We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and clean for short stay; spotty free wi-fi, but reasonably priced for SD”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites Zoo / SeaWorld Area
Ranked #175 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Reviewed 27 January 2012

Free wi-fi is very spotty from the top floor/4th-floor area.

No hot water in the beginning (20 minutes running the shower). Maintenance man came and ran the water for a long time and mentioned that it takes longer for the hot water to run up the pipes up to the fourth floor. Issue resolved promptly and appreciated that.

Breakfast is mostly cold. Hot fare consists of instant oatmeal, some eggs sausage, and make your own waffles. Sufficient for a free amenity. Breakfast room will be crowded, esp. on weekends.

Rooms appear remodeled and refurbished. We booked a king room, but were upgraded to a suite due to overbooking of king rooms. Very spacious and only some hallway noise, but never heard adjacent rooms until we exited the room and could hear our neighbors. A surprise. Pillows are very square/small, but beds were clean and comfortable.

Parking fee of $8.95. While there is free street parking, as others noted, it gets crowded, as there's another motel across the street. This secured covered parking fee is inexpensive for an urban city in CA. Average parking rates in LA, San Francisco, and even San Diego would easily be $15-30 per day.

John at check-in was pleasant and nice. Recommend for families, but also for solo or couples of all ages traveling with a car when it's off-peak season. I'd imagine during summer, the hotel might be even more crowded.

Room Tip: Top floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank radfahrenfaireduvelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortInnZooGM, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Zoo / SeaWorld Area, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2012

Dear bikinghiking123 I am sorry to hear about the issues you experienced while staying with us. John is definately a very amicable front office supervisor.I am glad that our rooms met and it seems exceeded your expectations. Juan Alarid Assistant General Manager Comfort Inn and Suites Zoo SeaWorld Area

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (895)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

588 - 592 of 897 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2012

I chose Comfort Inn and Suites based off of the TripAdvisor reviews and, once again, it was the right decision. The hotel was perfect for the price. We had the bunkbed suite which included the microwave and refrigerator and 2 tv's. We were on the 4th floor facing the pool and did not hear any hotel noise the entire night. The pool and hot tub area were clean and fully stocked with towels and well-maintained lounge chairs. Christian checked us in and he was very pleasant and accomodating! Breakfast was perfect for 2 small kids and 2 healthy parents. The parents ate fruit and hard-boiled eggs and the kids munched on the bagels, cereal, muffins, and waffles made to order. The staff was constantly stocking the breakfast area so there's was plenty of everything to eat. We definitely plan on staying here again!

Room Tip: Don't pay for parking. There's plenty of parking on the side street with plenty of lighting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lisa_Utah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortInnZooGM, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Zoo / SeaWorld Area, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2012

I am glad you enjoyed your stay at The Comfort Inn and Suites, we strive to make each guest stay enjoyable.Christian is definately a pleasure and I am happy that he was able to get your vacation started off on the right foot. Juan Alarid Assistant General Manager Comfort Inn and Suites Zoo SeaWorld Area

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

great place to spend a nite close to oldtown ,seaworld and the zoo and while you are at the zoo balboa park is is also great they have a great train ride and fantastic merry go round the hotel very clean and the service was great and so was the free hot breakfest didnot get to phills bbq it was closed for remod i have to try it out the next time! bbq is favoriate food!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vw1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortInnZooGM, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Zoo / SeaWorld Area, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2012

I am truly happy to hear that you enjoyed your time in San Diego and at our hotel. Phils' BBQ is a definate place not to miss next time you are in San Diego. Juan Alarid Assistant General Manager Comfort Inn and Suites Zoo SeaWorld Area

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2012

This is not a horrible "must avoid" motel -- and I might have given them a "3 star" average rating. But look at the attached photo of the sofabed that was in my room: I don't think I've ever seen a piece of furniture in sorrier shape in a major US motel chain. The sofa covering was literally peeling away, and obviously had been for some time.

Otherwise, the hotel is slightly below average for a Comfort Inn. My "6 person" room was small, with the two regular beds and softabed wedged into a tiny space. There was some hair in the shower tub when I turned on the water. The breakfast spread was slightly larger than most Comfort Inns, but somehow the quality was lower. Eggs and sausage patties were cold, and the bread products were tasteless. OJ was undrinkably syrupy. Somehow, even the make-your-own waffles were rubbery and worse than normal. So I guess you can say I left with a bad taste in my mouth. :)

On a positive note, the pool area looked above average for a Comfort Inn, and the front desk staff was pleasant.

A GPS is helpful in finding this hotel as there are two Comfort Inns on Hotel Circle, less than a half mile from each other. So the GPS led me to the right one. Obviously, Hotel Circle is in a busy, highway-surrounded area, but it's convenient to most destinations in San Diego and I did not find the noise to be objectionable.

As others have noted, there's a crazy parking charge (about $9) at the hotel. Unless you're driving a Ferrari or something similar, it is very easily avoided by using the ample on street parking in front of the hotel. It looked as safe as street parking anywhere, and many guests had chosen this option.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave's_reviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortInnZooGM, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Zoo / SeaWorld Area, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2012

I am truly sorry we did not meet your expectations. We strive to make all of our guests' experience positive and it seems we failed. Please accept my apologies. I am pleased however to announce the long awaited arrival of our brand new sofa beds. Juan Alarid Assistant General Manager Comfort Inn and Suites Zoo SeaWorld Area

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

I needed a room to spend the night in on short notice and David at the front desk helped me get a comfortable bed with a nice hot breakfast. David was helpful as can be, he even set up a taxi service for me. If you are on the go and need a quick stop, the perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortInnZooGM, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Zoo / SeaWorld Area, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2012

I am glad to hear that David was so helpful, and I know he will be excited that you commented about him. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope you will return soon!
Sincerely,
April Risk, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego SeaWorld/Zoo Area
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Quality Suites San Diego SeaWorld Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hampton Inn San Diego/Mission Valley
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#26 of 278 in San Diego
2,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites Zoo / SeaWorld Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites Zoo / SeaWorld Area

Address: 2485 Hotel Circle Pl, San Diego, CA 92108-2813
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#64 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: €72 - €129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites Zoo / SeaWorld Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether it's for a family vacation, a romantic getaway or when you're traveling on business, you can’t beat the friendly service and comfortable accommodations offered at the Comfort Inn & Suites Zoo/SeaWorld. This Choice Hotels’ Gold Hospitality Award winner offers a convenient location, excellent service and extra amenities, all backed by our Signature Guarantee. -Located on San Diego’s famous Hotel Circle, 5 minutes to SeaWorld, Zoo, Downtown and San Diego’s world-famous beaches -Five minutes from the new Riverwalk Golf Course and Mission and Fashion Valley Malls -Free deluxe breakfast buffet includes an assortment of pastries and muffins, toast, fresh fruit, choice of hot and cold cereals with milk, espresso, coffee, tea and a variety of juices. -Winner of Choice Hotels’ Gold Hospitality Award recognizing exceptional service, facilities and hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites Zoo / SeaWorld Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn & Suites Zoo / Seaworld Area Hotel San Diego
Comfort Inn And Suites Zoo / Seaworld Area
Comfort Inn Hotel Zoo
San Diego Comfort Inn Suites Zoo
Comfort Inn San Diego Zoo
Comfort Inn Suite Zoo Sea World

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing