We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Good value - Motel 6 style” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Motel 6 San Diego Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Motel 6 San Diego Downtown
Ranked #191 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good value - Motel 6 style”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

Hi

If you know the Motel 6 brand, then you know what to expect. If you don't know the Motel 6 brand, then you may need to adjust your expectations. Compare what you pay at Motel 6, with what you'd have paid at the Hilton, Mariott etc. For what I paid at Motel 6, it was great value.

The location is a little bit out of the centre downtown, but an easy walk. You can be in the Gaslamp area in 7-10 minutes. Depending on which route you walk, you do walk by the sad reality of San Diego's homeless problem, however there are no issues with people hassling you (in my experience).

I stayed for 7 nights. The room was functional, clean and the staff helpful and friendly. The free car parking was a definite advantage.

I've seen some comments about cleanliness, this is dependant upon the individual staff member (and the floor manager). My room was cleaned well.

Not much around the hotel, however there is a restaurant and liquor store/deli only 1-2 minutes walk away.

For what I paid, it was very good value. It won't be for everyone, especially those with certain expectations, however for a business traveller like me who has an eye on costs, then it was the right choice.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HernanCortez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    143
    99
    38
    23
See reviews for
28
157
58
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
629 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2011

Firstly, this is a Motel 6 not a Radisson or Hilton, so some perspective, but we loved it here. The staff have been friendly and helpful, providing tourist information and answering any questions with humour and politeness. Our room was immaculate, cleaned every day and the bed was comfy, couldn't ask for anymore. The location is great, equi-distant from Little Italy and the Gaslamp and an easy walk for all but the laziest guest. Free parking, free coffee and a minute of the interstate. Go Motel 6 !!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Howellsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

It was decent. The room remodel is a step up from what it use to be. The location is great! Just minutes to almost any major tourist spot and quick access to the free way. I'm not a fan of the faux wood floors in the rooms, I though they looked dirty. The reason I gave a low score on service was the front desk employee who checked us in was rather unhappy and one of the days the elevator was broken so our room never got cleaned (I needed towels and more cups). I would stay here again... You can't have high expectations for leads than $70 a night in downtown SD.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShanersD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2011

Compared to the Super 8 (see other review) this hotel is probably not worth what we paid. The room was small, very clinical ie no carpet. TV was ok, no free Wifi and parking could potentially be impossible - they have about 30 spaces for 50 rooms, although it was free.
Bed was a bit smaller than what we had got used to in the other hotels we've stayed in in the states.

Location was good, the Westfields mall was only a 5 minute walk, and the habour probably 10 mins.

Lady on reception was very nice though, and very helpful.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve-And-Barbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clovis, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2011

My wife and I decided to book at Motel 6 to save a little money. We will never do so again! I left my cell phone turned on and sitting on the bedside table for several hours as we visited the sites. When we came back, housekeeping had cleaned the room and the phone was gone. When I called my number I found that the phone had been turned off. The maid stole my phone. The only response from the front desk was, "Wow. That sucks." Do yourself a favor and avoid this motel!

I also prepaid for WIFI, but the only way I was able to use it was by taking my laptop to the lobby since the room we were in could not get a signal.

One more thing: When housekeeping brought new towels, we found hair on them.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pdhuey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Diego hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Inn Hotel & Suites
#175 of 278 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
Red Roof Inn San Diego Downtown
#200 of 278 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Urban Boutique Hotel
Urban Boutique Hotel
#77 of 278 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Downtown
Days Inn San Diego/Downtown/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 San Diego Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 San Diego Downtown

Property: Motel 6 San Diego Downtown
Address: 1546 2nd Avenue, I-5/San Diego Freeway at 6th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #191 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 San Diego Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Motel 6 San Diego Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 San Diego Downtown Hotel San Diego
Motel Six San Diego
San Diego Motel Six
San Diego Motel 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing