We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wyndham Garden San Diego near SeaWorld
Ranked #220 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Hillarys, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Value for money”
Reviewed 3 February 2012

Hotel is old but for $67 a night for 5 people it is good value. Rooms are on the small side and a bit of a squeaze for 5 people. The first room we got the AC was not working but staff where friendly and shifted us to a better room. Great restuarants and supermarkets near by and close to Seaworld and short drive to Legoland, Zoo and San Diego. Plenty of free parking.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,243 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    317
    536
    622
    444
    324
See reviews for
1,316
342
77
204
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2012

Stayed in the beautiful city of San Diego in October 2011 Loved the city and the people. Being from Canada the weather was great for us. The locals had jackets on. I was fine with a light hoody at night. Old town was by far the best for us. As a couple in our late 30's we did not hit up all the amusement parks. We did go to sea world tip look to see if your hotel has deals it's cheaper that way. Our hotel was nice enough. Our room was a king suite but I found it dark and quite far from down town. Rent a car if you stay in this area. This hotel was close to sea world and is perfect for families too far from the night life for me.

We had a little issue getting home with westjet and the hotel they booked us in was way better location to the things we like.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the elevator and on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank happy_mexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, CA
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

I always read reviews before I travel. I saw quite a few negative reviews, but I thought I would give it a shot as the rates were excellent. I called the morning of my arrival as I was going to get in late. They didn't have the room I booked, but they quickly fixed the issue and I got the room I requested. When we arrived at 10:30 p.m. the front office staff was quick and efficient. The room, however, was a disappointment. When they call it a suite, it is not like other hotels. There was a half wall in the room separating the king bed from the bunk beds for the kids. The sink looked like it had small pieces of hair in it. I wiped it out and in the morning I heard the gurgle and sure enough it backed up and left the stubble from the last person's shave in the sink (we had a room on the bottom floor). The walls were paper thin (that is why I travel with earplugs) and you could hear everything going on outside and right next to you. One morning after I showered and opened the curtain, I called my husband because there was a bug on the floor (I don't do well with bugs) and it just happened to be a roach. It was the only one I saw - and believe me I was looking. On the plus side it was only $67 a night and there were no bed bugs. However, next time I think I will spend a bit more to get a bit more.

Room Tip: Try to get a top floor room so you don't hear the people above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TulaKitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

We stayed for 2 nights at this hotel near Sea World. The hotel is short drive to Sea World and other great San Diego locations. The neighborhood was nice and we found some very good restaurants within walking distance. We had a kids suite room, with bunk beds. The beds were all very comfortable and the room was a great size for the 4 of us. Our only complaint about this hotel was their parking spaces. The spaces are VERY narrow, making it hard to get in and out of your car and making it easy for door dings from the car next to you. We found some parking at another building of the hotel that wasn't as full as ours and where able to not park next to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmcinaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2011

And the ammenities are good. Two rooms, two televisions and a very convenient location.. However, I stayed on the bottom floor and could hear what sounded like a frat party going on upstairs for two nights. Plus the fans in the bathrooms need replacing, and I could hear the fan from the room upstairs. So, you may want to ask for a room on the top floor. Other than that, a great value for the money.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chutchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Point Loma
Ramada Limited San Diego/Near SeaWorld
Days Inn and Suites Sea World
#226 of 278 in San Diego
1,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Good Nite Inn near SeaWorld
#93 of 278 in San Diego
755 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Comfort Inn & Suites Zoo / SeaWorld Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Garden San Diego near SeaWorld? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden San Diego near SeaWorld

Property: Wyndham Garden San Diego near SeaWorld
Address: 3737 Sports Arena Blvd, San Diego, CA 92110-5131 (Formerly Mission Plaza Hotel & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #220 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Garden San Diego near SeaWorld 3*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just one mile to SeaWorld, the hotel is located just minutes from San Diego's best attractions including SeaWorld San Diego, Mission Bay, Old Town, Downtown, Gaslamp Quarter and the world famous San Diego Zoo. Mission Beach, one of San Diego's most popular beaches, is located two miles away, and Mission Valley and Fashion Valley Malls are both within three miles. Popular restaurants and shops are within walking distance of the hotel. This San Diego hotel has one bedroom Junior Suites that will give you and your family the comfort you desire while you enjoy your San Diego vacation. Has special Kids Mini Suites, with a custom-designed bedroom for kids separated from a bedroom area for parents, are perfect for families with children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Garden San Diego near SeaWorld reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Garden San Diego Near Seaworld Hotel San Diego
Mission Plaza Hotel
San Diego Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing