We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Carmel Mountain Ranch
Ranked #4 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
little elm tx
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“BEST OF THE BEST”
Reviewed 8 February 2012

This is a beautiful, little gem of a hotel with spacious, clean, comfy rooms. We've been treated like valued guests thru the entire stay. Our 2nd floor room looks out over the pool and hillsides of San Diego. Despite being conveniently close to highway 15, it's quiet and calm. The heated pool is very well maintained and offers a lovely place to sun. The firepit next to it is so comfy and enjoyable. I can't say enough good about the management and housekeeping. And the breakfasts and evening snacks are delightful. We travel about 200 days a year, and this hotel is the best we've stayed at EVER. To say we highly recommend it is an understatement. The hotel is delightful...but it's the staff that makes it a great place to be!

Room Tip: The second floor or above are quieter and offer a better view. Also, first floor rooms in the middl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luvabulldog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    390
    119
    26
    8
    4
See reviews for
189
57
21
213
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clifton Park, New York
Level Contributor
117 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. The suite was wonderful and luxurious. From the photographs it seems there is varying quality to the suites, so I would stipulate 'newly renovated' The breakfast was good and evening snack time a wonderful addition to the value of our stay. My daughter loved the pool and so nice to have to fill the time between coming back from a day out of exploring San Diego and bath and bed time for her. Our experience was very positive. The only thing worthwhile to mention is the property's proximity to attractions since it is not 'centrally' located - what ever that means for San Diego - I have nothing else to compare it with. I would recommend this property.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NatalieF101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We chose this hotel to celebrate christmas with our relatives down the road, and were very happy we did! Our room - it was more a one bedroom apt- was really cute. There was a full size refrigerator with a WORKING ice maker (bliss!), a two burner stove, microwave, and even complimentary coffee, tea and popcorn. Cupboards had everything needed for a meal, pans, utensial, wine opener, wine glasses, etc.

Bath was nice. One door from the living area and another from the bedroom.

Bed linens were really nice, though the bed was a bit soft.

Pool area looked nice, but it wasn't pool weather.

They were painting all the buildings, and warned us on one day that there might be painters outside in the afternoon, so to close the drapes.

Breakfast was nice...the DIY belgian waffles were wonderful!

Front desk people were friendly and very helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for one near an elevator. There are numerous buildings, and sometimes they share elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anntoinette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
104 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2011

We have a bit of experience with Residence Inns and this appears to be an earlier version of the separate-building, apartment-style version of the brand. The lobby is smaller than most of this type, but hey, you aren't there to sit in the lobby, right? The staff was friendly, efficient and professional, from front desk through to housekeeping.

The business center is basically a computer on a shelf with a b + w printer, next to the convenience center coolers. The breakfast area/lounge was claustrophobically crowded on this holiday week, but the Russian woman who takes care of the area kept everything clear and food available.

We had a one-bedroom queen bed unit. It seemed to have been recently redecorated in a very pleasing Tuscan red, greyish green, and cream color scheme, but sadly there really was no place to lay a suitcase out for a short stay. We might have been able to get a luggage rack from the desk, but made do by placing one case in the living room. Overall the bedroom was a bit tight. The mattress seemed a little soft to us; we have had wonderful sleeps at other Marriott Residence Inns.

The bathroom was nicely done but we had to stop using the fan/light combination by the tub since the fan was extremely loud. The living area features a sort of fainting couch and desk, with an ottoman for extra seating. For a single long-term stay user, probably sufficient.

The kitchenette is a fairly normal setup with a two-burner stove and microwave, a tiny dishwasher, and fridge. It would be nice if they also provided manual dishwashing soap so that the entire dishwasher doesn't have to be used for a few cups and glasses.

The exterior space by the pool and tennis court was very pleasant and shaded, with excellent and comfortable seating, with a barbecue grille available to use.

The hotel is in a shopping center across from a couple others, and just a half-block or so from the 15 freeway, so it's very conveniently located for travel and business use. You can walk to Olive Garden, Carl Jr's, and a couple other eateries, and there's a gas station just across the parking lot.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lietuva_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Excellent stay overall! I highly recommend this hotel over many residence inns stateside. The hospitality was second to none and extremely accommodating. Happy hour 3 nights per week was superb with chilled wine, beer and great selection of side foods.

Room Tip: Rooms with fireplace and kitchenette, lower level near the outside gas grill
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
877 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
1,979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Courtyard San Diego Central
#10 of 279 in San Diego
638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Carmel Mountain Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Carmel Mountain Ranch

Property: Residence Inn San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Carmel Mountain Ranch
Address: 11002 Rancho Carmel Dr, San Diego, CA 92128-4288
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Carmel Mountain Ranch 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Carmel Mountain Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn San Diego Rancho Bernardo / Carmel Mountain Ranch Hotel San Diego
San Diego Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing