We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Island Inn
Nearby Hotels
US$115
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Mission Bay(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$144
US$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
La Jolla Beach Travelodge(La Jolla)(Great Value!)
US$161
US$141
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$260
US$143
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$276
US$220
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Pacific Terrace Hotel(San Diego)
US$352
US$337
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$242
US$200
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Bahia Resort Hotel(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$232
US$213
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$214
US$191
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (15)
Filter reviews
15 results
Traveller rating
7
8
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
7
8
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 15 reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2009

Having stayed seven times at the J Street Inn one block down (see those reviews, too) , I decided to try the Island: It's even better!
For the unbelievable weekly rate of $299, this place is equal to any Comfort or La Quinta Inn, right in the Gaslamp area.

The staff are very friendly and helpful, check-in and out are a breeze. The streets around the Inn are quiet, but you are minutes walking from all the restaurants, trams, and major bus lines.

My room was large, very quiet (good windows and walls), the bed was comfortable, and bath fine. There is a table, small fridge, microwave, and kitchen sink. Unlike the J St., the bathroom has a sink as well. The shower was great, with lots of hot water.

  • Stayed: December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
10  Thank Mike-Wiesner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2008

I was attending a conference at the conveniton center and was looking for an inexpensive hotel close by. I was very happy to stumble across the Island Inn which isn't really a hotel but a type of short to long-term housing unit. They do rent out rooms by the week for tourists and the price could not be beat. The room was clean, but very basic. There was a fridge, microwave, and a basic bed. The location was phonominal, we were only a three minute walk from the convention center or the trolley. The location was very safe and the tenants in the Inn were quiet and kept to themselves. I am a light sleeper, and I did hear the sounds of someone walking on the floor above me but not for too long and I was able to sleep fairly well each night. The staff were pleasant but one clerk, Chris was outstanding. He helped us with each and every request quickly, and with such kindness. We asked for extra pillows, needed directions to the local grocery store, and had questions about laundry and trolley stops. Chris went the extra mile with every request we had. The Island Inn does have a non-air-conditioned small fitness room, a small library, and an inexpensive laundry room. If you are not looking for frills or up-to-date rooms, in other words, if you don't mind basic living conditions, you will love the Island Inn. I saved so much money, I was able to shop, shop, shop!

Stayed: October 2008
5  Thank CathyMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2008

I really can't fault this place. My boyfriend and I stayed there for 2 weeks in February. We had had a bad experience elsewhere and just happened to come by the Island Inn by chance, but we were so glad we did! It was so affordable - it worked out to be $40 p/n plus tax for the whole room (we were paying $70 for a hostel with shared facilities!) The room was spacious with a private bathroom and kitchenette. It was extremely clean. It is more like a live-in temporary accommodation for most people therefore it was very quiet. The area was fantastic! Not on the 'strip' of the gas lamp area so it wasn't noisy, but the main street was right round the corner. You also have use of a private gym, and library. There's always someone on the front desk so you feel very secure. The only downside is it only has a microwave, no oven. But there is a fridge and toaster! Need to have your own plates and cutlery as well.


The owner has 2 other properties - J street is also very nice, although I didn't stay there, but the other one which I can't remember the name of was awful in an awful area.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank Dunroamin08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2014
Google Translation

Room Tip: Escolha quartos no terceiro e quarto andar, mas verifique a questão do funcionamento do wifi!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2014 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2014, travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews