a king bayview suite with a pullout couch. The room had a full refrigerator and a kitchenette.

(1) The complimentary breakfast.
(2) The free wifi.
(3) The location. We were able to walk around to many restaurants, parks, and ships.

Cons: The $45 per day parking fee is steep. The parking is valet and there is no self-parking. The free wifi is slow. The pool is very small and not like what is in the hotel's photos.

Date of stay: November 2019
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 341linhr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bayside1111, Guest Services Supervisor at Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Downtown/Bayside, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2019

Dear 341linhr,

We are glad that you loved our breakfast, wifi, and location! We wish we could add self parking to that list, but due to our downtown location we do not have the space. We know downtown parking can be difficult, which is why we offer the valet parking option to our guest at $45 per night which is right in the downtown market for pricing. We hope to see you again soon!

Thank you,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews