We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
US$89
View Deal
Moxy HotelsUS$89
Expedia.comUS$89
Agoda.comUS$89
PricelineUS$89
Hotels.comUS$89
eDreamsUS$89
View all 17 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (142)
Filter reviews
142 results
Traveller rating
103
20
13
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
103
20
13
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews welcome cocktail fun hotel drink tokens cool vibe rooms are small cool hotel ironing room nyc hotel smart tvs minimalist style luggage stand hip place big shower marriott brand room size family friendly hotel lobby bar
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 142 reviews
Reviewed 27 October 2020 via mobile

We had an amazing stay !This hotel is super cute,modern,clean,chic,GREAT!The check in was very smooth and it took only 5 minutes,sama as the check out.The location was great ,close to all the restaurants in Gaslamp .Everything within walking distance.The room was very clean,quiet(on the 7th floor),spacious enough for the two of us,the bathroom also very clean and lovely.We love the modern feeling.Just fiy ,there is no closet in this room!!All the people at this hotel are friendly,nice and they all have a 10 star costumer service.Before our arrival I emailed them to ask about parking and they responded within hours!
Their parking is very expensive $50 per night but we parked 2 blocks aways Park it on Market ,$22-$14 for 24 hours (the prices depend by day).Btw ,no house keeping because of Covid 19.
We stayed at this hotel because we had a nice experience 2 years ago at the same chain in Munich.I’m happy we tried it again in San Diego.We’ll be back ,Moxy!

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank EmiliaGlavan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim Billing, General Manager at Moxy San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2020

Dear EmiliaGlavan,

Fabulously fabulous to hear that we delivered perfect and we couldn't of done it without superb guests like you - Cheers to you and looking forward to your being back. Cheers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2020 via mobile

My husband and I planned a weekend getaway our belated birthday celebration that was to San Diego and decided to change it up of your normal Hilton or more traditional Marriott joints.

Moxy San Diego is in the heart of Gaslamp and all the bars and eateries are within walking distance. Check in was actually at the bar - that was different. But we did get drink tokens for being guests. We received several more tokens because we were also in town to celebrate our birthdays. That was excellent and unexpected!

The rooms are small but they maximize the space. It was also very clean. I honestly don’t need much except a nice bathroom and cozy bed. I could do without a desk, armchair, and unnecessary furniture. This room provided me with what I needed while remaining cozy. If you want space and have a lot of luggage, this isn’t for you. But I loved the decor and the style.

The vibe was very fun and definitely catered to the 20ish-30ish crowd. My husband decided to have drinks after dinner at the bar downstairs. There are board games and other pub games in the area. It was lively but got pretty crowded. We took our drinks upstairs after a while.

Pros: walkable area, drink tokens, friendly
Cons: parking is steep, smaller quarters/no frills

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank Fo0die4Me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim Billing, General Manager at Moxy San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2020

Dear Fo0die4Me,

Massive thanks for being our guest and truly delighted and excited that the atmosphere, venue, and service knocked your socks off - Cheers and we look forward to the next opportunity to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2020

This is a hotel that's trying to act like a club. They told everyone that their room wasn't ready, even the elite members. Then they blasted music all night long throughout the entire hotel. There's also not even a desk in the room. Nowhere to do work, unless you want to crowd yourselves downstairs where they aren't even following safe distancing measures.

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank TheGlobalHighlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim Billing, General Manager at Moxy San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2020

Dear TheGlobalHighlander,

Thank you for being our guest and giving us the all important test drive, so sincerely sorry that we just were not the atmosphere for you on this visit. Moxy is certainly rather lively and the focus is on the lobby/bar in the attempts to bring everyone together which is not appropriate in these current conditions. The team here have been furnished this experience in the attempts to try and tone this down and specifically ensuring that they do follow our protocols in place for occupancy.

We thank you again for your valuable commentary and we just hope and trust that we will deliver an atmosphere and services to reach a wider audience. Cheers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2020

Small boutique hotel, conveinent to all Gaslamp entertainment and restaurants. Rooms are clean but small. rooms are nice and quiet. Rooms do need a small place to set luggage. Check in at the bar was unique but came with a free welcome cocktail.

Date of stay: February 2020
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank 539josephr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim B, Business Manager at Moxy San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2020

Dear 539josephr,

Delighted and excited that your recent experience was a perfect five. Looking forward to the next opportunity to welcome you back. Cheers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2020

This was the least expensive Marriott property in or near the Gaslamp District, which reminded me of the old saw: you get what you pay for.

This property styles itself as a trendy, hipster place for Millennials (which we are not). Check-in is at the bar. The lobby is filled with games and a few tables for people to drink at. There is no restaurant (but there is free coffee in the mornings.) Loud techno-music plays in the lobby. Lots of people were drinking at all times of the day.

Our room was tiny and Spartan. There was no desk, no sitting chair, bureau, closet or sofa. There is no coffee maker or refrigerator. The bed dominated the room and we were literally living out of our suitcases. There is a pull-down “desk” and a chair for that. Instead of a closet there are pegs on the wall on which to hang your stuff. (Must be a Millennial thing.) The TV is wall-mounted and very large.

My back did not like the bed. There is no box-spring; the mattress sits on a wooden platform. The lighting in the room is somewhat dingy.

The bathroom is very small as well. The sink countertop is only about a foot wide. The shower is normal-sized but is rather funky to operate.

Having said this, the tiny room was clean and the staff was friendly.

They offered a breakfast rate but I do not know what would be included in that except perhaps a chit for the packaged stuff in the coffee area. In any event, Brian’s 24 is across the street and they have great breakfast items.

All in all, a great location but we prefer something less Spartan with more space and amenities. This might be OK for a one or two night business trip, but it is very cramped for two people on a five night stay. I would not stay here again when in town.

Room tip: As high as possible to avoid the lobby noise.
Date of stay: February 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank marfak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maps31515590444, Manager at Moxy San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2020

Greetings marfak,

First and foremost, thank you for choosing our hotel during your recent visit to the area. We know that there are some wonderful hotels out there and we are extremely thankful when our guests decide to make us their home during their time here.

With that being said, I apologize that the experience was not as enjoyable as you had anticipated. Each member of the team tries their best to ensure that our guests are satisfied. As the Moxy Brand is not your cookie cutter hotel which we believe that its character makes it unique. However the uniqueness here does not make up for the discomfort that you felt.

As you remarked, you would not stay with us again. For that I feel terrible. Hopefully you will continue to stay with other Marriotts in the future.

Best to you,

Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews