We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Standard Express”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport - Old Town
Ranked #39 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Standard Express”
Reviewed 7 January 2012

The hotel was nothing special, considering that the rate was pretty close to much better hotels in downtown, I would not choose it again. The convenience was the airport shuttle and the breakfast (again standard at other Holiday Inn Express).

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marconap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,087 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    564
    334
    120
    42
    27
See reviews for
400
270
70
202
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fredericton
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

We spent 2 nights in San diego and wish they both nights had been at this hotel. The rooms were clean, well appointed and had comfortable beds. The hot tub and heated outdoor pool were nice bonuses in the cool weather. However the real stand out at this hotel is the staff!!!

Everyone of the staff went above and beyond to ensure our stay was the best possible. The shuttle driver even took us to the pharmacy and waited while we picked up a few things. He showed us an amazing view of downtown San Diego and stopped to let us take photos.

I almost don't want to write a good review for the property because then everyone will stay here and the next time I visit San Diego I won't be able to get a room! Yes, it's that good!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the pool side to avoid freeway noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zedsmummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caledonia, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

This hotel was exactly as expected it met our needs and wasn't too expensive. We got one goody bag when we checked in (bottle of water and small bag of Doritos) but it would have been nice to have one for each guest as we have gotten elsewhere. It has a reasonable free breakfast (although they need to adjust the size on the pancake machine-too tiny!), clean rooms with comfortable beds, free wi-fi and parking and friendly staff. It is a little noisy between the rooms (halls, walls?) and close to the freeway (didn't really bother me but might bug a light sleeper). Great location close to the airport, Old Town and Sea World is about 5 min. Holiday Inn Express doesn't usually let me down and this was no exception!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brantosl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

We had a wonderful stay at HIX Old Town. The room was lovely and clean and surprisingly quiet, given its close proximity to the Highway/Airport. The staff were very friendly and extremely helpful. There is a free shuttle bus to the main attractions (ie Seaworld, Old Town, MSS Midway). There is also plenty of parking for your vehicle.. Old Town is within walking distance (about 5 - 10 minutes) and there are some excellent restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beno1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redlands, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2011

This is a great hotel. The management and team are great to work with and will to help when needed. I will stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank olovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Old Town
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Old Town / Airport
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Hotel Circle - San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Old Town / SeaWorld Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport - Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport - Old Town

Property: Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport - Old Town
Address: 1955 San Diego Ave, San Diego, CA 92110-2105 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#73 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#93 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport - Old Town 2.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport - Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport - Old Town Hotel San Diego
Comfort Inn San Diego
San Diego Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Old Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing