We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good deal, close to Mission Bay and Old Town!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
E-Z 8 Motel Old Town
Ranked #237 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
taoal
Level Contributor
67 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good deal, close to Mission Bay and Old Town!”
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We have stayed with the nice people at the EZ 8 for 3 times so far, we brought our Scouts out for a week at Camp Fiesta Island, it's so nice and close to Fiesta Island and with a diner right down the street, walking distance easy, we were fed and ready for a week of camping. We did have an A/C problem, but with a call to the desk, they had people working on fast. They did move us to a new room while they worked on the unit, can't ask for faster help.

Room Tip: Very clean rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taoal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    23
    39
    22
    18
See reviews for
22
33
16
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
massagemaven
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2011

NO STARS!!THIS SHOULD BE CLOSED DOWN!!!Please RUN! This was a complete farce. This is a very very scary Motel.NOT in OLD TOWn at all. We pulled in to find a frightening, filthy dump under the freeway. The photos on the ez 8 website are a lie. It is not near a trolly.. there is no restauraunt across the street. The room was disgusting and had blankets with cigarette burns all over and thru them..
There are full time tenants living there with animals and sitting all over the place smoking.. The smoke smell is so pungent i couldn't breathe in.. People hanging on the corners soliciting and selling.. We got our bags.. cut our losses and saved our lives and left.. ( oh and my room was 80 bux)

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank massagemaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Diego hotels

Tempe, Az
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2011

You essentially get what you pay for here. Under $40 a night, but a very small room with an older bed plus poor lighting and a TV from 10+ years ago! Some rather seedy quests and I saw the Police in the parking lot 4X in 3 days! Can hear the trains go by ever 3-4 hours. About the only benefit (other than the price) is the conviniece to nearby Old Town plus Perry's Cafe (Breakfast) is only 100 yard walk. I would not suggest for families and I doubt I'd stay here again except for maybe only One night!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveNTempe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Big Bear Lake, CA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2010

Yes, it's a basic hotel, and yes, it's cheap with no frills. The staff is friendly and helpful. The rooms could be a bit cleaner, but hey for $40 it's a great bargain...within walking distance of Old Town, and close to all other San Diego points. That's why we keep coming back (and bringing a bottle of Lysol to give it a quick wipe-down!)

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollywood
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2010

Downfall for me was they allow smoking in the rooms. I used Febreze and candles but it never got the smell out of the room and I stayed for 3 days. No clock radio, no microwave but the mini fridge worked. Another thing is it's RIGHT next to the train tracks so it can be loud. It is walking distance to Old Town so that (in my opinion) was the best thing about this place. You can also catch the trolley to downtown a block away from the motel. Another thing is you have to pay for Wi-Fi or you can use it in the motel lobby for free on their internet kiosk.

Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank GothicTz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
0.6 km away
Good Nite Inn near SeaWorld
Good Nite Inn near SeaWorld
#91 of 279 in San Diego
744 reviews
1.5 km away
Americas Best Value Inn Loma Lodge
1.2 km away
Days Inn and Suites Sea World
Days Inn and Suites Sea World
#223 of 279 in San Diego
1,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Western Inn
Western Inn
#134 of 279 in San Diego
330 reviews
9.9 km away
Motel 6 San Diego Mission Valley East
8.7 km away
California Suites Hotel
California Suites Hotel
#224 of 279 in San Diego
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to E-Z 8 Motel Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about E-Z 8 Motel Old Town

Property: E-Z 8 Motel Old Town
Address: 4747 Pacific Hwy, San Diego, CA 92110-2749
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Old Town
Amenities:
Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #237 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:2.5 star — E-Z 8 Motel Old Town 2.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your E-Z 8 Motel Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
e-z 8 Motel Old Town Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing