We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Hotel Close to Gaslamp District”
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Sofia Hotel
Ranked #76 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Reviewed 9 December 2017

I was in town for 5 days for a bridge tournament. The Sofia Hotel was a perfect respite - extremely welcoming staff and a quiet and tranquil atmosphere. The room and hotel were very clean and comfortable, and the king sized bed was incredible. The housekeeping staff was wonderful and kept the room well stocked with nice lotion and other toiletries. There are so many great restaurants in San Diego that I wasn't sure I'd try the attached restaurant Currant, but one night we were too tired to go out and ordered from the restaurant to go. The food was surprisingly good (burger and croque monsieur), and I think I should have tried them for breakfast also! Overall, if you are looking for a relaxing and comfortable hotel in San Diego you can't go wrong with The Sofia Hotel. I will return!

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank gerbera222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,474)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

35 - 39 of 1,475 reviews

Reviewed 6 December 2017

Small, quaint but with excellent service. Centrally located and convenient to downtown attractions. Independently owned bar in the hotel was convenient in the afternoon. Gas Lamp District nearby. Only a short walk to the train station and the waterfront.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmarshal13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2017

The Sophia is a wonderful hotel which is clean, quiet, and centrally located. I recommend it highly. It is a very nice hotel with a very accommodating staff. I also enjoyed the free yoga class and walking tour. Prices are also reasonable.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WilliamNe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for three nights with my husband and toddler while visiting family and friends in San Diego. We checked in about nine or ten pm due to traffic. The lady who checked us in was very matter of fact, no small talk or chitchat, once she was done with her spiel she let us go. Take note that they will do a hold on your card worth $150 for 'just in case' and when you check out you will be charged a guest services fee at I think $12.99 per night if am not mistaken. We paid around $41 for the three nights.

Breakfast not included in the room. But a Coffee Bean is right below.

We had a nice street view showing the marquee of some theater down the street. Location is fantastic as the Westfield Horton is about two blocks down.

Staff don't greet guests when they pass by. No warmth whatsoever which I found strange as they work in the Hospitality industry. Front desk staff were preoccupied chatting with each other which I noticed the few times we went in and out of the hotel.

Sleep quality is good and cleanliness also good. Toiletries included for the price. Two water bottles daily.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank starfish2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2017

I have stayed for 3 nights as a solo traveler. First of all location is great if you want to use public transportation. Many close bus and tram stops nearly everywhere in San Diego. The bus stop for 992 from and to airport is just in front of the Hotel and train station for Amtrak is in 10 minutes walk or one bus stop away from Hotel. The fifth street which is famous with restaurants so close. Cleaning and all the other service were very good. I had a safe box problem but they have changed the room immediately. It is a little bit old hotel with old furnitures and walls were not very sound proof. These are my only negative comments and were not a very big deal for me. Other than that I can strongly recommend this Hotel especially if you want to enjoy San Diego without a car.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank islmlty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
The Bristol Hotel - A Greystone Hotel
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
#115 of 286 in San Diego
2,882 reviews
Downtown
Urban Boutique Hotel
Urban Boutique Hotel
#54 of 286 in San Diego
763 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#42 of 286 in San Diego
2,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sofia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sofia Hotel

Address: 150 West Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101-3811
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Business Hotel in San Diego
#59 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: €130 - €319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Sofia Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of San Diego, The Sofia Hotel offers luxurious accommodations to please every taste. Whether you are traveling for business or pleasure, you will indulge in an unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Expedia, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Sofia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofia Hotel San Diego
Sofia San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing