We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$178
View deal
Priceline
US$178
View deal
Trip.com
US$180
US$150
View deal
SAVE US$30
Free cancellation until 20/04/21
Hotels.comUS$178
Expedia.comUS$178
Agoda.comUS$180
View all 17 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,168)
Filter reviews
1,168 results
Traveller rating
645
339
105
47
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
645
339
105
47
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shraddha carlin horton plaza gaslamp district beautiful hotel rooftop pool rooms are large trolley stop street noise light sleeper balboa park mini fridge fitness center concierge lobby parking valet horn
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
125 - 130 of 1,168 reviews
Reviewed 21 May 2018

This is the place to stay in San Diego. Beautiful hotel in a perfect location. I walked to almost everything I wanted to see. Surrounded by great restaurants and just across the street from a shopping mall. The decor is lovely and the fresh flowers add such an elegant touch. Clean, quiet--I can't imagine staying anywhere else in San Diego.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank blessedfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beatriz K, Front Office Manager at The Westgate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2018

Dear blessedfam, thank you very much for your kind review. We are happy that you had an enjoyable stay and hope to have the pleasure to have you back soon. Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2018 via mobile

Really nice hotel- friendly staff, clean interior. Rooms are big! I appreciated the welcome gift they provided.

Balconies in every room. Nice view of the city. I’d definitely stay here again.

As other reviews state, the walls are definitely thin. You can overhear a lot of the outside noise so if you’re looking to get some rest during the day, headphones help.—- but FYI this is not a reason to skip this hotel!

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank CLEGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeatrizK176, Front Office Manager at The Westgate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2018

Dear CLEGo, Thank you very much for your review. We appreciate you taking the time to leave your comments. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. We hope to have the pleasure to have you back soon. Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2018 via mobile

During the past four years traveling on business to the great city of San Diego, sometimes twice or even three times a month, been at different hotels all over the city even at the old town. The main hotel building with an adjacent builduing totally dedicated to the enjoyment and fitness of the body. With one of the most complete gyms in the entire San Diego county and probably the best hotel gym in the entire California peninsula. Four floors composed of a personal SPA, the greatest Gym in the hotel industry and an outdoors lapse pool with a walking/running Track around the pool to make you feel more at ease with the safety of the outdoors elements without the uncomfort of the rest of the population and traffic of the city.

What a great Hotel and experience at this magnificent Hotel!!!

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank sjose1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beatriz K, Front Office Manager at The Westgate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2018

Dear sjose1967, Thank you very much for your kind review. We are happy to read you had a good experience and enjoyed our spa and gym AquaVie. We hope to have the pleasure and honor to serve you again in many future stays! Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2018 via mobile

Love one a hotel and it's staff know the meaning of true customer service. Great stay, great location near everything in downtown San Diego. Auqa Vie, the gym and spa is tremendous. First class and a great little health food restaurant right next store. Shout out to Grabbagreen. Just a great trip all around.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Jeff F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beatriz K, Front Office Manager at The Westgate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2018

Dear Jeff, Thank you for being our guest and taking the time to write this kind review. We are pleased to know you had a good experience and enjoyed our spa and gym AquaVie. We hope to have you back soon. Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2018 via mobile

We booked the Westgate through Priceline and did not know what a treat we were in for at this nice hotel. As locals we’d never heard anything about the Westgate, but we were pleasantly surprised with the beautiful lobby, huge rooms, comfy beds, large bathroom, and wonderful balcony. The pool deck was also great, with couches to sit at while at the pool.
The only complaint we had was there was no ice maker and you had to call for ice, which could take awhile when the hotel is busy. But overall we had a great stay! Would definitely go back.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank bopqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beatriz K, Front Office Manager at The Westgate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2018

Dear bopqueen, Thank you for your kind review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your room and the pool at our spa and gym AquaVie. Since you are a local, we hope to have the honor to serve you again soon on many more future “staycations”. Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews