We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station
Ranked #10 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 February 2012

I stayed there for 4 days with my family in a 2-bedroom suite. The room was very clean and well equipped. It is just a few minutes from the airport, and since we got in late at night, we were in our beds in no time.

The staff is amiable and you get all you can expect from a Homewood Suites.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PanamaPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,656)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,295 - 1,299 of 1,656 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2012

Great location right by the airport. We weren't bothered by airport noise. Liberty Station has playgrounds for the kids, open space and walking paths, plus a great variety of restaurants all within walking distance. We walked to Ikiru sushi at night and felt perfectly safe.

We booked a two-bed/two-bath suite that included a fully stocked kitchen (and three flat-screen TVs). This was very comfortable for our family of five, with one child on the sofa bed.

The complimentary breakfast featured the usual choices, including make it yourself waffles. I really appreciated the hot-at-all-hours coffee bar, and my family enjoyed the billiards table and the swimming pool. I wasn't able to connect to the wifi in our room, but I ducked into the business center for a quick website check.

The manager, Dell, was able to give us a 2pm check out time, which allowed us time to have a late-morning swim and enjoy our left-over teriyaki beef/chicken in our room with some extras from Trader Joe's.

Some guests use the hotel for long-term stays. I think it would be very comfortable as temporary quarters.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank miriamoly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

There's a lot of positive things about this place.

First is location -- it's extremely convenient to the airport and most of the attractions as well. There is also a Trader Joes and Vons within less than a half mile -- almost walking distance. The location on the esplanade park and walkway is wonderful, with bayfront/estuary views and a huge walking/biking pathway right outside the door and a huge park there too. Its in a quiet safe neighborhood with the only sound disturbances being the planes taking off, because of the proximity to the airport.

The rooms have a nice almost full kitchen -- full size fridge, dishwasher, microwave, 2 burner range and no oven. There is a nice large granite type counter area that is very convenient for food preparation and a small dining table with 2 chairs in our one bedroom unit. There's a nice little balcony with one chair on it -- for a little reading or coffee in the sunshine. There are two LG flatscreen TVs -- one in the living room and one in the bedroom that are quite adequate. The fold out couch in the living room is smallish and the cushions are showing some age related compression, but it was still comfortable. There's a worktable with ergonomic chair and easy web access stuff and outlets that are efficient and comfortable. The bed linens are soft and comfortable, there are a wide variety of pillows available. The toilet paper is Cottonelle -- so it's nice and soft, not the single ply sandpaper stuff that many places are trying to offer now, and the toiletries are very nice Neutrogena products.

The business center computers are antiquated and slow and pretty much only useful for printing out boarding passes. The laundry is large and bright with plenty of machines that are modern and do a good job. My husband enjoyed the exercise equipment that included a treadmill, elliptical, stationary bike, free weights and a weight machine - drinking fountains and a TV were available in the workout room.

The gardens and outdoor areas were extensive, well landscaped and maintained.. There was quite a variety of outdoor seating available, with many areas having gas fireplaces in the seating areas. There were several outdoor grills available for guest use that were modern, clean and ready to go.
The breakfast and dinner offerings are adequate - but not gourmet. You get hot filling food, but it's just kind of average. Standard make your own waffles, bagels, english muffins, etc, - three "hot offerings" which usually are eggs, sausage and tater tots -- the best of which is the tater tots, and a fruit and yogurt bar that has canned peaches, canned mandarins, cottage cheese and yogurt, and some fresh melon chunks. Evening offerings are a nice enough salad bar, and a hot offering that has been during our stay - edible, but mostly because it's included. There's drinkable wine and beer and with the nice pool table and fireplace area, it offers a nice opportunity to unwind after the day.
I found the staff to be friendly and responsive, even when our flight was delayed. The cleaning staff is polite, unobtrusive and efficient.
The hotel offers very good rates, with nice discounts for government and AAA and they participate in the HH points program. It is a family oriented hotel, so there will be kids at breakfast, in the pool, etc.... and, of course, their behavior is up to their parents ... but we had no problem with noise.
Overall - the best place to stay in SanDiego if you're not looking for night life, excitement etc. If you want a great convenient location, nice facilities, large room, kitchen facilities, and the open air experience -- with just a few minutes to the zoo, SeaWorld, Balboa park, airport and downtown -- no parking fees, no internet fees, and a safe place where you and your kids can stretch out and run around.... This one's got it!!!

Room Tip: Use your HH rewards site to make requests or go the Homewood Suites site where you can actually pic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ktheider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

This was an ideal place for our San Diego vacation. The hotel is in a beautifully developed small mixed residential/cultural/small business neighborhood that was formerly a naval training station. You are in the city without the noise and traffic of an urban area. Many amenities within easy (1/2 mile) walking distance, including a great little supermarket (Von's); a good selection of restaurants, cafes. Everything else we wanted to do--Zoo, Balboa Park, Coronado, beaches--was in easy (10-15 min) driving distance.

We had a king suite in the south building, facing the water, with a small balcony. I'd highly recommend the latter two options. There are two L shaped buildings--the north building surrounds the pool and the south building the basketball court. Suite was beautiful, large, very clean, nicely decorated, with an open plan, overlooking the boat channel and walking path. There is a large outdoor terrace at each building. The laundry was a welcome amenity and had front & top loading washer options.

Our room was quiet and we were never bothered by noise from other guests or rooms on either side. Yes, there are planes overhead, but we did not find this an issue at the hotel. There are a LOT of planes in San Diego, and we found everywhere we went, every beach, every park, every attraction, had planes overhead.

Some great things I didn't expect--there is a (free!) shopping service....just fill out a slip with what you need & hotel staff will pick it up. The evening 'receptions' (M-Th) were full dinners (we enjoyed chicken teriyaki; roast chicken; taco night--skipped the salisbury steak night) and surprisingly good. The breakfast was a cut above the usual hotel fare in both quality and quantity. My daughter, a hotel waffle connoisseur, found the 'make your own' here the best she's had.

Staff was unfailingly wonderful. Everyone we encountered had a pleasant greeting. Everyone seemed happy and all were helpful, from the shuttle driver to housekeeping and everyone in between. If you have any forgotten necessities, the front desk will send them up free of charge (we forgot to pack a razor; they brought up some with a small can of shave cream, gratis, even though you could buy similar items in their small pantry/store). The attention to our comfort and overall friendliness were outstanding and really helped make our stay an outstanding experience.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank painted_daisies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DJMAC21, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2012

Thank You choosing Homewood Suites Liberty Station and bestowing us with five stars, our goal is to consistently provide superior service and accommodations. Your comments are very important and will be shared with the staff.


Kind Regards and Safe Travels,
Homewood Suites Liberty Station Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

This was our second stay at Homewood Suites Liberty Station. Will always stay here while in San Diego. Everything was great, so good that the other than in the dining room for dinner and breakfast, I did not see the staff at all. No problems, spent about 10 seconds at the front desk to pick up keys, 5 seconds to check out! Great location, convenient to downtown and other attractions. Clean comfortable room with lots of space. Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tgr415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 278 in San Diego
2,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station

Address: 2576 Laning Road, San Diego, CA 92106-6418
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in San Diego
#5 Family Hotel in San Diego
#41 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: €158 - €266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites San Diego Airport - Liberty Station Hotel San Diego
Homewood Suites Liberty Station
Homewood San Diego
San Diego Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing