We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool place, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ramada Gaslamp Convention Center
Ranked #168 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Reviewed 17 January 2012

Great location makes up for small rooms. Hey, this is an old hotel, built when we didn't demand huge rooms and massive bathrooms. It served my purpose well, and it's location near restaurants and bars was great.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulTheTravelGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
victorleeSanDiego, Public Relations Manager at Ramada Gaslamp Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2012

Dear Guest, Thank you for the nice review. We are close to it all. A new Comedy Club will open right next door this March. Looks like a lot of big names will appear there. Next time you book use the Hotel Web Site link on Trip Advisors, you'll get the lowest rate possible and we get your reservation immediately so we can manage our arrivals and not over book . We hope to see you again in America's Finest City.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,422)
There are newer reviews for Ramada Gaslamp Convention Center
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,206 - 1,210 of 1,422 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2012

Nice staff, really good possibilities for this well-located old place which has charm. BUT
moldy smelling and damp carpet in bedroom (from leaking radiator) turned me off.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Decamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
victorleeSanDiego, Public Relations Manager at Ramada Gaslamp Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2012

Dear Guest, We are sorry your guest room did not meet your expectations. We've sent the maintenance team to inspect the radiators. The location can be great, the staff can be nice but a leaky radiator is not good. Again we apologize .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

I checked reviews on this hotel before I booked it. There were good and bad reviews but I thought the good out weighd bad, so I booked it. Most of the bad reviews were about size of room, the elevator and some about it not being clean and the shuttle taking to long to pick up at the airport. I did not have a problem with any of these. I called for the shuttle when I arrived at the airport and it took about 15 min. When I arrived at the hotel I was expecting it to be slightly ragged or worn but it looked really nice all decorated for the hollidays. I was expecting a closet for a room bit it was fine. The staff was wonderfull. They were all very helpful and friendly. They greeted me every time I walked through the lobby and answered any questions that I had. Adam was the desk clerk on duty the 2 days I stayed and he was great. Do not listen to the bad reviews concerning this hotel because it was great and if I go to San diego i will stay there again. Thanks for the good time.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UTdavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
victorleeSanDiego, Public Relations Manager at Ramada Gaslamp Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for the nice review. Yes the hotel is very clean (as those frequent Ramada inspectors will attest too) Yes the rooms are small by traditional standards (think San Francisco) and we do have the best location downtown. Yes the elevators are odd, yes the hotel staff is probably the friendliest you'll find in an American big city hotel. Yes the shuttle van runs back and forth the 3 miles through downtown traffic to the airport . Yes not every stay is perfect, not every guest is happy , not every child is above average, not every dog is friendly. I think it's i called life. I hope yours is a good one and we see you again some time in America's finest City. . Thank you again for using Trip Advisor..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2011

This hotel features what was once the fastest elevator in the world--in 1907! It's really cute. Other reviewers cry about the tight quarters, but let's face it: downtown hotels are not really roomy at $75/night. The problem is the paper thin walls. We could hear the people next door whenever they spoke--especially when they were by the bathroom, which butted up against the room. I'm afraid to think about what the people next door heard from us! ;-)

It was basically an average to below average hotel. Saving grace: the front desk and valet staff (especially the valets). They were super helpful and eager to help us. I'm betting they liked this place better before it became a Ratmada.... Still, a great trip thanks to their helpfulness, a comfortable bed, and an amazing location. If you're only using your room to wrap yourself around the love of your life, this place is fine for the money.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street if possible. The street noise is there no matter what when you...
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YUM1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
victorleeSanDiego, Public Relations Manager at Ramada Gaslamp Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2011

Dear Guest ,Thank you for kind words. We do have a great caring staff and we do have one of the best locations downtown, and we do have old historic elevators and our room sizes are about 25% smaller than your average American hotel room (or about the same size as an average San Francisco hotel room) We do have very comfortable all queen size Sealy Serta Perfect Sleeper mattresses and yes we're probably the most affordable hotel in the Gaslamp. And alas, we are in the heart of the Gaslamp Quarter so on a weekend the neighborhood gets lively and action packed. Next time you come to San Diego use Trip Advisor's hotel web site link on our listing to book your room, you'll get the best rate,we get your reservation instantly, any travel changes are no hassle to make and hopfully we will manage to get you a quiet room. Hope to see you soon in America's Finest City

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2011

Blast from the past rooms, but comfy and clean. Small but architecturally interesting rooms. Great staff and a super view from the top of the hotel where there is an open 360 degree vista of San Diego. Neat hotel for its age. In the heart of the Gaslamp area in San Diego. Parking is tough on the street. Short walk to Petco and the Convention Center. Historic property.

Room Tip: Upper level rooms have easy access to roof deck.
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jahmok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
victorleeSanDiego, Public Relations Manager at Ramada Gaslamp Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2011

Dear Guest Thank you for your kind words. We do have a great little clean hotel in a perfect location. Valet parking is $20 , seems expensive but it's about half what other downtown hotels charge. Street parking won't be easy in the Gaslamp Quarter on the weekends as this is the heart of all the nightlife action. Next time you come to San Diego use Trip Advisor's Hotel Web site link above our listing. There's someting in it for both of us. You get the lowest rate possible and we get your reservation instantly ,so we can manage our occupancy. Hope to see you again in San Diego , America's Finest City

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Hotel Z - A Staypineapple Hotel
Gaslamp Plaza Suites
#121 of 278 in San Diego
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown
The Horton Grand Hotel
#68 of 278 in San Diego
861 reviews
Downtown
The Bristol Hotel - A Greystone Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Gaslamp Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Gaslamp Convention Center

Address: 830 6th Ave, San Diego, CA 92101-6307 (Formerly Hotel St. James)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#74 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: €79 - €229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Gaslamp Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique style hotel is centrally located in San Diego's exciting Gaslamp Quarter. We invite you to step back in time to the elegant comforts, friendly hospitality and impeccable service of a bygone era. Opened in 1913 as the St. James Hotel, San Diego's original high-rise luxury hotel, our beautifully restored property is an oasis of historic style for leisure and business travelers. We are 6 1/2 blocks from San Diego's waterfront convention center. It's a pleasant 7 minute walk from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Gaslamp Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Inn & Suites Gaslamp/ Hotel San Diego
Ramada Inn And Suites Gaslamp/Convention Center
Ramada Inn San Diego
Ramada San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing