We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Ace Budget Motel(San Diego)
View Hotel
Harvey's Motel(San Diego)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Navajo Lodge(San Diego)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,026)
Filter reviews
1,026 results
Traveller rating
563
347
84
21
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
563
347
84
21
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssan diego state universityel cajon blvdbreakfast roomhard boiled eggsfull kitchenfamily suitebest westernsmake your own wafflesnice poolwaffle makergreat place to stayclean roomsyogurtheated poolthe san diego areahotel staywould definitely stay here again
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
688 - 693 of 1,026 reviews
Reviewed 22 December 2011

I grew up in San Diego, and when I go back to visit friends and family, I stay at the Best Western.
It's centrally located, with easy Freeway access to all of San Diego's activities. Since we like to travel with Rock-It the dog, this is the perfect place dog friendly, and clean. The rooms are large and have all the amenities you want. The Staff is helpful and seem to enjoy helping you. The breakfast is good and the grounds are well kept. This is a great place at a real good price.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NoHoMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lamplighter-InnMgr, Front Office Manager at Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2012

Hey there NoHoMike,

We are glad you and your pal "Rock-it" found our pet friendly Best Western. As you mentioned, many of our guests take advantage of our central location, including our easy access to the "8" freeway which leads you to the world famous dog beach at Ocean Beach. Thank you for taking the time to write this review, and we look forward to your next visit.

Happy Trails, - Len Regan / Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2011

Our overall experience here was very pleasant and I can't say enough nice things about all the staff. In particular the front desk staff were really helpful and always cheerful and polite.

We stayed at the Lamplighter for two full weeks and therefore got a very fair "weekly rate" for a small room but with a complete kitchenette plus the provided continental plus breakfast (which they are in the process of changing). We also found the bed very comfortable and it had a good shower that always had hot water.

The rooms were very clean and well maintained. For our room, the only drawback was that the air conditioner gave off a bit of a musty smell (I didn't notice the same problem in my sister's room - which was also much roomier) however it worked. Our unit had a kitchen window so we could often get some cooler evening air and turn off the air conditioner. When we had a faucet problem in the kitchen, it was repaired within an hour of us reporting it.

A Ralph's was only a few blocks away which made it easy to stock up on food so we could make a lot of our meals.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HeatherDH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lamplighter-InnMgr, Front Office Manager at Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2012

Hello HeatherDH,

We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us, as I you and many guest have found, we are the perfect choice for longer stays, or just a few days. But the full kitchens we have in one third of our rooms are very convenient for families who want to have either a meal or maybe just some snacks after a long day at the many attractions San Diego has to offer.

I apologize for the problem with the air conditioner, we do have a maintainence staff who works hard to stay on top of such things. Please know we take guest comfort very seriously, and will rectify this situation. If your family is back in San Diego again, we hope you will choose to to stay
with us.

Yours in Hospitality, Len Regan / Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2011

The Lamplighter Inn is my "home away from home." When I come down to San Diego for work, I will typically stay here for a couple weeks at a time. The quality of service I have received from Len and the rest of the staff has been exceptional. The room is clean and quiet, and if you need to book a longer stay their weekly rate is a very good value. They even have a nice selection of DVD movies you can check out from the front desk for free. A well-run establishment that is highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lamplighter-InnMgr, Front Office Manager at Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2012

Hello Ryan, Thank you for taking the time to do this review. We do enjoy making guests feel at home, we do appreciate being noticed for this. Now our free to loan DVD library is a source of pride for the entire staff, as the owner and staff collectively came up with the list of titles. These classic standards are a hit with families or even business travelers who need a relaxing break in the evenings. From our entire staff, we look forward to you coming back on many return visits.

Sincerely, Len Regan / Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2011

We enjoyed very much the large suite with the kitchen, but it was a bit too expensive overall.
Breakfast was minimal and crowded (but they are restructuring their breakfast).
There was a strange smell in the room (maybe too old carpets).
Seems like very nice guests, but not much families with small kids.
Overall, next time I may search higher-starred hotel.

Room Tip: choose the ground-level rooms since 2nd floor has no elevators
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ornit G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2011

We stayed here for three weeks while we visited our son,daugher-inlaw and family nearby. The staff (Len, Vanessa) were so very friendly, helpful and efficient for those who want to stay longer term. The grounds are very well kept and beautiful. Rooms were very clean and housekeeping did a very good job. The rooms may be dated a bit but the other attributes out weigh the minor items.

Room Tip: The corner suites represent an excellent value for longer term travelers to San Diego, CA.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carol k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews