We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and a lovely hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Bristol Hotel - A Greystone Hotel
Ranked #67 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Diego, California
2 reviews
“Great service and a lovely hotel.”
Reviewed 31 March 2012

We stayed with our 3 kids here and loved it. Fantastic staff, clean rooms and a great location. The associate who checked us in was kind and helpful. Totally recommend!

Room Tip: Only stayed in one room......3rd floor........great views of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaseyStarnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    565
    446
    117
    48
    41
See reviews for
172
423
73
273
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

The hotel was in a good location, close to bus and transit, within walking distance to numerous resturants and a seven eleven with liquor was right outside, the mall wasnt too far and depending how far you would like to walk, you can walk all the way to the water. The hotel was beautiful, marble floors and nice lounging area in lobby with free computer which was nice. didnt use the resturant which seemed to always be empty. the room itself was very clean and cozy.. a little small but it was extremely clean and the bed was very comfortable. the HOTEL itself was excellant. the only reason I am giving this hotel a decent rating is because of an incident that happened to me (that may not even happen to you) we visited some friends in CA and when they visited the hotel they used to valet and came up to our room and somehow i found out that they didnt pay for the valet, they actually just charged it to the room. i felt that was extremely rude considering if my friends didnt tell me they charged it.. i would have been stuck paying the valet fee of $30!!!!!!!!! it wasnt my car and i didnt even know they had came to the hotel and i didnt tell them or authorize anyone to charge anything to MY room. i felt that was very horrendous that just anyone could place a charge on your room that you are stuck with.. does that also mean that you can just pull up to valet for the evening in DT san diego and park for free at the hotel and just "charge it" to someone elses room without even knowing them and no one would ever know. i didnt like that AT ALL. other than that i would return, but because of that, i dont know if i would without checking out other hotels first?

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristolMGR, Manager at The Bristol Hotel - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Dear Ktina0126,

Thank you your valued comments concerning your excellent impressions of our hotel, I will pass these along to our Executive Housekeeper and her staff. It is extremely “heartwarming” to receive favorable comments especially when our team works so hard to provide you with the best possible comforts and services. We sincerely appreciate that acknowledgement.

Concerning your valet experience, I sincerely apologize. I assure you that this incident is the exception and not our rule. I am sure that there may have been unusual circumstances that prompted this and as of this writing I am looking into this matter with our parking valet company and we will safeguard against any reoccurring incidents of this nature. Thank you for bring this to my attention.

We hope to see you again if your travels bring you back to San Diego.

Kind Regards and Safe Travels,
Gregory Rizzi
General Manager
Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

I happened upon the Bristol in an online search, and was happy with the price point. When I arrived, I was extremely impressed with the entire property. The room was perfect, exactly what I was hoping for, tasteful and clean. The staff was friendly and helpful. Turns out it is one block from the county courthouse, which was where I had to be. Horton Plaza (shopping center) is also within walking distance. I've already booked my return trip here.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bouffard69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Super friendly staff, great location, clean and comfortable rooms, what more can you ask for. Will happily stay here again.

Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DaveYYJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Stayed here one night in March, 2012. Staff was very friendly and helpful, the decor beautiful, and is conveniently located. It is a few short blocks from the Gaslight Quarter where there is an abundance of fine restaurants and a couple of blocks from the Civic Theater. Since this is a boutique hotel and downtown be sure to ask for a high floor if you are a light sleeper to avoid the street noise. Valet parking only at $26 is a bit steep but less than at other fine hotels. The next time we visit San Diego we will stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on one of the upper floors to avoid street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PVRalph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
The Sofia Hotel
The Sofia Hotel
#80 of 278 in San Diego
1,398 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown
Downtown
The Westgate Hotel
The Westgate Hotel
#29 of 278 in San Diego
991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Hotel Z - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown
The Westin San Diego
The Westin San Diego
#63 of 278 in San Diego
923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bristol Hotel - A Greystone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bristol Hotel - A Greystone Hotel

Property: The Bristol Hotel - A Greystone Hotel
Address: 1055 1st Ave, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Green Hotel in San Diego
#27 Business Hotel in San Diego
#42 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#53 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Bristol Hotel - A Greystone Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bristol Hotel is a boutique hotel located near San Diego's Gaslamp District and features a variety of amenities for business or leisure travellers. The hotel is a San Diego events and bridal shower venue and also offers meeting space, modern pet-friendly guest rooms, an on-site lounge, fitness center and valet parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Bristol Hotel - A Greystone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bristol San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing