We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Wonderful anniversary stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Omni San Diego Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Omni San Diego Hotel
Ranked #15 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful anniversary stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

The staff at the Omni San Diego are to be commended for their attention to their customers. Everyone from the valets, bellmen (holla at Chip!), and front desk (Mary Beth) were awesome. We stayed here for our wedding anniversary with our two kids and had a wonderful time! We were brought ice cold champagne and chocolate covered strawberries... :) The pool is heated so even in the cold weather, we were able to go swimming. The room was promptly cleaned when asked...
No complaints here! We hope to be back during baseball season as the omni is connected to petco stadium!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allywally21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,941 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,578
    996
    233
    94
    40
See reviews for
668
1,037
157
1,638
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (511)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
L.A. CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

The hotel is first class. Be prepared for a $35.00 parking fee. The staff is very good, professional and knowledgable.
My only complaint and it's a major one is the walls are paper thin. Remember the movie "Animal House"? Well that's what you will find when you walk around the gas lamp district in San Diego. This hotel is ground zero to the party and that party can move to any room in this hotel. If that happens next door to you well don't expect to get much sleep. On the other hand if you're a party animal well you got it made. Stay somewhere else if your looking for peace and quiet.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 02242012ss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tkermabon, Manager at Omni San Diego Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Dear '02242012ss,"
Thank you for submitting your review on TripAdvisor. I was pleased to learn you felt our team of associates were knowledgeable and professional, yet disappointed to hear your stay was negatively impacted by noise from a neighboring room(s). We do our best to resolve such matters when they arise, as they can from time to time, and are sorry we were not able to provide you with the experience or problem resolution you expected. If you'd consider contacting me directly at the number or email address below, it would be my pleasure to attempt to resolve the matter to your satisfaction.

I would also like to mention that in addition to the 24-hour valet parking service we provide, guests have the choice of using any of the local self-parking options nearby. Although the hotel does not manage any of those public lots, they represent a less expensive alternative worthy of consideration.

We're hopeful of future opportunities to serve you at the Omni San Diego Hotel. Thank you for choosing our hotel, and for your time.

Sincerely,
Thomas Kermabon
Director of Operations
Omni San Diego Hotel
(619) 645-6530
tkermabon@omnihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hutto, Texas
Level Contributor
222 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

I have stayed at 11 different Omni Hotels and this hotel is by far the best one. No need to have a car. You step out the doors and you are in the Lamplight District. Just on the other side of the hotel is the trolley stop. Not to mention the ball field that is connected to the hotel. The staff is great and always upgrade me. Every side of the hotel has a great view. The only down side to this hotel is the trolley and train pass by and you can hear it form your room.

Room Tip: rooms with city view are quiter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tkermabon, Manager at Omni San Diego Hotel, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Dear "jher12,"
Thank you very much for your favorable review on TripAdvisor. We're very happy you enjoyed your stay and would consider returning if your travel plans bring you back to San Diego. Of important note, we're expecting the train noise you referenced to be quelled in late Spring with the implementation of a "Quiet Zone" in the downtown area.

Thank you again for your review and your time. We're hopeful of future opportunities to serve you.

Sincerely,
Thomas Kermabon
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

I had a regular King room on the top floor. My general experience was great. The room was clean, the staff were friendly, and I really liked the spacious bathroom.

However, it did bother me that the room was very small. It was probably the size of two king beds put togheter. I felt like the bathroom was almost as big as the bed room. Also, it bothered me that the TV is not flat screen (I guess that is just pure OCD), which made the hotel appear older than it actually is. But in general, it was very clean and a pleasant stay. The windows of the room were very big, but the view was the Marriott across the street (not particularly exciting).

For its cleanliness, service, and very satisfying interior decor, it definitely deserve a 4 star.

Quick tips:
- Sign up for Omni membership (free) you get free wifi at the hotel.
- If you work for any government institution (i.e. my bf and I both work at a state hospital), the hotel rate is substantially cheaper--131.00/night.

Room Tip: King room on higher floor tends to be smaller.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MM_Time
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CT
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

Perfect spot for walking the bay to the Midway...or walking the Gaslamp District...or going to a Padres game!! Too many area restaurants to try...loved the Mission for breakfast. Lovely staff, clean, great view. Took a bit of time to get used to the trolley noise..loved the earplugs on the bedside tables!! Not a fan of the "open" bathroom.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GoodeCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#36 of 278 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#43 of 278 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,866 reviews
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Hotel Z - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni San Diego Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni San Diego Hotel

Property: Omni San Diego Hotel
Address: 675 L Street, San Diego, CA 92101-7022
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , East Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#16 Family Hotel in San Diego
#20 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#22 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni San Diego Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 511
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Omni San Diego is located in downtown San Diego, just steps from the historic Gaslamp quarter and connected via skybridge to the San Diego Padres ballpark, PETCO Park. This luxury hotel was designed with a cosmopolitan feel to compliment the sunny San Diego setting. The interior is contemporary and comfortable, decorated in warm earth tones and natural materials. Guestrooms are relaxing and well appointed with the finest bedding, upscale bathroom amenities, free wireless internet and unbeatable views. In addition, the hotel houses an extensive collection of rare baseball memorabilia, including a variety of autographed baseballs, jerseys, and a Babe Ruth contract. Whether traveling for business or leisure, a stay at the Omni San Diego Hotel is one you won't soon forget. Culinary offerings include McCormick & Schmick’s Seafood Restaurant, open daily, 6am to midnight. Offering the freshest selection of seafood in San Diego, menus are printed daily based upon local fish market supply and focus on seasonal, locally sourced, farm-to-table creations highlighting organic ingredients. Supplementing the menu is a thoughtful beverage list including progressive wines-by-the-glass and mixologist inspired cocktails with a “house made” approach. The Terrace Bar & Grill, open everyday through September, 11am to 8pm – Poolside, Level 6. In-Room/Remote Dining: 24 hours a day online. Morsel’s Café: Open everyday, 6am to 10pm – Lobby Level. Enjoy a variety of Starbuck’s coffee beverages, grab a snack to go, pick up travel-friendly sundries or a San Diego themed gift on the run. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Omni San Diego Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing