We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
US$124
View Deal
CourtyardUS$124
PricelineUS$124
Hotels.comUS$124
Expedia.comUS$124
eDreamsUS$124
FindHotelUS$124
View all 17 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,170)
Filter reviews
1,170 results
Traveller rating
708
386
57
16
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
708
386
57
16
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bank building safe deposit house of blues gaslamp quarter valet parking beautiful hotel conference room the gas lamp district walking distance valet service homeless people street noise front desk staff convention center corner room i highly recommend this hotel petco park
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 1,170 reviews
Reviewed 14 November 2020

I stayed here recently, Monica helped us. Her customer service is 5 star! Great asset to the company. The room was very nice, spacious, and clean. We enjoyed our time here. We will stay again soon. Thank you for the great service Monica !

Date of stay: November 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank elizabethaL7019AU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2020 via mobile

This location is perfect - walking distance to everything you might want downtown. I stayed in the hotel on the 15th floor in a harbor view room. Great checking experience with friendly service and very clean rooms and public areas.

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled on business
2  Thank robotmirror
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2020

While in San Diego my son booked us a room at the Courtyard in San Diego, CA. Check in was a breeze. Around 8:30 a couple checked in and were super loud, we called to the front desk and they called the room next to us for them to tone it down. The woman was drunk and laying in the hallway screaming and cussing. We called again around 9:30 and around 10 pm my son went downstairs and talked to the front desk clerk. By this time the man was beating on the wall yelling at us and saying all kinds of nasty things. He even stripped down his bedding and dropped it in front of our door along with full beer bottles. The front desk called the police around 10:0 pm and they arrived just before midnight. The couple had left minutes before so nothing was done to the couple. The hotel handled the situation as best as they could without escalating the problem. The police took about an hour and a half to arrive because it wasn't urgent. The hotel gave us our money back and allowed us to cancel our second night without penalty.
I personally just wouldn't stay in a hotel downtown anywhere at this point and time.

Room tip: Get a floor to yourself.
Date of stay: August 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank imanoutdoorgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Veronica Padilla, Guest Services / Front Office at Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2020

Dear valued guest, Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent hotel experience. I am very sorry this unfortunate experience happened during your stay. While I am glad you were taken care of, I understand how upsetting this experience might be. I do want to share that security is very important to us and we take matters like this very seriously and provide training on how to not only handle situations like this, but prevent them from happening as well. Unfortunately, this incident does not seem like it took place at this property. Please feel free to respond to the private message I have sent you and I would happy to help you find the property you stayed at.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2020 via mobile

Started trip to San Diego here. Helpful staff. Fascinating architecture of the hotel. Clean spacious rooms. Definitely recommend staying here. There are stores nearby if you have forgotten to bring anything. Location was good and made it easy to see San Diego.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank nibupt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2020 via mobile

This Marriott is in an old bank building built in 1928. They have preserved the entire lobby in the original imported marble and wood with many elements of the bank and offices that were on the upper floors. If you wish, a bellman will give you a behind the scene tour to show you the vaults and other features. A big shout out to Marriott for preserving this beautiful building, which is registered as an historic site.

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
4  Thank 1sheilas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews