We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU
Ranked #42 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Valle de Guadalupe, Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great little hotel!”
Reviewed 27 December 2011

We have been staying at the BW Lamplighter Inn for nearly 10 years, when we visit our kids and grandkids. The staff is attentive and helpful and the owners really keep up with the maintenance. The landscaping is lovely - lots of flowers and much nicer than you would expect for the price. The beds are comfortable and they have nice linens and even comfy feather pillows. The pool is spotless and usually heated and they are dog-friendly too. The only thing lacking for me is a jacuzzi! We are always treated like family and we just love staying at his great little hotel!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annrkatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lamplighter-InnMgr, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU, responded to this review, 15 January 2012
Dear Annrkatz, What can I say but Thank You, not just for this review, but for your kindness and wonderful spirit. We are always happy to see your name show up on a pending arrival. Thanks for the kind words, and the smiles. We look forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely, Len Regan / Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

881 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    476
    301
    77
    19
    8
See reviews for
433
232
57
84
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glendale, California
Level Contributor
170 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2011

I grew up in San Diego, and when I go back to visit friends and family, I stay at the Best Western.
It's centrally located, with easy Freeway access to all of San Diego's activities. Since we like to travel with Rock-It the dog, this is the perfect place dog friendly, and clean. The rooms are large and have all the amenities you want. The Staff is helpful and seem to enjoy helping you. The breakfast is good and the grounds are well kept. This is a great place at a real good price.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NoHoMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lamplighter-InnMgr, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU, responded to this review, 17 January 2012
Hey there NoHoMike,

We are glad you and your pal "Rock-it" found our pet friendly Best Western. As you mentioned, many of our guests take advantage of our central location, including our easy access to the "8" freeway which leads you to the world famous dog beach at Ocean Beach. Thank you for taking the time to write this review, and we look forward to your next visit.

Happy Trails, - Len Regan / Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanaimo
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 December 2011

Our overall experience here was very pleasant and I can't say enough nice things about all the staff. In particular the front desk staff were really helpful and always cheerful and polite.

We stayed at the Lamplighter for two full weeks and therefore got a very fair "weekly rate" for a small room but with a complete kitchenette plus the provided continental plus breakfast (which they are in the process of changing). We also found the bed very comfortable and it had a good shower that always had hot water.

The rooms were very clean and well maintained. For our room, the only drawback was that the air conditioner gave off a bit of a musty smell (I didn't notice the same problem in my sister's room - which was also much roomier) however it worked. Our unit had a kitchen window so we could often get some cooler evening air and turn off the air conditioner. When we had a faucet problem in the kitchen, it was repaired within an hour of us reporting it.

A Ralph's was only a few blocks away which made it easy to stock up on food so we could make a lot of our meals.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeatherDH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lamplighter-InnMgr, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU, responded to this review, 17 January 2012
Hello HeatherDH,

We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us, as I you and many guest have found, we are the perfect choice for longer stays, or just a few days. But the full kitchens we have in one third of our rooms are very convenient for families who want to have either a meal or maybe just some snacks after a long day at the many attractions San Diego has to offer.

I apologize for the problem with the air conditioner, we do have a maintainence staff who works hard to stay on top of such things. Please know we take guest comfort very seriously, and will rectify this situation. If your family is back in San Diego again, we hope you will choose to to stay
with us.

Yours in Hospitality, Len Regan / Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed 21 December 2011

The Lamplighter Inn is my "home away from home." When I come down to San Diego for work, I will typically stay here for a couple weeks at a time. The quality of service I have received from Len and the rest of the staff has been exceptional. The room is clean and quiet, and if you need to book a longer stay their weekly rate is a very good value. They even have a nice selection of DVD movies you can check out from the front desk for free. A well-run establishment that is highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lamplighter-InnMgr, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU, responded to this review, 17 January 2012
Hello Ryan, Thank you for taking the time to do this review. We do enjoy making guests feel at home, we do appreciate being noticed for this. Now our free to loan DVD library is a source of pride for the entire staff, as the owner and staff collectively came up with the list of titles. These classic standards are a hit with families or even business travelers who need a relaxing break in the evenings. From our entire staff, we look forward to you coming back on many return visits.

Sincerely, Len Regan / Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2011

We enjoyed very much the large suite with the kitchen, but it was a bit too expensive overall.
Breakfast was minimal and crowded (but they are restructuring their breakfast).
There was a strange smell in the room (maybe too old carpets).
Seems like very nice guests, but not much families with small kids.
Overall, next time I may search higher-starred hotel.

Room Tip: choose the ground-level rooms since 2nd floor has no elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ornit G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Old Town Inn
#19 of 279 in San Diego
1,804 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#38 of 279 in San Diego
1,958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
BEST WESTERN Mission Bay
#94 of 279 in San Diego
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU

Property: BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU
Address: 6474 El Cajon Blvd., San Diego, CA 92115
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#27 Family Hotel in San Diego
#45 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#84 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites (a AAA 2-diamond hotel) is conveniently located 3/4 miles from San Diego State University, and only 15 minutes from Downtown, the San Diego Zoo and Balboa Park. Many of the rooms include kitchen facilities, making this the ideal place for an extended stay. Amenities include: complimentary expanded continental breakfast, free Wi-Fi and parking, and heated outdoor pool, Children 12 and under stay free. Pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelQuickly and Ebookers so you can book your BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lamplighter Inn And Suites At Sdsu Hotel San Diego
Best Western Lamplighter Hotel
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing