We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service = Excellent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North
Ranked #52 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 February 2012

We expected the hotel to be clean and with all the amenities of a recognized establishment. The Country Inns and Suites in San Diego exceeded those expectations. However, what really made our stay a great experience was the excellent service provided by John Holmes in the front desk. Mr. Holmes assisted us with a last minute reservation, made sure that our specific needs were met, and that our party was staying in rooms within the proximity of each other. The extra perks of being Club Carlson members added to our experience: room upgrades, welcome kits, free wi-fi, and a complimentary breakfast. I strongly recommend this hotel if you are staying in San Diego. My family and I will be returning in the near future.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors facing South have a great view with less buildings obstructing. Rooms facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hector R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (986)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

808 - 812 of 986 reviews

Reviewed 14 February 2012

There simply isn't anything negative to report. The room was spotless. The room was quiet. The room was reasonably priced. The breakfast was excellent. Parking was plentiful and free. I left a $5 tip for the housekeeping staff.

The location, in a business park dominated by Qualcomm buildings (Qualcomm is a major high-technology company), is not near any major San Diego attractions, but that's OK. Unless it's rush hour, you can be in downtown San Diego, Sea World, La Jolla, or Del Mar in about 20 minutes. You will, however, need a car; I wouldn't try to get there by public transportation.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mtnbiker2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2012

Stayed at this hotel as my base camp for a business trip. Excellent location. About a fifteen minute drive to the airport in San Diego without traffic.

Ample parking. Nicely appointed lobby. Friendly front desk staff. Check-in was a breeze. The room was very nice and CLEAN! Plenty of space to spread out. Nice flat screen tv with HBO. Big, comfortable bed. Lots of pillows. Alarm clock/radio. New iron and ironing board. Refrigerator. Lots of outlets for all my rechargers (cell phone, iPad, blue tooth, etc). Great breakfast buffet. Coffee is always available in the lobby. Nothing went wrong.

Restaurant and bar open until 10 pm. If you want to eat or drink later, walk across the parking lot to the Chili's restaurant.

Would definitely stay here again for business, or pleasure if returning to the area.

Room Tip: My room was on the third floor at the back of the hotel. This gave me a view of the roof of a nearby...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cuffemdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2012

Country Inn and Suites have a really good product. This is our second stay at one and I'm going to be looking for more whenever we stay away from home. This is about an 8 minute drive off the 805 fwy. Lots of parking, big rooms, quiet area with no traffic noise. There's a Chili's in the next parking lot over. Breakfast, which is included in the room rate, was very well presented, re-stocked while we sitting sipping our coffee. There were service people who were available to remove dirty dishes as we finished, but without being pushy about it. Outside of the breakfast room, was a patio area which was also available, but too cold at this time of year. Breakfast choices included lots of hot items, eggs, bacon, waffles, potatoes, hot oatmeal. There were several fruit choices and cereal. Solid choice for the area...

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alastairdeacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

I have stayed, in many, many Hotels in and around the San Diego area, and I was pleased to find this County Inn.

The staff is exceptional. And, that includes all of the Reception, Housekeeping, as well as the Restaurant and Bar personnel at this Best Value, and exceptional Hotel. The location (adjoining the Qualcom headquarters area) in a superb location, allowing one to "dart" in, out and around San Diego and North County.

Rooms are well appointed, and exceptionally clean. The breakfast buffet is very well prepared and presented. And, then there are the fresh baked, Otis Spunkmeyer cookies in the reception area at 5PM, as well as complimentary coffee and fresh fruit throughout the day and evening. .

The overall hospitality is contiguous.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
4.0 km away
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar
4.0 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar
0.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 km away
Radisson Hotel San Diego - Rancho Bernardo
8.5 km away
Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa
17.8 km away
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego/Rancho Bernardo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North

Address: 5975 Lusk Blvd, San Diego, CA 92121-2781
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#14 Family Hotel in San Diego
#25 Business Hotel in San Diego
#26 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: €101 - €174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inns & Suites By Carlson Hotel San Diego
Country Inns And Suites By Carlson
Country Inn San Diego
San Diego Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing