We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
BestWestern.comUS$123
FindHotelUS$123
HurbUS$125
PricelineUS$123
Hotels.comUS$123
travelup.comUS$151
View all 17 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (804)
Filter reviews
804 results
Traveller rating
234
300
160
54
56
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
234
300
160
54
56
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea world free breakfast room was clean easy access nice place to stay would stay here again old town short drive balboa park the san diego area la jolla motel freeway seaworld microwave parking downtown
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 804 reviews
Reviewed 8 February 2021

When I pulled in I should have trusted my gut and pulled out. Rooms were dated and dirty. Floor had not been vacuumed. Walked by two cleaning g ladies with carts who were cleaning rooms without masks. The lamp shade between our beds had a brown yellow stain on one entire side of it. Remote controls should be sanitized and sealed in plastic but they were not. Shower curtain was moldy. Paint was flaking off the bathroom door because ventilation is so bad. My sheets had a hole in them. Walls are paper thin and you can hear people all night coming in and out. This place was just plain disgusting.

Date of stay: February 2021
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesse Duenas, Guest Services / Front Office at Best Western Mission Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2021

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2020

When pulling into the property seems like an average hotel. Roo.s are clean and its very quiet which surprised me. The staff were amazing. Everyone I dealt with had a great attitude. They are pet friendly.

Date of stay: December 2020
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank jnnfrr2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesse Duenas, Guest Services / Front Office at Best Western Mission Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2021

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate the feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2020

Our whole room smelled like someone had been smoking cigarettes in the room or cat pee we couldn’t tell, carpet was nasty, but did have nice location. I felt nauseous from the smell the whole time in the room.

Date of stay: November 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Emilyehow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesse Duenas, Guest Services / Front Office at Best Western Mission Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2020

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. Please contact the hotel to provide us with more information.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2020

Enjoyed my time here at the Best Western at Mission Bay. Everyone was very friendly and the rooms are really clean as well. Location is right off the 5 freeway and next to Mission Bay. Great value for location and price too... I will definitely stay here again!

Date of stay: November 2020
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank sandiegolive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesse Duenas, Guest Services / Front Office at Best Western Mission Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2020

Thank you. We appreciate the feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2020

I'm very sorry but as a Best Western rewards member I feel compelled to review what little experience I had at this motel.

The man at the front desk was very nice, although he wore his mask below his nose while I checked in with my children, which, as a nurse, irritates me.

The parking lot was crowded, we couldn't park at all near the elevator and since we had booked a 3-night stay we had a bit to carry up to our third floor room.

There were a few men sitting scattered around the parking lot with cases of beer next to them, staring at my little kids and me during our every move. It felt creepy and a little threatening.

The room next to ours had its door open and the couple inside were smoking I'm not sure what and playing their music very loud.

When we got in our room it felt old and dirty and the bathroom sink wouldn't drain. For over $150/night it was really a horrible deal.

I called Best Western and the motel let us immediately check out, refunding the 3 nights I had paid. For this I am immensely grateful.

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Verbeaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesse Duenas, Guest Services / Front Office at Best Western Mission Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2020

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.We will speak to all of our team members to make sure they are all following proper COVID precautions. We will also discuss adding security to ensure the safety of our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews