We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cool area in San Diego to dine”

The Prado at Balboa Park
Reserve with OpenTable
The Prado at Balboa Park is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #39 of 4,724 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, View, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 6th Avenue
Description: Set in the rich landscape of finely manicured gardens, the Prado Restaurant is located at the historic House of Hospitality in the center of San Diego's famous Balboa Park.
Seattle
Level Contributor
188 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Cool area in San Diego to dine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

Not really a seafood spot but is part of the menu. The calamari was worth the trip, best any of us had ever had. Salads were great most of us enjoyed entres. Would go back again. Staff was also very good.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,655 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    892
    545
    143
    51
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus,OH
Level Contributor
72 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great food in great atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

We dined at 5pm prior to the theatre at the globe. Really nice combination as they are close to each other. Staff were great...food was good..just a little pricey, but worth the money.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Billartrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
181 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Absolutely outstanding - !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

Menu, service and ambiance - it's all here! This restaurant does a fine job and their attention to all details made our lunch there so enjoyable. Also, we were without reservations and told we would have a 25-30 min. wait, which actually turned out to be only 10 minutes. This restaurant knows how to do it all right. Great place with great food and a nice variety of food choices - ! If you wish to thoroughly impress someone, this is the place to go - !

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SoCalMare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Knowledgeable staff and delicious food!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

My husband and I have bee here 3+ times for special celebrations as a couple, and each time we recieved very knowledgeable service and helpful staff. Some restaurants when asking the waitress what wine pairs well with certain dishes, they guess or make one suggestion. Our waitress' know the body, range, & taste of the wines and WHY it works with certain dishes - in detail. I've never had anyone be so knowledgeable and right on the money with their choices!

Our last visit, a group of children started making an unacceptable amount of noise (having a butterknife sword fght in the aisles....) - and the manager took it upon herself move us to a quieter seat ing area, and then apologize and then keep checking on us throughout our meal, offering us drinks and dessert complimentary - which wasn't necessary.(BTW - that family was asked to leave!) But the coureous treatment for such a small complaint during that visit went above and beyond.

The food is always delicious and each dessert has been delectable. The environment is stylish and lush, and the experience each time has left us smiling and satisfied.

Although I wouldn't recommend it as a small child's environment, mature families and couple's will love the Prado. My husband and I recommend it highly over any $$$ restaurant in the area.

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Queenmellybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zebulon, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Awesome setting!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

The setting is what did it for me. The have every surface of the restaurant was decorated. It was huge, and they even have outdoor seating in a terrace/patio type thing with wonderful landscaping! They had a live band too. Now for the food. It was delicious!! I had the pressed arugula salad and the mushroom risotto. My brother had the peppercorn steak and said it was excellent.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Meredith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Prado at Balboa Park also viewed

 

Been to The Prado at Balboa Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing