We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lower Price Alternative to Downtown San Diego”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley
Ranked #88 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 March 2012

My husband and I stayed here during March, 2012. We travel to San Diego often and decided to try a hotel away from the downtown area. The Sorrento area is just minutes away from downtown San Diego, but is also close to Torrey Pines and La Jolla. We were happy with our choice.
The rooms were clean, the staff was nice, and even though our room faced Lusk Street, it was very quiet. Breakfast was the usual Holiday Inn Express fare. The pool was kind of small, but the kids using it seemed to be having lots of fun! My only complaint about our room on the fourth floor was that we couldn't open the window. This necessitated turning on the air conditioning unit, which was noisy. Also, the chair in the "business area" needs to be replaced. It's like sitting in a hole!

One of our favorite excursions while visiting San Diego was a visit to the wineries in Temecula, which we reached via Highway 78, traveling through the little town of Ramona, famous for avocado and citrus orchards, wine grape production, and the most delicious cinnamon rolls I ever eaten at The Ramona Cafe.
If you love visiting gardens, you must see the San Diego Botanical Garden, located in Encinitas. It's a very restful garden with lovely California native plants, magnificent palms, and huge bamboo groves. For the kids there's a large interactive children's garden that's fun for adults too.

Room Tip: Rooms on the east side are away from the road. Windows on the fourth floor don't open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank idahotraveler50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JasonSD12, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2012

Dear Valued Guest
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Sorrento Valley. We are delighted to hear that you “were happy with your choice.” We are fortunate to be in a central location that is, as you mentioned just minutes away from many of San Diego’s well known sights such as Downtown San Diego, La Jolla as well as SeaWorld and glad you were able to visit a few of those places. We do strive in providing quality guest services and are glad you took notice that “our rooms are clean and our staff are nice.” We also appreciate your bringing your concerns to our attention as they help us in better servicing our rooms and amenities to our guests in the future. We thank you again for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Express Sorrento Valley. We are happy you enjoyed what San Diego has to offer and look forward to you visiting again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (233)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

177 - 181 of 233 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2012

My wife and I stayed here five days in March 2012. One problem was that, for the first time in our hotel/motel experiences, we could not open a window to get fresh air. Yes having the AC on all the time drowns out any road or freeway noise, but after awhile it would be nice to be able to get some fresh air without having to take the elevator down and run outside. No matter what floor you are on, most hotels have their windows set you can open them, at least, three or four inches. We went next door to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson and found the same thing, top floor windows that wouldn't open at all.

Having a Chili's restaurant directly across from the hotel was a plus for us. We were able to order online and, within minutes, walk over a pick up our dinner at the Chili's To Go door.

During the week there was very few folks at breakfast, but come the weekend there were so many people and families having eating that they there was no tables available and they kept running out of food. Even though there were signs that said "Trays Available" the staff told me "No, there are no trays." We thought, if there were trays you could, at least, snag some breakfast and take it back up to your room. Not the case here.

Hotel doors are heavy and will slam shut if you let them. Please think about the other guests and make sure your door closes quietly when you enter or exit. Thank You.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank longball44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JasonSD12, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2012

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for investing the time in reviewing the Holiday Inn Express Sorrento Valley. We appreciate your feedback as it is invaluable to us and we appreciate you bringing your concerns to our attention. Guests like you only make our jobs easier to address the items immediately. We apologize that you weren’t able to receive the services that you might be used to while at our property. Please know that your concerns are being addressed with our staff so that we are better able to serve you in the future. Thank you again for reviewing the Holiday Inn Express Sorrento Valley and we hope you may reconsider staying with us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Hotel desk manager Ester deserves a special thank for her attentiveness to myself . She never gets frustrated or loses her smile even with rude hotel guests. This entire hotel staff will do everything possible to resolve any problem there, though do not expect such after check-in.

Room Tip: no special views in hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom53151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JasonSD12, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2012

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Sorrento Valley and telling other travelers about your stay. We are elated to hear that you found our desk manager, Ester as well as the rest of our staff to be “friendly and helpful”. We take pride in striving to provide guests with more than exceptional guest experiences and are glad you took notice at check in. I also thank you for bringing up that your concern that after check in that this was not the case. Please know that we are following up with our staff to ensure that even after check in, that this should not be an exception and that all issues should be taken care of in a prompt and timely manner. Thank you again for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Express Sorrento Valley. We hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

The Sorrento Valley is close to a major highway and byways, easy drive to Lajolla, the airport, zoo or downtown. However less costly than staying downtown.
Also, very quiet neighborhood.

Helpful staff. This is the place to go to spend about 10$ extra per night but be in a hotel instead of a motel. Small pool, but even if big I wouldn't have used it.

I'm nearly six feet tall, and I fit under the shower head with room to spare, I appreciate large bathrooms, room for two adults.

Room Tip: Cheapest room is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark_Derail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JasonSD12, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2012

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Sorrento Valley and telling other travelers about your experience. We are glad to hear that you found us to be at a “great location.” We are fortunate to be in a great location that gives such as yourself an easy access drive to La Jolla, the airport, San Diego Zoo and Downtown. We are also glad you were able to take advantage of our complimentary deluxe hot breakfast during your visit. We strive in providing guests with quality service and rooms at a reasonable price and are appreciative that you were able to take notice. We thank you again for reviewing the Holiday Inn Express Sorrento Valley and hope to see you soon. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

I always stay in Holiday Inn Express Sorrento Valley when I'm in San Diego, they always welcome me with a bag of goodies that at least make me feel good... All personnel is always very nice and I would like to give a special thank to Elisa Santos for all her help and as always she is very helpful, I really appreciate it.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lalya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JasonSD12, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2012

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Express Sorrento Valley. We are elated to have you as a loyal customer and are thrilled that you again had a great stay during your recent visit in San Diego. Whether or not you are a guest traveling for business or pleasure, we strive in providing guests with exceptional guest experiences like yours and are glad that this was no exception. We thank you again for taking the time to tell other travelers about your stay at the Holiday Inn Express Sorrento Valley and look forward to having you as a guest again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
0.1 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North
0.3 km away
HYATT house San Diego/Sorrento Mesa
0.7 km away
Residence Inn San Diego Sorrento Mesa/Sorrento Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Courtyard San Diego Sorrento Valley
0.4 km away
Extended Stay America - San Diego - Sorrento Mesa
2.0 km away
Staybridge Suites San Diego - Sorrento Mesa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley

Address: 5925 Lusk Blvd, San Diego, CA 92121-2781
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Family Hotel in San Diego
#60 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: €108 - €209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Diego Sorrento Valley. Located in the heart of Sorrento Valley, a high-tech community of the U.S. with companies such as Qualcomm, Motorola, Sony Online Entertainment, and Texas Instruments. This San Diego hotel is ideal for the business travel visiting this dynamic area and is looking for first class accommodations that are centrally located to all that San Diego has to offer.If you are coming to San Diego for pleasure the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Diego Sorrento Valley is ideal for couples and families that want be near all the San Diego attractions, beaches and night life. Be sure to visit one of our treasured attractions such as the world famous San Diego Zoo Wild Animal Park, SeaWorld San Diego California, LEGOLAND California or soak in the sun at one of our prestige beaches like La Jolla Shores or Pacific Beach. If you re into the night life be sure to wine and dine your self in the Gaslamp Quarter in beautiful downtown San Diego. At the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Diego Sorrento Valley we like to make sure our guest receive excellent customer service. We provide a FREE Express Start Breakfast Bar, FREE high speed wireless Internet, FREE Parking, FREE Shuttle Service (within a 5 mile radius) and FREE local calls.Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Diego Sorrento Valley! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley Hotel San Diego
Holiday Inn San Diego
San Diego Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing